Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2008, 02:26 AM   #1
nomar383
macrumors 65816
 
nomar383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rexburg, ID
Send a message via AIM to nomar383
G4 Power Mac Graphics Card Upgrade? Possible??

I'm looking on cragslist right now for an older powermac to use as a media hub and I think I found one. It appears to be an AGP G4 PowerMac (500Mhz-ish). I have a 256MB graphics card I was using with my PC, I was wondering if I could plop it in and it would work? I know it's probably a pipe dream, but it doesn't hurt to ask
__________________
iPhone Apps:
LDS Message of the Day, RoadRage, and more...
iPad Apps:
SABCommand (SABnzbd+ Front-End)
nomar383 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2008, 03:43 AM   #2
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
No, it won't work. You need a video card specifically made for Macs.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2008, 07:51 AM   #3
chakosticks
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I have a 128MB ATI Radeon 9200 AGP in my (formerly 500MHz, currently 1.4GHz) G4. It's a PC card that was flashed with Mac rom, I bought it that way so I'm not sure how it works. ATI only made the 9200 as a PCI version for Mac, to use AGP I needed the PC version. Works great powering two displays.
chakosticks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2008, 11:56 AM   #4
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chakosticks View Post
I have a 128MB ATI Radeon 9200 AGP in my (formerly 500MHz, currently 1.4GHz) G4. It's a PC card that was flashed with Mac rom, I bought it that way so I'm not sure how it works. ATI only made the 9200 as a PCI version for Mac, to use AGP I needed the PC version. Works great powering two displays.
Hey, no kidding! I totally thought that the drivers for AGP/PCI would be different somehow, so putting an AGP card in a mac that had only ever been PCI in the mac wouldn't work, and visa versa. That's really interesting to know. Hmm.

Edit: Oh. On second thought, it could be because the Radeon 9000 for the mac was an AGP card, identical to the 9200 in every respect, save a new name. I wonder if that's why it worked. What do you think?

By the way, it depends on what card you have. Some PC cards simply don't have Mac-equivalent drivers, but many do, and if so, you can flash it on the PC side and then put it in your Mac no problem =)
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2008, 12:27 AM   #5
nomar383
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
nomar383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rexburg, ID
Send a message via AIM to nomar383
Can anyone point me in the direction of more information on flashing the ROM. BTW it's an ATI Radeon X1050 and I think it is AGP.
__________________
iPhone Apps:
LDS Message of the Day, RoadRage, and more...
iPad Apps:
SABCommand (SABnzbd+ Front-End)
nomar383 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2008, 08:18 AM   #6
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomar383 View Post
Can anyone point me in the direction of more information on flashing the ROM. BTW it's an ATI Radeon X1050 and I think it is AGP.
I don't know if that specific card will work but here you can check out Mac Elite. There are numerous factors that will determine if it will work beyond the basic GPU model there is the type of memory the manufacturer used, the size of the ROM chip and other minor components used.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.

Last edited by velocityg4; Mar 29, 2008 at 08:19 AM. Reason: other thoughts
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2008, 07:32 PM   #7
nomar383
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
nomar383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rexburg, ID
Send a message via AIM to nomar383
Well this has been enlightening, but I checked and it appears I am SOL, thanks anyways though guys
__________________
iPhone Apps:
LDS Message of the Day, RoadRage, and more...
iPad Apps:
SABCommand (SABnzbd+ Front-End)
nomar383 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2008, 07:45 PM   #8
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
You're not SOL, because you don't have to buy the X1050 (never even heard of that... it sounds more like an integrated graphics card than a Radeon; I thought they started at X1300).

You can flash something like a Radeon 9600 Pro, 256 MB if you wish. It's a decent card, and a lot faster than what you've got in there right now. They're cheap, too.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 1,1 (2006) graphics card upgrade prattio Buying Tips and Advice 21 Jul 10, 2014 01:39 AM
What is the most lucrative graphics card upgrade for a Power Mac G4? LOLZpersonok PowerPC Macs 7 Jan 23, 2014 04:21 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 graphics card upgrade olsend81 Mac Pro 3 Dec 30, 2013 01:59 PM
Mac Pro 2006 Graphics Card upgrade help PLEASE!!! Adam.Lewin Mac Pro 6 Dec 30, 2013 11:31 AM
Power Mac G4 - Best Graphics Card? user1690 PowerPC Macs 15 Feb 18, 2013 06:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC