Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2008, 04:20 PM   #1
$aRaH
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
trying to use a maxtor one touch III with my mac book pro

Soooo...i bought a Maxtor One Touch III on newegg.com and it says that it is for windows..i was wondering if there was a way i can format it for my macbook pro and if so how do i go about doing it?

Thank You
Sarah
$aRaH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 04:34 PM   #2
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
That's a hard drive, right? Not a flash drive? You should be able to format it no problem... in fact it should have given you a choice when you plugged it in. I'm assuming you have tried and that's what it said, not that you looked on the box. If you haven't tried it, do so.

If it's formatted for Windows and you can't get it to format, you can always install software to let your write to NTFS drives (by default, you can only read them).
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 05:00 PM   #3
jb60606
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
You should be able to format it without a problem, but I believe the OneTouch feature doesn't work on Leopard.
jb60606 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 06:27 PM   #4
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Just use Disk Utility to reformat it to HSF+.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 09:33 PM   #5
krye
macrumors 68000
 
krye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Just use Disk Utility to reformat it to HSF+.
...and let Time Machine do the rest! That's if that's what you're using it for.
krye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2008, 04:29 PM   #6
$aRaH
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
ok...i tried reformatting it through disk utility...however I cant find anything that says HSF+...could you possibly give me direction with what to do once i've located it with disk utility...
$aRaH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2008, 04:44 PM   #7
smartalic34
macrumors 6502a
 
smartalic34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
to make the disk HFS+, do the following:

1) open Disk Utility
2) select your drive in the left column
3) click on the Erase tab in the middle of the window
4) for volume format, select Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
5) select Erase

voila!
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" (Early 2011), 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD
iPhone 5 White, iPod Mini Green
smartalic34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Eschalon Book III will release Feb 14 Solomani Mac and PC Games 1 Feb 10, 2014 07:25 AM
Can I link my mac pro and mac book pro to use simultaneously marksolo Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 31, 2013 02:35 PM
Can you get sata III on a 2006 mac pro? cen7779 Mac Pro 2 Oct 3, 2012 06:15 PM
MacBook Pro Retina v Mac Book Pro 2011 Start Up Speed ramykhuffash MacBook Pro 10 Jun 20, 2012 10:40 AM
Upgrading Mac Pro 2007 to SATA III 6Gbps freespeed Mac Pro 2 Jun 11, 2012 01:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC