Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2003, 04:25 PM   #1
CrackedButter
macrumors 68040
 
CrackedButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 51st State of America
Really Silly question

Really silly question here but what key is the option key?
__________________
"Absorb what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own" - Bruce Lee
http://jonathanjk.com
CrackedButter is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 04:57 PM   #2
Brundlefly
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Send a message via ICQ to Brundlefly Send a message via AIM to Brundlefly Send a message via MSN to Brundlefly
Really Silly Answer

You will fine the option key inbetween the ctrl and the apple key (command key)

2 keys to the left of the spacebar

under the "z" key

__________________
Canadian Creative Director
2.2 Ghz 17 inch MacBook Pro Mid 2011 - 8 gig ram
iMac 2.8 - 27 inch 2011 - 16 gig ram
www.peapod.ca
Brundlefly is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 04:58 PM   #3
Brundlefly
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Send a message via ICQ to Brundlefly Send a message via AIM to Brundlefly Send a message via MSN to Brundlefly
ohh

"Be Like Water" - Bruce Lee
__________________
Canadian Creative Director
2.2 Ghz 17 inch MacBook Pro Mid 2011 - 8 gig ram
iMac 2.8 - 27 inch 2011 - 16 gig ram
www.peapod.ca
Brundlefly is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 05:22 PM   #4
rainman::|:|
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: iowa
Send a message via Yahoo to rainman::|:|
now granted we probably have two different keyboards, but isn't the option key usually the one that says option on it? i think pro keyboards do, and the cheap one i have does...


pnw
rainman::|:| is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 06:27 PM   #5
einsteinium
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
now if only we could find the "any" key with as much ease... our prayers would be answered, our society become a utopia, life would be absolutely wonderful...
einsteinium is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 06:32 PM   #6
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally posted by paulwhannel
now granted we probably have two different keyboards, but isn't the option key usually the one that says option on it? i think pro keyboards do, and the cheap one i have does...


pnw
Nope, it's not written on my Pro keyboard.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 06:50 PM   #7
Squire
macrumors 68000
 
Squire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Mine says alt in small print and option in larger letters. At least I think that's my option key. Maybe they didn't start labeling them 'til recently.

Squire
__________________
"Society often forgives the criminal; it never forgives the dreamer." - Oscar Wilde
Squire is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 07:13 PM   #8
Schiffi
macrumors 6502a
 
Schiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri
Send a message via AIM to Schiffi Send a message via Yahoo to Schiffi
And the apple key is commonly referred to as the Command key.
__________________
SEE 7ON
Schiffi is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 07:30 PM   #9
johnnyjibbs
macrumors 68030
 
johnnyjibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Send a message via AIM to johnnyjibbs Send a message via MSN to johnnyjibbs
My new PowerBook just says 'alt' and that funny "thermocouple" symbol. No 'option' in sight. I was slightly confused at this at first, this being my first ever Apple and all...
johnnyjibbs is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 09:48 PM   #10
Rezet
macrumors 6502a
 
Rezet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Connecticut, United States of America
Send a message via AIM to Rezet
Talking



LOL guys. If someone from PC loving family shows up (like athlonzone) they will find it very entertaining to see that Mac users can't find an OPTION key on a keyboard...

__________________
I will inject myself into your veins.
--------------------------------------

The Matrix Online. The Beta testing has begun.
Join us, Red Pill. For more info: The Matrix Online
Rezet is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 09:51 PM   #11
Rezet
macrumors 6502a
 
Rezet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Connecticut, United States of America
Send a message via AIM to Rezet
And the reason I'm saying this is because PC users know their keyboards well...

Hell, the first thing you need to learn before operating a PC is to find out where CTRL, ALT and DELETE buttons are...
__________________
I will inject myself into your veins.
--------------------------------------

The Matrix Online. The Beta testing has begun.
Join us, Red Pill. For more info: The Matrix Online
Rezet is offline   0
Old Nov 2, 2003, 08:59 AM   #12
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
LOL

On my keyboards there is only the "word" alt on it and the thermocouple sign (the z with the -on the left of it). I always looking for those keys when using special commands. It's funny that Apple is using different signs/words on keyboards over the world. BTW I live in the Netherlands.
Dreadnought is offline   0
Old Nov 2, 2003, 05:17 PM   #13
Anna
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Send a message via ICQ to Anna Send a message via MSN to Anna
where the ALT key is on a PC
Anna is offline   0
Old Nov 2, 2003, 06:40 PM   #14
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
That "thermocouple" key is the Option. I remember reading that Apple started using symbols (The same ones that appear in the menus) on some "higher-level" keys because they may have different uses in different countries, or even different names. And the story as I under stand it, is when Apple release the first ADB full Size KB with F keys, they added "alt" over the option to help PC users cope, considering that the "command" uses the spot that PC traditionally carry the "alt". Also, I heard they added it so people would know where the alt key when they used to ship Macs with PC's on a daughter card like the Performa 630/DOS. Its just become habbit, personally, I'd like to see the "alt" go away, and have us call "command" "open Apple" as we all learned it in school on the Old Apple IIs. (Remember Open Apple, Closed Apple). In fact, I've always called it "Open Apple" and always. I remember reading some documents about developing on a Mac in like 2001, and Apple suggest that developers use the folowing nomenclature:
Folder - instead of Directory
Apple Key - Instead of Command

Of course It has been a while, so a can't remember any more. These are just the ones that got stuck on the roof of my mind.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silly question.... JohnGreenberg Mac mini 3 Jan 21, 2014 01:43 AM
Silly Question... 4G vs LTE nidserz iPhone 9 Nov 4, 2013 01:00 AM
Silly Power Off Question danielowenuk iPhone 11 Sep 18, 2013 05:39 PM
REALLY silly question imac wannabe Digital Photography 5 Apr 14, 2013 12:12 PM
iPhone: silly question but, can you sync while being jb, dannyhex Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Mar 14, 2013 02:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC