Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2008, 12:47 PM   #1
Volante
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Finding /etc/smb.conf

Hi, I am wondering where i can find the etc/smb.conf-file or the directory for that matter.
Volante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 12:55 PM   #2
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Uh.. you already know the path. /etc.

But it's not viewable from the Finder by default. Those are hidden directories. So you should consider using the command line interface of the terminal to view and edit.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:00 PM   #3
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Surprisingly enough Finder -> Go -> Go to Folder can take you to hidden folders if you know the path.

I'm still unsure of auto complete works in Leopard or not.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:13 PM   #4
Volante
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thx! New problem. I get that i dont have enough rights to save the file?
Volante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:15 PM   #5
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volante View Post
Thx! New problem. I get that i dont have enough rights to save the file?
I strongly suggest that you know what you're doing before you edit anything in /etc.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:24 PM   #6
Volante
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hehe, I am a switcher. =) I need to add

socket options = TCP_NODELAY IPTOS_LOWDELAY

to fix my smb-transfer so i can get over my data =). I guess i need to edit as root? But, hmm?
Volante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:26 PM   #7
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Darwin/Command line tutorial: http://www.osxfaq.com/Tutorials/LearningCenter/index.ws
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:28 PM   #8
Volante
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Ehm, can't i edit the file without resort to terminal, that feels like a step in the wrong direction.
Volante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 01:55 PM   #9
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Well, a large focus of Mac OS X is to produce a very powerful OS that also protects the users from themselves. So, knowing about using root, or the command line is a good way to do that for advanced tasks.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 02:01 PM   #10
Volante
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I guess will learn that in time as I work as a webdeveloper. I solved my transfer speed by using a drop box and a second xp machine to do the actual transfer. 68 minutes instead of 9h four 20 gig data.
Volante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 02:40 PM   #11
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volante View Post
Ehm, can't i edit the file without resort to terminal, that feels like a step in the wrong direction.
Seriously, you want to use Terminal. I trust vi more then I trust a graphical text editor.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 05:30 PM   #12
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Seriously, you want to use Terminal. I trust vi more then I trust a graphical text editor.
I know vi is the most powerful editor, but using pico (or nano) can simplify the use.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 05:42 PM   #13
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacsRgr8 View Post
I know vi is the most powerful editor, but using pico (or nano) can simplify the use.
I was a fan of pico when I took C and Java back in college. I just use vi now since it's sometimes the only option in emergency situations.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 10:17 AM   #14
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
I must admit. I prefer pico (and now nano) over vi. All I remember of vi is how to get out of it.

Remember, you can't spell "evil" without "vi"!
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 10:23 PM   #15
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow View Post
I must admit. I prefer pico (and now nano) over vi. All I remember of vi is how to get out of it.

Remember, you can't spell "evil" without "vi"!
Let's not drag onto too far about our text editors.

Code:
sudo pico /etc/smb.conf
That command will give you permission to make changes to /etc/smb.conf and a rather friendly text editor called pico (nano).

Please make sure you really know what you're doing.

Code:
 We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
 Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

    #1) Respect the privacy of others.
    #2) Think before you type.
    #3) With great power comes great responsibility.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 11:45 PM   #16
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
whats the difference between nano and pico? i just use nano as it sounds more "Applely"

i must admit its easier to use a text editor in the Terminal for files that have sudo permissions but for other files i just drag them into TextEdit. keeping TextEdit in the dock is useful to!
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, GA-Z87X-UD4, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 5 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 12:06 AM   #17
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by richthomas View Post
whats the difference between nano and pico? i just use nano as it sounds more "Applely"

i must admit its easier to use a text editor in the Terminal for files that have sudo permissions but for other files i just drag them into TextEdit. keeping TextEdit in the dock is useful to!
nano is a clone of pico. My experience is only with vi, not vim, and pico.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 07:57 AM   #18
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Let's not drag onto too far about our text editors.
LOL! That's absolutely classic!!

I think the only editors I haven't used are cat (concatenate edits?), needles, and butterflies.

I used to code MUDs in ed. Horrible stuff. MUDs in emacs were much, much better. Except for needing X11.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
nano is a clone of pico.
Agreed. nano is pico++.

Last edited by yellow; Mar 19, 2008 at 08:10 AM.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
/etc/resolv.conf und update valer.begrad OS X 1 Sep 7, 2013 04:56 PM
Buy custom conf or wait for Haswell - pro designer matejn MacBook Air 9 May 29, 2013 12:18 PM
When doing conf call, no data connection? everythingfun iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 May 13, 2013 07:09 AM
Smb cosmicjoke OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Mar 1, 2013 12:04 AM
httpd_server_app.conf vs httpd.conf - could someone please clarify? zzTontozz Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Jan 28, 2013 08:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC