Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2003, 05:23 PM   #1
tinkjoe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kitchener, ON. Ca
router how-to

i have an i-mac that i just picked up and is connected to a cable modem for internet. i want to also hook up my old pc that was previously hooked up to the cable modem. what all do i need. btw the mac is in the basement and the pc upstairs on the 2nd floor. will a router (if thats what i need) work with both a pc and mac. thanks in advance. scott. also does the network speed suffer if i go wireless.
tinkjoe is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 09:02 PM   #2
AdamR01
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Send a message via AIM to AdamR01
Are you wanting to go wireless on both computers? The speed of the internet shouldnt suffer because cable is usually around 1 mbps and 802.11b is 11mbps. The speed of transfering between the computers will be slower because most network cards are 100mbps.
AdamR01 is offline   0
Old Nov 1, 2003, 11:35 PM   #3
law guy
macrumors 6502a
 
law guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Western Massachusetts
Re: router how-to

Quote:
Originally posted by tinkjoe
i have an i-mac that i just picked up and is connected to a cable modem for internet. i want to also hook up my old pc that was previously hooked up to the cable modem. what all do i need. btw the mac is in the basement and the pc upstairs on the 2nd floor. will a router (if thats what i need) work with both a pc and mac. thanks in advance. scott. also does the network speed suffer if i go wireless.
A wireless router like Belkin's "54g" would serve your needs. (part number F5D7130) I have one serving both a PowerMac G4 with an Airport Extreme card and a 2.4 GHz P4 WinXP Pro unit.

For the Dell, I put in a Belkin pci card (it has a little antenna on the back that you screw into the card once installed) (part number F5D7000). Under a $100.00 by a good bit - I can't recall how much.

The PM G4 is in the second floor home office and the Dell 2.4 is in the basement (three floors of seperation - R30 10' fiberglass insulation between floors) and the signal strength to the Dell (after moving the antenna around a bit) is in the ''very strong" range.

The set-up couldn't be easier. While the Belkin router / wireless access point ships with a quick install CD for windows, I set it up and administer it with my Mac (it's very easy). In fact, you'll plug your cable modem into the thing, turn it on, and your Mac (assuming your airport card is on) will recognize the unit and want to join up with it. Because you won't have set WEP security access codes yet, you'll be able to get on that easy. The Belkin guide gives you an IP address to use to adjust the settings to enter a 64 or 128 bit WEP access code.

On the PC, I installed the software (do that first) for the wireless Belkin card I purchased, plugged in the card and - again - accessed the wireless network right away. I went back later after I'd set up the WEP access code to tell the software on the Dell what the code was.

Very simple. I can't recall exactly what I paid for the Belkin - I think it was just over $100.00 for the wireless access point / 4 port router. The range is 1500 ft. - I suggest this just because Apple's airport base station is SO spendy at $200-some for the more expandable model and then extra for a Dr. Bott antenna. I'm sure it's fantastic, but the Belkin was just very affordable and works well / had a very easy set-up.

Good luck with setting your wireless network up. Once you've got it, you'll want to get new notebooks to take advantage of surfing the net out in the backyard while leaves fall on you - just fantastic.
law guy is offline   0
Old Nov 3, 2003, 10:24 AM   #4
tinkjoe
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kitchener, ON. Ca
thanks for the replies. i ended up getting a d-link wireless router for 70 bucks, and went hard wire into the imac and then a linksys wireless pci card for my pc upstairs. it was all plug and play with no setup needed, and the only complaint is the pc loses the signal from time to time, which is annoying as it kicks me out of msn messenger. total price was just under 200 bucks cdn. scott.
tinkjoe is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Router out? rlu929s Apple TV and Home Theater 28 Feb 8, 2014 04:11 PM
Need a new router - which one should I get? Neocortex27 Mac Peripherals 5 Dec 20, 2013 11:46 PM
Apple TV Home Sharing: Router or No Router? bryanscott Apple TV and Home Theater 20 May 4, 2013 06:52 PM
Which new Router? Bemidjiboy Mac Peripherals 6 Mar 11, 2013 10:36 AM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 09:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC