Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

poppe

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 29, 2006
Woodland Hills
Hey guys,

I was wondering if you all could help me. I was given a Powermac G4 today and to my surprise I turned it on; I am new to Macs so I didn't think the G4's had OS 9 on them.

I would love to turn this computer into a server, but I am not exactly sure how. What I mean by server is dish out all my photos, videos, and music through out my house wirelessly (or access through my router), and if possible make it accessible online so when I am at friends I can stream my photos or music to listen/view with them. Is this possible?

My biggest question, however, is how do I tell what this computer has on it Harddrive size, ram size, processor power, etc. I know you all aren't able to answer the questions above until I know this.

I'd also like to know if you all have any other ideas on what I could do to this computer if a server won't work.

EDIT: Mac OS 9 is pretty dang crazy... Before my new MBP I hadn't used a Mac since I was in elementary school; 10ish years ago.

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
All that info you are looking for would be in System Profiler in the Applications folder, or printed on a sticker on the back of the machine.

OS 9 has one advantage in the case of being a server, you can have many users with different rights access your machine. It is something, that for the most part was taken away from the consumer version of OSX and reserved for OSX Server. In OS X each user can access their home folder and that is about it (except the admin(s)).

TEG

motulist

macrumors 601
Dec 2, 2003
Definitely install OS X on it. I've got one of the earliest G4 powermacs ever, a 400 mhz sawtooth, and it runs OS X and OS X apps in a completely very useable way as long as you don't ask it to render video or anything like that.

poppe

macrumors 68020
Original poster