Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2008, 05:37 PM   #1
miguel mouse!
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
How's this set-up for CS3 including After Effects work?

I use photoshop, illustrator and indesign a lot for school and my internship and i was planning on doing some AFX work for myself. I'm thinking about this set-up....

15" macbook pro 2.4GHz 200GB @ 5400 rpm matte screen w/ 20" ACD.

Comments. Suggestions? If i plan on working on AFX files that are 3-5 minutes long, will 2GB RAM be enough, or should i upgrade to 4GB?
miguel mouse! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 05:49 PM   #2
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguel mouse! View Post
I use photoshop, illustrator and indesign a lot for school and my internship and i was planning on doing some AFX work for myself. I'm thinking about this set-up....

15" macbook pro 2.4GHz 200GB @ 5400 rpm matte screen w/ 20" ACD.

Comments. Suggestions? If i plan on working on AFX files that are 3-5 minutes long, will 2GB RAM be enough, or should i upgrade to 4GB?
You can get away with just 2GB for the PS, AI and ID, but when you start working with video (AE) you'll probably want at least 4GB. It will make the other programs run much smoother, as well.

Everything else sounds pretty good, especially if you throw in an external monitor.
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 06:31 PM   #3
fluidedge
macrumors 65816
 
fluidedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
looks good. 4GB is a no brainer with the price of MBP ram.

Allow PLENTY of time for AE rendering. PLENTY. Don't think, oh the deadline is 9am tomorrow, i'll render overnight. Rendering on the MBP will be a lot slower than on a MP so allow at least 24 hours for all but the most basic renders just in case it takes longer than expects, crashes or you need to make some changes etc.
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 12:02 AM   #4
miguel mouse!
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
thanks for the advice.

do you think i can get by with my 16" clear acrylic ACD from the g4 days, or do you suggest i upgrade to a new ACD?
miguel mouse! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 04:50 AM   #5
fluidedge
macrumors 65816
 
fluidedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
well a 16" screen is only an improvement of 1" over the laptop screen.

ACDs are very nice, but they're also very expensive. There are frankly better options for your money. For the price of a 23" ACD you can get a very good quality 24" screen or even a cheap(er) 27" screen, and still have change left over.

Any reason you want an ACD other than just aesthetic reasons?

Samsung make good quality panels.
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 10:42 AM   #6
IgnatiusTheKing
macrumors 68040
 
IgnatiusTheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: das Fort
Send a message via AIM to IgnatiusTheKing Send a message via Skype™ to IgnatiusTheKing
Can't you use your MBP display as one monitor and your ACD as another? A dual setup like that would probably give you the space you need and let you not spend any more money than necessary (unless you just really want to).
IgnatiusTheKing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 03:32 PM   #7
miguel mouse!
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
yeah i've been using a dual-setup with my 12" powerbook and my 16" ACD.

so i think i'll spend as little money as necessary and just buy a 15" macbook pro.
miguel mouse! is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set Firewall correctly, so that the Internet won’t work without OpenVPN? Primabera MacBook 0 Nov 6, 2013 12:20 PM
Which setup for Design work (photoshop, after effects) konsoul MacBook Pro 0 Oct 28, 2013 10:44 PM
Does Adobe After Effects CC work yet?" zabo OS X Mavericks (10.9) 11 Oct 22, 2013 09:34 AM
what set up to make microphone work on bootcamp? applemic Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 May 18, 2013 03:35 AM
Video Editing and After Effects work ghoraa iMac 11 Feb 6, 2013 12:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC