Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:47 PM   #1
Adokimus
macrumors 6502a
 
Adokimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Leopard on 12" PowerBook?

Ok, I might be buying a used 1.5GHz PPC, 1.25 GB RAM, 12" powerbook. One catch is that it will be running a "clean install" of Leopard, with the disc included. I remember mixed reviews of Leopard on powerbooks when it was first released. So, is this a positive or a negative? Will leopard slow down the 12" powerbook or will it run perfectly fine with those specs?

Thanks for any help!

Ado
__________________
17" Apple MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz i7
[sarcasm]jokes[/sarcasm]
Adokimus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:48 PM   #2
FJ218700
macrumors 68000
 
FJ218700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blue Dot, Red State
It will run fine. Don't worry
__________________
various Macs
FJ218700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:49 PM   #3
Pees330
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I had Leopard running on my iBook 1.33ghz 1.5gb and it ran perfectly. I didn't notice any slowdown from Tiger to Leopard. Your powerbook should be able to run it just as well I suppose.
Pees330 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:50 PM   #4
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
I can tell you that with my PowerBook (1.33GHz, 1.25GB RAM, 160GB HD) it actually speeded things up from my previous installs (Tiger and Panther, both used very close before upgrading so I can give a fairly accurate assessment)

Leopard flies on this machine. It feels like new quite honestly. That later 1.5GHz model will have the 64MB Vram too, so you'll get the whole graphical experience too!

Good luck!
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:51 PM   #5
CRAZYBUBBA
macrumors 65816
 
CRAZYBUBBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto/Houston
I have one. it runs great. No difference between tiger and leopard except for added features
CRAZYBUBBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:54 PM   #6
roland.g
macrumors 603
 
roland.g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: One mile up and soaring
I'm going to be loading it on a 12" PB 867 with 640MB RAM as I was told it would run just fine on that.
__________________
I know this because Tyler knows this.
You are not a beautiful snowflake. You are the same decaying matter as everything else.
roland.g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 01:55 PM   #7
brn2ski00
macrumors 68020
 
brn2ski00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I have it running on my wife's iBook G4/1.33 and 512MB RAM. It runs good, although she doesn't do anything very intensive. I am looking to upgrade the RAM to 1.5GB soon.
__________________
iMac 27-inch 2.7GHz Quad-Core i5
500GB Time Capsule
iPhone 5c / ATV3 / iPod Shuffle 2G
brn2ski00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 02:09 PM   #8
Wild-Bill
macrumors 68020
 
Wild-Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ?
I have the same exact spec'd Powerbook and I can safely report no problems.
__________________
Wild-Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 03:16 PM   #9
discoforce
macrumors 6502a
 
discoforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Not that you need more assurance at this point, but...

I installed Leopard on my 15" powerbook (1.25 Ghz, 1 Gig ram) and it's snappier than ever!
__________________
I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by. Douglas Adams
20" iMac C2D, Al MacBook, iPod Touch 2g
discoforce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 04:14 PM   #10
shoppy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hants
Runs great on my little 12" powerbook.
__________________
15" & 13 Retina, 11" & 13 Macbook air, iMac.
3x iphone; 5s Space grey / 5C green/White, Apple TV.
iPad Air 4G and iPad Retina/ iPad mini retina x3 64Gb 4G, ipod shuffle & an Airport extremes.
shoppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 04:28 PM   #11
Adokimus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Adokimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Thanks for all the input! Quite reassuring.

__________________
17" Apple MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz i7
[sarcasm]jokes[/sarcasm]
Adokimus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 04:36 PM   #12
.Andy
macrumors 68030
 
.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Mergui Archipelago
I've got exactly the same spec'ed machine with an upgraded higher rpm hard drive. If I had my time again I'd disagree with the majority here and would stick with tiger.

For most things Leopard is fantastic, but my two biggest sticking points would be spotlight and safari's history. I've found them both significantly slower under leopard. Spotlight is almost unuseable now - it may as well just be a search. If I bring up history under safari (anything longer than today's history) I get beach balls. These are only really deal breakers for me seeing as I use both features in my common day to day use of the machine. Seeing so many other people expouse Leopard on a 12" perhaps my experience is an isolated one though and just coincidental.
__________________
Each man's death diminishes me, for I am involved in mankind. Therefore, send not to know for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee.
.Andy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2008, 06:48 AM   #13
cujoe86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I run leopard on my iBook 12in, 1.33, 512 ram and 40 gig hard drive. Runs just fine. You shouldn't have a problem
cujoe86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2008, 06:48 PM   #14
the mars volta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
well, leopard in my PB 1.33 Ghz, 1.5Gb Ram, and 64VRam is choppier than any OS ever was... when I have more than 4 or 5 applications open exposť is choppy. not to talk of spaces... horrible transitions!

Yeah, cover flow is not bad, and quick view is quite fast.

I installed Leopard but now I'm back to Tiger, everything's so smooth here! And much, much faster...

I don't understand how you can say that Leopard is fast on your G4 Mac's (compared to Tiger 10.4.11)... It really is useable, but not as much as Tiger is!

Oh, I did a clean install, upgraded to 10.5.2 with the Graphics Update too... still slow that way.

Regards.
the mars volta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2008, 07:12 PM   #15
yabai
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posting from my 1GHz 12" Powerbook. Leopard runs fine.
yabai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2008, 07:21 PM   #16
brandon.vong
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by the mars volta View Post
well, leopard in my PB 1.33 Ghz, 1.5Gb Ram, and 64VRam is choppier than any OS ever was... when I have more than 4 or 5 applications open exposť is choppy. not to talk of spaces... horrible transitions!

Yeah, cover flow is not bad, and quick view is quite fast.

I installed Leopard but now I'm back to Tiger, everything's so smooth here! And much, much faster...

I don't understand how you can say that Leopard is fast on your G4 Mac's (compared to Tiger 10.4.11)... It really is useable, but not as much as Tiger is!

Oh, I did a clean install, upgraded to 10.5.2 with the Graphics Update too... still slow that way.

Regards.
I agree! My 12 inch PB is maxed out and I have reinstalled Leopard MANY times with no noticeable difference. Leopard runs slower on mine compared to Tiger for some reason.
brandon.vong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2008, 10:23 PM   #17
the mars volta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yabai View Post
Posting from my 1GHz 12" Powerbook. Leopard runs fine.
ok... Leopard runs fine, but I bet that Tiger runs great!

Leopard runs fine too on my PB 1.33GHz, but Tiger is way better for my machine.

Let's just face it, the PowerPC's are being left behind... even the new SDK Software for developing iPhone applications is Intel only, and only just on Leopard... That's not fair Apple!

Regards!
the mars volta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2008, 10:26 PM   #18
the mars volta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon.vong View Post
I agree! My 12 inch PB is maxed out and I have reinstalled Leopard MANY times with no noticeable difference. Leopard runs slower on mine compared to Tiger for some reason.
Brandon, you can compare your MB Pro perfomance with your PB...
what do you think?
the mars volta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2008, 01:23 AM   #19
jonswan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Leopard runs pretty slow on my PB 12 inch 1.0 with 768 RAM. On Tiger it was much faster and I am debating whether to switch back on that machine.
__________________
MBA 1.6, ALU iMac 20 inch, iPod Touch 16 GB
jonswan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2008, 09:42 AM   #20
droo94
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Long live the PB 12"! Leopard's been running well on mine.
__________________
PB 12" -- 1.5GHz, 1.25GB RAM, 80GB HD, SuperDrive, OS X 10.5 Leopard
droo94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 05:49 PM   #21
brandon.vong
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by the mars volta View Post
Brandon, you can compare your MB Pro perfomance with your PB...
what do you think?
Were you wanting me to run like Geekbench between the two or just my thoughts?
brandon.vong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 05:56 PM   #22
joshwest
macrumors 65816
 
joshwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Send a message via AIM to joshwest Send a message via Yahoo to joshwest
i have a 1.5 12" with 1.25 ram it runs great feels even a little better than tiger
__________________

iMac 27" 2.7 i5 Quad .desk. 2.13 MBA .on the go
.tunes. iPhone 4
joshwest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 06:35 PM   #23
sjb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I've run leopard on my 1.5G PowerBook with 1G of RAM without any problems at all.
sjb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 11:30 PM   #24
NIPRING
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
I'd stick with leopard.
__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I get Leopard 10.5 for powerbook G4? stevefo PowerPC Macs 16 May 29, 2014 10:58 PM
Resolved: Can't install Leopard | Powerbook G4 1.33 Al rjcalifornia PowerPC Macs 7 Dec 1, 2013 12:04 PM
Powerbook refuses to install Leopard GizmoDVD PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 26, 2013 03:25 PM
Clone full Leopard system from PowerBook to iBook? petisjioweelsha OS X 5 May 14, 2013 09:04 PM
Dual booting Leopard and Xp on Powerbook g4 SawyerTHEBEST PowerPC Macs 2 Feb 7, 2013 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC