Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2008, 03:42 PM   #1
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
Burning data > Copying data off cd, not enough privileges

I'm working on a lab that when someone burns a cd from their user profile (stored on the server) and someone tries to copy the data off of it, it says they don't have privileges to do so.

How can I fix this? I'm thinking it has something to do with Hybrid CD burning (HFS+/ISO 9660) and the permissions of the folder itself - like the cd burns the permissions along with the files.

Is there a way to fix this or am I stuck?
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 04:51 PM   #2
dops7107
macrumors 6502a
 
dops7107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Oztrailya
Something kind of similar happened to me yesterday with a USB thumb drive. I found if I copied folders, I had no permission. But if I copied the files within these folders, it worked. I also lost info about which app to open the files with - they reverted to the default (e.g. Preview for pdfs, rather than Acrobat). So try copying a few stand-alone files, see if that helps.
dops7107 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 10:30 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by slooksterPSV View Post
I'm working on a lab that when someone burns a cd from their user profile (stored on the server) and someone tries to copy the data off of it, it says they don't have privileges to do so.

How can I fix this? I'm thinking it has something to do with Hybrid CD burning (HFS+/ISO 9660) and the permissions of the folder itself - like the cd burns the permissions along with the files.

Is there a way to fix this or am I stuck?
What does "Get Info" tell you. Permissions are shown near the bottom of the info panel. Worst case is you will have to "su" (or "sudo") to root to read the files
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 01:42 AM   #4
slooksterPSV
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
Well, the issue is I don't want the students having root access or admin access, for the simplicity of security. Well, it does this even if its a FAT12, FAT16 or FAT32 volume, users can't copy images to their homefolders. FAT12, 16, and 32, AFAIK, don't carry over permissions. And besides, some of the folders are just barely created so their are no permissions set, nor permission files set for these drives (SD Cards, CF Cards, Jump Drives, etc.)

Very very confusing... hmmmm... I've never had an issue with this, it could be something specific to the users because the users have different GUIDs from the 10.5 that we HAD setup. I wonder if its a user GUID issue.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The item cannot be copied because there is not enough free space willpower101 MacBook Pro 12 Dec 14, 2013 07:04 AM
200MB data plan -- not enough for a new mom at home? ericg301 iPhone 58 Oct 29, 2010 05:55 PM
This item "--" cannot be copied because there is not enough free space. Hardrive saxman351960 Mac Basics and Help 5 Oct 3, 2009 02:15 PM
"This item [-] cannot be copied because there is not enough free space" Help! Joelis Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 9, 2007 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC