Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:24 PM   #1
Peteybiz02
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Microsoft Outlook Web Access

I'm new to Mac and have a question. For work I use Microsoft Outlook Web Access for my email. However since I got my Macbook I haven't been able to log on. I'm not sure what the problem is, I'm wondering if anyone knows a way around this or can point me in the right direction.

Also I was wondering if I would be able to link this email accout with iMail? And if so does anyone know what steps to take? I set up my AOL account through iMail but that was much simpler, it pretty much did it automatically.

Sorry if this is vague, like I said I'm new with Mac and just trying to get things going. Thanks everyone.
Peteybiz02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:27 PM   #2
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
Are you getting any specific error messages? I ask because I use OWA from a couple of Macs all the time and it works fine for me.
__________________
mac pro 2.8ghz 8-core 24gb ram 16tb hd 30" acd | 2014 macbook pro 2.8ghz 16gb ram 256gb ssd | mac mini 2.4ghz c2d | ipad air at&t 128gb space gray | ipad 2 | iphone 6 at&t 128gb space gray
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:31 PM   #3
rasp
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Easthampton, MA
I use outlook web access with safari and firefox, I've not seen any issues. this is with exchange 2003, not sure if 2008 added anything that would break browsers other than IE.

As for connecting mail.app to exchange, it all depends upon if IMAP is turned on or not, lots of exchange admins have IMAP turned off for whatever reason.
__________________
-- george

equipment list:
A few computers (varying in age and os)
One underused dslr and some Lenses
One compact camera
rasp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:38 PM   #4
pjarvi
macrumors 65816
 
pjarvi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Round Lake, IL
If you are having trouble logging in try the following:

-If your username is the first initial of your first name followed by your last name: e.g. jdoe, try your fullname with a period between: John.Doe

-Try adding the domain you login to at work. When you login to a computer at work that is joined to a domain, there should be a 3rd box on the login screen labelled: LogonTo (you may have to click the Options button to see it). Add whatever is in that box to your username in OWA. As an example, if the domain was SuperCorp, try the following for the username: SuperCorp\JDoe

I run the Help Desk for a medium sized corporation, and get to deal with this kind of fun 5 days a week!
__________________
"Monkey see, monkey do."
pjarvi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:40 PM   #5
Peteybiz02
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayj View Post
Are you getting any specific error messages? I ask because I use OWA from a couple of Macs all the time and it works fine for me.
This is the message I get when I try to login, after I couple mins of trying.

Safari can’t open the page “https://owa.kraft.com/exchweb/bin/auth/owaauth.dll” because it can’t find the server “owa.kraft.com”.

I can walk over to my PC here and login no problem with internet explorer (I'm using Safari on the mac). I just assumed it was because I'm on a Mac, I don't know why else it would be, any ideas? Oh also, it is Microsoft Exchange 2003. Thanks for the quick replys!
Peteybiz02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2008, 10:43 PM   #6
Peteybiz02
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjarvi View Post
If you are having trouble logging in try the following:

-If your username is the first initial of your first name followed by your last name: e.g. jdoe, try your fullname with a period between: John.Doe

-Try adding the domain you login to at work. When you login to a computer at work that is joined to a domain, there should be a 3rd box on the login screen labelled: LogonTo (you may have to click the Options button to see it). Add whatever is in that box to your username in OWA. As an example, if the domain was SuperCorp, try the following for the username: SuperCorp\JDoe

I run the Help Desk for a medium sized corporation, and get to deal with this kind of fun 5 days a week!
Thanks for the help. I was just messing around with it seeing what was going on, and it seems like the link I was using to access the login page was partially incomplete, yet for some reason it still took me to the login screen. However when I completed it with the rest of what was supposed to be there, I was able to log in!! I know that sounds really odd, and I'm not even sure why I even looked into that but, whatever, it works now!! Thanks again for the help guys, I really appreciate it!

Last edited by Peteybiz02; Mar 2, 2008 at 11:03 PM. Reason: fixed it!
Peteybiz02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get Microsoft Outlook? barrett14 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 20 Dec 12, 2013 09:20 AM
Powernap with Microsoft Outlook? RaidersFan223 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 16, 2012 08:39 AM
Outlook Web Access Email?? FiremanMike Mac Basics and Help 4 Jul 31, 2012 09:27 PM
Can someone tell me why microsoft outlook is not opening? daniellesalter MacBook Pro 0 Jul 30, 2012 11:01 PM
MS Outlook Web Access slstein OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 10 Jun 18, 2012 11:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC