Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2008, 05:12 AM   #1
Markleshark
macrumors 601
 
Markleshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carlisle, Up Norf!
Send a message via AIM to Markleshark
Clamshell iBook G3 366MHz - Max RAM?

Just wondering what the maximum RAM that will work in a 366MHz G3 Clamshell iBook, it's not the model with Firewire. It only has the one bank, so I'm going to max it all out.

Some places I've read say 512meg, others say 256meg. Thanks.
__________________
Lubo, Lubo, Lubo, Lubo!!

Last edited by Markleshark; Feb 25, 2008 at 05:31 AM.
Markleshark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 05:19 AM   #2
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
I'd guess 256 MB. It was a lot of RAM when that laptop was first released.

Besides, the white G3 iBooks (say 600 MHz, 700 MHz, etc) had 2 RAM slots, with a 512 MB RAM soldered onto one slot. That means there was only 1 RAM slot available for the user to install his/her own RAM. I think the maximum amount of RAM that laptop could handle was 1024 MB of RAM (2 x 512 MB), meaning each of those RAM slots could only handle 512 MB of RAM.

Since your machine is even older, the RAM slot would probably handle 256 MB.

It's just a guess based on what I remember, so I may be wrong.
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.

Last edited by Abstract; Feb 25, 2008 at 07:51 AM.
Abstract is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 05:45 AM   #3
miloblithe
macrumors 68020
 
miloblithe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington, DC
http://www.apple-history.com/

According to this it's 288 or 320, depending on whether the non-removable base RAM is 32 or 64.

Crucial seems to agree.
miloblithe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 06:12 AM   #4
dsnort
macrumors 68000
 
dsnort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In persona non grata
It'll handle up to 572 Mb. Check out OWC Website.
dsnort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 06:22 AM   #5
Markleshark
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Markleshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carlisle, Up Norf!
Send a message via AIM to Markleshark
Lol. Still I'm not sure...
__________________
Lubo, Lubo, Lubo, Lubo!!
Markleshark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2008, 08:41 AM   #6
Sean7512
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Apple officially said that only an extra 256 can be added, and that is why some of those websites say only 256. This was because at the time, no 512 sticks even existed! Once PC100 512 sticks of ram came out, people put them into the Clamshell (original model) and it worked fine!

Just make sure you buy the right type, but yes, it will accept a 512
__________________
Check out my iOS Apps - Pilot Ace - iPhone/iPad | the Lunch Train - iPhone Only
Be Yourself, Only Better
Sean7512 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 02:19 AM   #7
Markleshark
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Markleshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carlisle, Up Norf!
Send a message via AIM to Markleshark
PC133 SODIMM, yes?

Shall get a 512 Stick. Thanks.
__________________
Lubo, Lubo, Lubo, Lubo!!
Markleshark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 08:57 AM   #8
Sean7512
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markleshark View Post
PC133 SODIMM, yes?

Shall get a 512 Stick. Thanks.
No, the PC133 will not work at all. You need a PC100 stick, the one below should work just fine as far as I know. I am also planning on buying this ram for an original clamshell. If for some weird reason it doesn't work, I guess a return is necessary...but from what I gather, this will work perfectly

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../100SO512328L/
__________________
Check out my iOS Apps - Pilot Ace - iPhone/iPad | the Lunch Train - iPhone Only
Be Yourself, Only Better
Sean7512 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bought ibook g3 with debian linux. help me switch to mac! cheeseblock PowerPC Macs 7 Dec 28, 2011 07:52 PM
iBook G3/ Possible HDD failure? 92WardSenatorFE PowerPC Macs 3 May 14, 2011 07:26 PM
FS: Clamshell iBook G3 366mhz Graphite 320mb EXCELLENT California Marketplace Archive 2 16 Feb 8, 2007 02:41 PM
Feeler: iBook G3 900Mhz - 640MB RAM - 40GB HD - Combo - Applecare - & more! ITASOR Marketplace Archive 2 9 Jun 24, 2006 09:07 PM
FS/WTT: Indigo Clamshell iBook G3, 366mhz. Sutekidane Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 27 Nov 27, 2005 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC