Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 19, 2008, 08:35 PM   #1
allbrokeup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Now This Is A Handy App!!!

You know on Windows 2000 and higher, how you enter a keyboard combo and it locks your computer..Mac OS X can now do that too.

The app I have just created is entitled "Locked" and it does the following

The included face-less app, called Selector, displays a Bevel with Options to Lock, Turn off Bevel and Close Options.

The actual "Locked" application, Pulls up a full screen window with the Leopard Aurora, and a Window modeled on the Login Screen, requiring the User Account Password and Name to return to the Desktop.

Post back on my idea, and give me feedback on how it is going. I am going to venture in further, to make it auto-detect any User Passwords and Names and require them without prior Hard-Coding. Any suggestions on that???????

allbrokeup.
__________________
iPhone 4 16GB Black; 27" Aluminum iMac 2010, 3.06 GhZ, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD; iPhone 3G 16GB White
ALSO KNOWN AS COCOTUTCH. CREATOR OF MUZIK FOR IPHONE AND IPOD TOUCH
allbrokeup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 08:37 PM   #2
mr.stinki
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I really like it!! I like the idea of this more than the default option for entering password when waking from sleep!!

Also, can you make it so we can change the background/ use a .qtz file for out BG?
__________________
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
mr.stinki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 08:39 PM   #3
Trip.Tucker
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
...or you could just enable it with Keychain. In Keychain, select Preferences, then Show Status in Menu Bar which displays a black padlock symbol. Click on the padlock and select Lock Screen. A shortcut key sequence can also be created in Sys. Prefs. Far more elegant.

Last edited by Trip.Tucker; Mar 22, 2008 at 02:40 PM.
Trip.Tucker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2008, 10:13 PM   #4
CaptainZap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip.Tucker View Post
...or you could just enable it with Keychain. In Keychain, select View, then Show Status in Menu Bar which displays a black padlock symbol. Click on the padlock and select Lock Screen. A shortcut key sequence can also be created in Sys. Prefs. Far more elegant.
How would you go about adding a key sequence for it??
__________________
CaptainZap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 05:08 AM   #5
Nutter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, England
... or you could write a shell script to switch to the actual login window.
Nutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 09:54 AM   #6
GirthP
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
or you could actually write the app for the rest of us
__________________
iPhone 16GB 3G
Home: 2.2 MBP 4GB 320GB WD Scorpio

Work: 8 core 2.8 MP 8GB w/ 2 24" Dell UltraSharps
GirthP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 10:27 AM   #7
Monkaaay
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Haha, yeah, that'd be nice.
Monkaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 10:34 AM   #8
Mactropolis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
allbrokeup... excellent idea.

Would like to test it out and perhaps even do a little review on my site. I could see an app like that coming in handy!
__________________
Mr. Mayor
Mactropolis.com
Mactropolis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 10:57 AM   #9
lazydog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cramlington, UK
Send a message via MSN to lazydog
Maybe it's just me, but I don't get what's so great about this app. So it locks the screen and then you have to enter a password to unlock it. Is that it?

b e n
lazydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 12:00 PM   #10
Krevnik
macrumors 68020
 
Krevnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazydog View Post
Maybe it's just me, but I don't get what's so great about this app. So it locks the screen and then you have to enter a password to unlock it. Is that it?

b e n
While one can 'just' use fast user switching, what the Windows world has had for awhile is the Windows-L combo. Locks your computer really quickly. Now, I don't care if someone can login using their account, but I do like the quickness of it.

On my own systems, I use Lock My Mac, and leave it in the dock.
__________________
iMac 2013 27", 13" rMBP, iPad 4, iPhone 5s
Krevnik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 03:37 PM   #11
lazydog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cramlington, UK
Send a message via MSN to lazydog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krevnik View Post
While one can 'just' use fast user switching, what the Windows world has had for awhile is the Windows-L combo. Locks your computer really quickly. Now, I don't care if someone can login using their account, but I do like the quickness of it.

On my own systems, I use Lock My Mac, and leave it in the dock.
Ah right. Haven't used Windows for a long time! But can't you achieve the same thing with Screen Saver configured to use a hot corner and password?

b e n
lazydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 03:40 PM   #12
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazydog View Post
Ah right. Haven't used Windows for a long time! But can't you achieve the same thing with Screen Saver configured to use a hot corner and password?

b e n
Quoted for extreme truth. Simple, effective, built-in.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 05:49 PM   #13
Jiddick ExRex
macrumors 65816
 
Jiddick ExRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roskilde, DK
While this seems like a look-and-feel app that does the same thing as going to the login window or open screensaver while needing a password to get back in, I thought I just wanted to throw these out there:
Dockables combined with Quicksilver or Launchbar are much more versatile and has the same functionality as the famous Windows-L combo.
__________________
The owner of a perfect SR MBP 2.2 Matte!
Jiddick ExRex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 06:33 PM   #14
Mernak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Have you tried bypassing the lock using Apple+option+escape and force quitting it? Just interested if that would work, since it is just a normal app, and only trying to fool people into thinking that it is locked.
__________________
MB, 2.0Ghz, 2GB Ram, 80GB
iPhone, 8GB
Mernak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 08:50 PM   #15
Krevnik
macrumors 68020
 
Krevnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by killmoms View Post
Quoted for extreme truth. Simple, effective, built-in.
Yes, except as I said, I like the lock going to the login window better. :P
__________________
iMac 2013 27", 13" rMBP, iPad 4, iPhone 5s
Krevnik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 09:00 PM   #16
Jeremy1026
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazydog View Post
Ah right. Haven't used Windows for a long time! But can't you achieve the same thing with Screen Saver configured to use a hot corner and password?

b e n
Quote:
Originally Posted by killmoms View Post
Quoted for extreme truth. Simple, effective, built-in.
The only problem is, what if you accidentally hit that hotcorner, it could become bothersome quickly. I have 3 of my 4 corners hot cornered (expose, spaces, and sleep display) and I find that 1 out of every 5 times or so I accidently go too far and activate the corner. Especially when using spotlight, or when trying to change from the iTunes miniplayer to full window (its in the bottom left hand corner)
__________________
1026 Development
Jeremy1026 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2008, 09:35 PM   #17
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutter View Post
Yep. To make it better, save the following Applescript code as a script in /Library/Scripts (I call it Lock) and then assign a keyboard shortcut (Trigger) in Quicksilver to execute this script. I use Command+Option+L

Code:
do shell script "/System/Library/CoreServices/Menu\\ Extras/User.menu/Contents/Resources/CGSession -suspend"
Be sure to include Scripts in your catalog and rescan to see your new script.

Who needs an app?
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 12:40 AM   #18
Krevnik
macrumors 68020
 
Krevnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingjr3 View Post
Who needs an app?
Script + Quicksilver != App? Eh?

I don't use Quicksilver, so using that to create the trigger still requires me to add an app to my system either way.
__________________
iMac 2013 27", 13" rMBP, iPad 4, iPhone 5s
Krevnik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 04:54 AM   #19
Nutter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, England
But if all you need is a trigger, isn't it better to use a general purpose app, rather than to create one specifically for the purpose?
Nutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 06:13 AM   #20
allbrokeup
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Experimenting with the Shell Script in version 2 to be public (version one is for me ) I have tied in the Shell Script with my iFaceless 2.0 to open up the app. iFaceless is set at 0.1 opacity and Locks when Command+Option+L is pressed. It calls the Shell Script, suspending the User (or so I gathered ). There is also a Volume Bezel in the Launcher that sets the system volume so you don't have to unlock to Change the iTunes Volume either, although I think I may axe that upon release.

Let me know what you think.

allbrokeup.
__________________
iPhone 4 16GB Black; 27" Aluminum iMac 2010, 3.06 GhZ, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD; iPhone 3G 16GB White
ALSO KNOWN AS COCOTUTCH. CREATOR OF MUZIK FOR IPHONE AND IPOD TOUCH

Last edited by allbrokeup; Mar 21, 2008 at 06:33 AM.
allbrokeup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 06:32 AM   #21
allbrokeup
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Version 2, entitled 'Lock 2' just hit intense testing stage. Expect a full Release soon on a Soon-to-Be 'Google Code' page. will post URL.

allbrokeup.
__________________
iPhone 4 16GB Black; 27" Aluminum iMac 2010, 3.06 GhZ, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD; iPhone 3G 16GB White
ALSO KNOWN AS COCOTUTCH. CREATOR OF MUZIK FOR IPHONE AND IPOD TOUCH
allbrokeup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 07:01 AM   #22
allbrokeup
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Update 2 - Someone asked whether it would force quit. Sadly no, I made it Quit Finder through an AppleScript and relaunch it upon Unlock. You cant Quit it via Cmd+Q either!

allbrokeup.
__________________
iPhone 4 16GB Black; 27" Aluminum iMac 2010, 3.06 GhZ, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD; iPhone 3G 16GB White
ALSO KNOWN AS COCOTUTCH. CREATOR OF MUZIK FOR IPHONE AND IPOD TOUCH
allbrokeup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 07:10 AM   #23
allbrokeup
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Update 3 - Somebody asked about Quartz Backgrounds, It uses an 'Aurora.qtz' File in the Resources Package installed into ~/Library. Simply rename a custom .qtz to 'Aurora.qtz' and drag it into the mentioned folder. It will show up as the Background.

allbrokeup.
__________________
iPhone 4 16GB Black; 27" Aluminum iMac 2010, 3.06 GhZ, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD; iPhone 3G 16GB White
ALSO KNOWN AS COCOTUTCH. CREATOR OF MUZIK FOR IPHONE AND IPOD TOUCH
allbrokeup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 08:17 AM   #24
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krevnik View Post
I don't use Quicksilver
You should give it a try, you won't use your Mac the same.
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CheckIt - A handy check writing app ResonanceL iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 May 9, 2014 07:34 AM
Handy Light app not working in 10.9? fpetters OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Dec 10, 2013 03:25 PM
All Passwords (Handy Personal Tool) available in App Store creiapp Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 May 31, 2013 11:31 PM
Contactino, The handy contacts app (FREE). maroline iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 27, 2013 08:55 AM
A handy Downloads-folder-clearing app sazivad Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 29, 2012 10:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC