Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch > iPod touch Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2008, 10:01 AM   #1
nylock10
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Changing iPod AFP Icon

Hey,

I put AFPd on my iPod touch to manage files with Finder, but how can I change the icon from a cinema display to an iPod touch?

Here's a screenshot:
nylock10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 11:40 AM   #2
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
It won't be as easy as you might think.

The information about what model each machine on the network is is gathered through Bonjour. Normally, Macs send out a special _device-info._tcp "service" with additional data of, for instance, "model=MacBook3,1". On Linux using avahi, I've been able to set icons with a service entry like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<!DOCTYPE service-group SYSTEM "avahi-service.dtd">
<service-group>
  <name>thehostname</name>
  <service> 
    <type>_device-info._tcp</type>
    <port>0</port>
    <txt-record>model=iMac7,1</txt-record>
  </service>
</service-group>
as well as service entries for AFP, SMB, or VNC (doesn't matter, but you need to share one of them for your machine to show up in Finder.)

The second piece of the puzzle is the icons: The icons themselves are in /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources, and the mapping from model identifiers to icons is in /Contents/Info.plist in the same bundle. (Look at UTExportedTypeDeclarations, down toward the later entries. For instance, on my machine, the 17" MBP is #225.)

I think you could export a similar type declaration from any bundle, as long as you were able to get Finder to open it. I'm not sure exactly how this mechanism works; perhaps someone else can chime in with details.

The real question, I suppose, is whether the iPod touch broadcasts a _device-info entry. If not, I'm not sure how you'd make it do so.
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 12:48 PM   #3
YuriVoorhak
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bstreiff View Post
It won't be as easy as you might think.

The information about what model each machine on the network is is gathered through Bonjour. Normally, Macs send out a special _device-info._tcp "service" with additional data of, for instance, "model=MacBook3,1". On Linux using avahi, I've been able to set icons with a service entry like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<!DOCTYPE service-group SYSTEM "avahi-service.dtd">
<service-group>
  <name>thehostname</name>
  <service> 
    <type>_device-info._tcp</type>
    <port>0</port>
    <txt-record>model=iMac7,1</txt-record>
  </service>
</service-group>
as well as service entries for AFP, SMB, or VNC (doesn't matter, but you need to share one of them for your machine to show up in Finder.)

The second piece of the puzzle is the icons: The icons themselves are in /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources, and the mapping from model identifiers to icons is in /Contents/Info.plist in the same bundle. (Look at UTExportedTypeDeclarations, down toward the later entries. For instance, on my machine, the 17" MBP is #225.)

I think you could export a similar type declaration from any bundle, as long as you were able to get Finder to open it. I'm not sure exactly how this mechanism works; perhaps someone else can chime in with details.

The real question, I suppose, is whether the iPod touch broadcasts a _device-info entry. If not, I'm not sure how you'd make it do so.
Or you could be totally lazy and just swap the local ACD icon for an iPT one.
YuriVoorhak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 01:34 PM   #4
nylock10
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Changing the defulat Mac icon in Core Servers worked great, thanks.

Thumb resize.Thumb resize.

I even grabbed a picture of my iPod's home screen and added it to the iPod icon

Last edited by nylock10; Mar 21, 2008 at 01:56 PM.
nylock10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 02:38 PM   #5
doteyes9
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Since when do iPod's have SMS?
__________________
2.7 ghz Mid 2012 Unibody Macbook Pro 8GB RAM
2.2 ghz Late 2007 Black MacBook 4GB RAM
Black 64GB iPhone 5
doteyes9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 02:42 PM   #6
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Heh, or you could do that. Of course, now any unidentified Mac will show up as an iPod touch on your machine, but if you're okay with that...

Also, you might need to re-apply your change for successive patches that change the CoreTypes.bundle (mostly point-releases, I imagine).
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2008, 09:10 PM   #7
nylock10
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I'm hoping I won't have an unidentified computer on my network anytime soon lol

The SMS application is just MobileChat, I have an AIM account I use to send text messages to friends' cell phones (using the +1[Area Code][Number] method).
nylock10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2008, 12:13 AM   #8
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nylock10 View Post
I'm hoping I won't have an unidentified computer on my network anytime soon lol
Well, pre-10.5 machines show up as the generic ACD; the model-broadcast wasn't added until Leopard.
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2008, 11:04 AM   #9
Sunnzy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bstreiff View Post
It won't be as easy as you might think.

The information about what model each machine on the network is is gathered through Bonjour. Normally, Macs send out a special _device-info._tcp "service" with additional data of, for instance, "model=MacBook3,1". On Linux using avahi, I've been able to set icons with a service entry like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?><!--*-nxml-*-->
<!DOCTYPE service-group SYSTEM "avahi-service.dtd">
<service-group>
  <name>thehostname</name>
  <service> 
    <type>_device-info._tcp</type>
    <port>0</port>
    <txt-record>model=iMac7,1</txt-record>
  </service>
</service-group>
as well as service entries for AFP, SMB, or VNC (doesn't matter, but you need to share one of them for your machine to show up in Finder.)
Is it possible to change the model sent to bonjour on a Mac? I tried to find the conf file but it seems like Mac OS X uses some different thing.
Sunnzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2008, 12:02 PM   #10
bstreiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
I've only been able to make Linux machines look like Macs; I don't know enough about how to publish services with Bonjour on OS X, unfortunately.

Considering that the device-info broadcast is automatically done with the model-identifier of your machine (like, say, MacBook3,1), I'm not sure if there'd be a way to override the automatic setting.
__________________
Mac mini Late 2007 (1.8GHz, 2x2GB, 160GB)
Blackbook Late 2007 (2.2GHz, 2x2GB, 320GB)
bstreiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 03:13 PM   #11
Czo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Debrecen, Hungary
Send a message via ICQ to Czo Send a message via AIM to Czo Send a message via MSN to Czo Send a message via Yahoo to Czo Send a message via Skype™ to Czo
I have made a small package, which adds the corresponding iPhone, iPhone 3G, and iPod Touch 1st gen icons to the system. It adds only these icons, whithout the need of changing the default Mac icon from the Cinema Display.

Tested with Mac OS X 10.5.6 on intel based iMac and PowerMac G4.

http://czo.hu/index.php?page=stuff&spage=iphoneicons

http://homokozo.czo.hu/iphoneicons/iphoneicons.png
Czo is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch > iPod touch Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Changing SD Card Icon in ML moonchilddave OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jun 26, 2014 08:22 AM
Help with Changing icon on USB harleymhs Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 29, 2013 06:39 PM
Resolved: Changing Chrome's Icon I Cant Remember Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Jul 28, 2012 05:41 PM
Changing intelliscreenx NC icon Che Castro Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jul 6, 2012 03:47 PM
Why is my login icon changing itself. MaxBurn Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Jun 7, 2012 11:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC