Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2008, 05:31 PM   #1
zeiter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT

Does it support 1080p (1920 x 1080) output with dvi to hdmi to plug it into my hdtv??
zeiter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 05:57 PM   #2
EricVT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Or 1280x720p?

(sorry to steal your thread, hoping someone can answer both because I'm curious about both)
EricVT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 05:57 PM   #3
Watabou
macrumors 68030
 
Watabou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United States
And does it support DX10?
__________________
Haswell 15" rMBP (2.3Ghz, 16GB, 750M GT) | iPhone 5 | Last.fm
Watabou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 06:19 PM   #4
SVT Amateur
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watabou View Post
And does it support DX10?
Yes.
SVT Amateur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:27 PM   #5
spaceballl
macrumors 68020
 
spaceballl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeiter View Post
Does it support 1080p (1920 x 1080) output with dvi to hdmi to plug it into my hdtv??
yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricVT View Post
Or 1280x720p?
yes

I ran an external 24" 1920x1200 display off my gen1 macbook - you'll have no problem running high resolutions w/ this videocard.
spaceballl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:29 PM   #6
chrmjenkins
macrumors 603
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Lots of yeses, but it won't do your taxes.
__________________
Read my Apple A8, iPhone 6 preview and prediction thread here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1770411
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:31 PM   #7
voyagerd
macrumors 65816
 
voyagerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Send a message via AIM to voyagerd Send a message via MSN to voyagerd Send a message via Yahoo to voyagerd Send a message via Skype™ to voyagerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmjenkins View Post
Lots of yeses, but it won't do your taxes.
But with the proper OpenGL Shaders, it can make your taxes beautiful.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro / 2.6GHz C2D / 4GB / 750GB SSHD / 8600M GT
SR-2 Hackintosh / Dual Intel® Xeon® X5680@4.3GHz / 48GB RAM / 2x 480GB Intel SSDs / GeForce GTX 780
64GB iPhone 5S, 120GB iPod Classic
voyagerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:32 PM   #8
waywardsage
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA
I've wondered this myself. However, can this card decode Blu ray? say, if I upgraded my DVD burner to a Blu ray drive in the future? I'm getting a 17" Macbook Pro. So it'll matter to me.
waywardsage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:42 PM   #9
voyagerd
macrumors 65816
 
voyagerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Send a message via AIM to voyagerd Send a message via MSN to voyagerd Send a message via Yahoo to voyagerd Send a message via Skype™ to voyagerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by waywardsage View Post
I've wondered this myself. However, can this card decode Blu ray? say, if I upgraded my DVD burner to a Blu ray drive in the future? I'm getting a 17" Macbook Pro. So it'll matter to me.
You don't need a special graphics card to decode blu-ray. It just accelerates it so your CPU doesn't have to do all the work. The following features probably only work in Windows Media Player unfortunately.

NVIDIA PureVideo® HD Technology
•Dedicated on-chip video processor
•High-definition H.264, VC-1, MPEG2 and WMV9 decode acceleration
•Advanced spatial-temporal de-interlacing
•HDCP capable
•Noise Reduction
•Edge Enhancement
•Bad Edit Correction
•Inverse telecine (2:2 and 3:2 pull-down correction)
•High-quality scaling
•Video color correction
•Microsoft® Video Mixing Renderer (VMR) support
__________________
15" MacBook Pro / 2.6GHz C2D / 4GB / 750GB SSHD / 8600M GT
SR-2 Hackintosh / Dual Intel® Xeon® X5680@4.3GHz / 48GB RAM / 2x 480GB Intel SSDs / GeForce GTX 780
64GB iPhone 5S, 120GB iPod Classic
voyagerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:46 PM   #10
EricVT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thank you!

Can't wait to get my soon-coming MBP hooked up to my 52" DLP and 5.1 system. It will likely sit on my component shelf hooked up just like that most of the time when I don't have it out and about.
EricVT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 10:55 PM   #11
waywardsage
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA
Can you download Windows media player for Mac? This may be a stupid question, i'm not a mac user just yet.
waywardsage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 11:04 PM   #12
JWest
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by waywardsage View Post
Can you download Windows media player for Mac? This may be a stupid question, i'm not a mac user just yet.
I don't believe they make it for Mac anymore (though I think they used to). Anywho, you can download Flip4Mac (which is free) which let's you play various windows media formats in quicktime and iTunes.
JWest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2008, 11:42 PM   #13
Tracer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Use VLC it will play anything you throw at it.

Including those pesky MKVs.

Tracer
Tracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:31 AM   #14
voyagerd
macrumors 65816
 
voyagerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Send a message via AIM to voyagerd Send a message via MSN to voyagerd Send a message via Yahoo to voyagerd Send a message via Skype™ to voyagerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracer View Post
Use VLC it will play anything you throw at it.

Including those pesky MKVs.

Tracer
And when VLC just isn't fast enough, compile MPlayer. Even my friend's PowerBook G4 could play 1080P WMVs with that.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro / 2.6GHz C2D / 4GB / 750GB SSHD / 8600M GT
SR-2 Hackintosh / Dual Intel® Xeon® X5680@4.3GHz / 48GB RAM / 2x 480GB Intel SSDs / GeForce GTX 780
64GB iPhone 5S, 120GB iPod Classic
voyagerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:34 AM   #15
masse
macrumors 6502a
 
masse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: MA/GA
Intersting... I can't play anything hd on my powerbook.
__________________
MBP 2.53ghz 4GB ram | 32GB 2G iPod Touch (lost ) |1.33ghz PB G4 15" (Broken )|iPod Shuffle 1GB
masse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 12:03 PM   #16
zeiter
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by masse View Post
Intersting... I can't play anything hd on my powerbook.
your processor is not fast enough!
zeiter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 02:28 PM   #17
voyagerd
macrumors 65816
 
voyagerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Send a message via AIM to voyagerd Send a message via MSN to voyagerd Send a message via Yahoo to voyagerd Send a message via Skype™ to voyagerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by masse View Post
Intersting... I can't play anything hd on my powerbook.
If you compiled Mplayer yourself, you could play at least 720p and some 1080p movies.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro / 2.6GHz C2D / 4GB / 750GB SSHD / 8600M GT
SR-2 Hackintosh / Dual Intel® Xeon® X5680@4.3GHz / 48GB RAM / 2x 480GB Intel SSDs / GeForce GTX 780
64GB iPhone 5S, 120GB iPod Classic
voyagerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 02:43 PM   #18
kashik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
MPlayer is brilliant! Glad to hear it works on Macs too.
kashik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2008, 02:55 PM   #19
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyagerd View Post
And when VLC just isn't fast enough, compile MPlayer. Even my friend's PowerBook G4 could play 1080P WMVs with that.
Would you say MPlayer plays HD smoother than VLC?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 02:28 PM   #20
DallasDeckard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Would I just use a regular adapter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceballl View Post
yes.

yes

I ran an external 24" 1920x1200 display off my gen1 macbook - you'll have no problem running high resolutions w/ this videocard.
Thanks for answering this question. I was wondering, do I just need a simple DVI-D to Component adapter, or something more exotic?

I saw this one:

http://sewelldirect.com/product.aspx...MIR7dqVvrLHvhN

but it says it's designed with "ATI chipsets" in mind. I see plenty of DVI to Component adapters, and just wondered if that would do the trick. Thanks for the help.
DallasDeckard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel HD Graphics 5000 vs NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256 MB patstewart MacBook Air 13 Aug 23, 2014 05:58 AM
iMac 8,1 Using NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT Fails iChatX iMac 10 May 9, 2013 05:48 AM
HD4000 vs GeForce 8600M GT MetzoPaino Mac mini 4 Nov 6, 2012 01:39 PM
What should I do? Need advice with MBP GeForce 8600M GT graphics chip jtomasi MacBook Pro 3 Oct 4, 2012 04:33 PM
Intel HD4000 vs. my old Nvidia 8600M GT lannisters4life MacBook Pro 4 Jun 28, 2012 06:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps