Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2008, 08:27 PM   #1
stevo1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
How do I check internet speed?

*Embarrassing question alert*

What is the quickest way to check my internet connection speed in Tiger?

On a PC, I've always known it's as simple as hovering the cursor over the connection icon in the taskbar. It's been like that at least since XP if not earlier.

In OSX though (Tiger at least) the Airport icon in the menubar doesn't give any of that information.

Where can I go/what should I open to find this out?

Thanks.
stevo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2008, 08:49 PM   #2
emptyCup
macrumors 65816
 
emptyCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
What is the quickest way to check my internet connection speed in Tiger?
Try this.
emptyCup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2008, 08:51 PM   #3
montycat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida
http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ Is this what you are looking for? MC
__________________
iMac 20-inch 2.0GHz 3GB memory Core 2 Duo 320GB
MacBookPro 13" 2.26 GHz 2GB memory 320GB 80GB iPod Classic iPhone 3GS 16GB
16GB iPod touch Magic Trackpad
montycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2008, 09:08 PM   #4
kingslod
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Speed Test

http://www.speedtest.net/
__________________
FREE desktop patterns, pictures + icons at Huge Magazine. Graphics by DBD+A
kingslod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2008, 10:04 PM   #5
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
*Embarrassing question alert*

What is the quickest way to check my internet connection speed in Tiger?

On a PC, I've always known it's as simple as hovering the cursor over the connection icon in the taskbar. It's been like that at least since XP if not earlier.

In OSX though (Tiger at least) the Airport icon in the menubar doesn't give any of that information.

Where can I go/what should I open to find this out?

Thanks.
That only gives you the connection speed to your router or switch, not the 'net. You still have to go to an online test site as mentioned ^^^ to determine "internet" speed.
__________________

JNB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 06:08 AM   #6
stevo1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnNotBeatle View Post
That only gives you the connection speed to your router or switch, not the 'net.
Ah, I see.

In that case, can anyone tell me where I find my connection speed to the router?

Is there nothing more specific in Tiger than the Airport icon in the menu bar that shows (for e.g.) 3 out of 4 bars strength?
stevo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 07:59 AM   #7
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
Ah, I see.

In that case, can anyone tell me where I find my connection speed to the router?

Is there nothing more specific in Tiger than the Airport icon in the menu bar that shows (for e.g.) 3 out of 4 bars strength?
Your connection speed to the router is immaterial. It'll be whatever the rated speed of the router or network card is, whichever is slowest. That machine-to-first device measurement has lost any real concept of being meaningful since you're typically on a switch--not a hub, and on a home network, where there's likely not much competition for the bandwidth anyway.

See? Even when Windows did provide information, it was useless.
__________________

JNB is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 08:28 AM   #8
stevo1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Thanks John (and to the others who posted).

The reason I was curious is because my internet connection has become so volatile over the last few days. For ths most part, my Mac is now taking, like, over a minute and a half to load a single web page like this one. Painfully frustrating.

The 2 PC's in the house are experiencing no slowdown at all, which makes me think it's not the wireless router. (Switching the PC's off makes no difference btw)

Does this sound to you like the problem is more likely to be related to my Mac/Airport rather than the router?

If so, what kind of thing can cause this?
stevo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 08:38 AM   #9
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
hm tried resetting your mini??

when my ibook slowed down the airport antenna came loose from the airport, which may not be the case on yours since i accidentally bumped it, it stays in pretty solidly.

thats very odd though, i really have no idea.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 09:10 AM   #10
stevo1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Yup, I've restarted the iMac several times. And the router.

Turned off widgets and done everything I can think of that might be hogging bandwidth. (That's what was behind my original question of where I could find the connection speed)

My Airport menubar icon fluctuates between 3 and 4 bars out of 4, which seems ok (though it never previously dropped below 4).

But if I open the 'Internet Connect' window, on the Airport tab, it shows my Signal Level as being 4 out of 15. Which seems rather less ok!

I'll keep fiddling, but in the meantime if anyone can offer any suggestions as to how I might better diagnose it, that would be useful.
stevo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 09:19 AM   #11
Batt
macrumors 65816
 
Batt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
Yup, I've restarted the iMac several times. And the router.

Turned off widgets and done everything I can think of that might be hogging bandwidth. (That's what was behind my original question of where I could find the connection speed)

My Airport menubar icon fluctuates between 3 and 4 bars out of 4, which seems ok (though it never previously dropped below 4).

But if I open the 'Internet Connect' window, on the Airport tab, it shows my Signal Level as being 4 out of 15. Which seems rather less ok!

I'll keep fiddling, but in the meantime if anyone can offer any suggestions as to how I might better diagnose it, that would be useful.
Change the channel?
__________________
13" MBP i7 8/750 Yellow Miata Touch 2 & 5, buncha Nanos iPad 1, iPad 3, iPad Air 2 ATV2s more
Batt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 10:46 AM   #12
pazreal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
+1 for Speedtest.net
__________________
There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never meant for mass production. Too weird to live, too rare to die.
pazreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 02:29 PM   #13
Silent!Avenger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Out of all the websites I used, speedtest.net seems to work the best and be the most user friendly.
Silent!Avenger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 03:12 PM   #14
stevo1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batt View Post
Change the channel?
Holy cr@p, that did it, you star!

Much appreciated!

Thanks everyone else too for your recommendations and help.
stevo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 09:33 PM   #15
ajacob24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
Holy cr@p, that did it, you star!

Much appreciated!

Thanks everyone else too for your recommendations and help.
Had the same problem, changing the channel on my router fixed my issue.
Thanks!!
__________________
Check out fresh tee's from T.O.
Dam'd Apparel
ajacob24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 02:36 PM   #16
Robh65
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thanks!!

That totally helped me too!!
Robh65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 08:55 PM   #17
HostMacMini
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Cant get speed test to work

Hi All,

Sorry if this now the right location, Thanks in advance for any help..

I am having an odd issue with speed test and a number of other websites. I cant's run Speedtest.net nor can I http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ on my mac mini server.

It was working yesterday. The mac is setup as a standalone with no monitor or keyboard connected. I just VNC the mac.

The browser just loads some of the contents of the pages or the site but then hangs.

Any ideas and suggestions please?
HostMacMini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 08:57 PM   #18
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostMacMini View Post

Any ideas and suggestions please?
Try resetting Safari (or whatever browser you're using). Flash might be trying to pull a cached version or something like that. Does the server work with other websites?
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 09:07 PM   #19
HostMacMini
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blevins321 View Post
Does the server work with other websites?
Thanks for your help, The problem is I cant access a lot of other sites not just speedtest. It hangs on youtube, Zdnet and few others and some do work...

BTW, were is the reset for safari? I don't normally use safari...
HostMacMini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 11:20 PM   #20
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostMacMini View Post
Thanks for your help, The problem is I cant access a lot of other sites not just speedtest. It hangs on youtube, Zdnet and few others and some do work...

BTW, were is the reset for safari? I don't normally use safari...
On Safari it's Safari in the top left, then Reset Safari in the dropdown menu. Since it's other sites though, I'd try reinstalling the latest version of Adobe Flash Player. Here is the link to the download page.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2011, 08:41 PM   #21
HostMacMini
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thanks blevins321

I have the latest version, One of my contacts had the same issues. However he installed Java IDE for his work stuff but that seems to have fixed the issue. So I am guessing it could be Java.

I did install the Java yet I have the same problem. he must have installed something else as well. I need to find out...
HostMacMini is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet speed Micky Do Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 51 May 16, 2014 10:58 PM
What cable Internet speed? jason.siegel Community Discussion 20 May 11, 2014 05:53 PM
How is my internet speed? kat.hayes OS X 5 Jan 4, 2014 09:22 PM
how to check data transfer speed? warplane95 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 14, 2013 03:09 PM
Internet Speed MinEderPlayz Community Discussion 2 Aug 3, 2013 12:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC