Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2008, 02:54 PM   #1
kwood
macrumors 6502a
 
kwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the Great White North.
10.4 Server on computer shipping with retail 10.5

Hey All,

Does anyone know if I can install Mac OS X 10.4.7 server on a new computer that ships with 10.5.2? I searched google and these forums but could not find a definitive answer. I have been asked to help a former high school teacher install 10.4 server on a Mac Pro and set up roaming accounts for the students to use on the classroom iMacs. I am fairly confident I can do this but I want to be able to test it at home before I commit to the job. If I can run it through personally a few times, I'll be able to set it up for the teacher.

I will be buying a new Mac mini when/if they are ever released. My goal is to install it on the Mac mini and create a remote login and log in using my MacBook. I know how to do all of that in theory (I have read up on how to do it) but I have never done it before. I just need to know that if I do an erase and install on a computer running 10.5 that the drivers will be included on the 10.4.7 server discs.

Here is what I have:
Mac OS X 10.4.7 Server (Universal)
2.0GHz C2D MacBook (with 950GMA)
Will have Mac mini with unknown specs

The classroom has:
1 Mac Pro with 10.4.7 server installed
20 or so White Intel iMacs all running 10.4.11

The specifications for the Mac mini are rumored to have the Intel x3100 GMA, this is the only thing I can for see causing a conflict. If anyone has installed 10.4 server on a MacBook with the x3100 successfully, then this answers my question. I know it will work for the classroom computers, I'm just not sure if I'll be able to test at home. If anyone has an answer for this I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks a lot,

kwood.
__________________
Wait! Come back, he didn't mean it, he's a musician!
kwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2008, 03:45 PM   #2
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
No!

If I remember right, you can't install any earlier OS than the one it shipped with.

What's wrong with using Leopard server?
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2008, 04:29 PM   #3
kwood
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the Great White North.
Quote:
Originally Posted by appleretailguy View Post
If I remember right, you can't install any earlier OS than the one it shipped with.

What's wrong with using Leopard server?
The school doesn't have Leopard server, they bought Tiger Server in September of 06'. Some local computer consultant sold it to them saying someone would come and set it all up for them. the person they sent out didn't know anything about Macs (or computers in general from what the teacher told me) and couldn't figure it out.

I'll just have to take one of their iMacs and use that to test with. Thanks for the response.

EDIT: Better Yet, I'll install server on my MacBook and just use the Mac mini with the roaming account.
__________________
Wait! Come back, he didn't mean it, he's a musician!

Last edited by kwood; Apr 3, 2008 at 05:04 PM.
kwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2008, 09:51 PM   #4
stukdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
I wasn't able to install Tiger Server on a new Leopard machine.

I ended up buying a refurb from Apple. They are still able to run Tiger (and come with a Leopard upgrade DVD)
__________________
Macminicolo.net - Your Mac mini in a data center. The perfect low-cost server.
stukdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2008, 10:16 PM   #5
kwood
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the Great White North.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stukdog View Post
I wasn't able to install Tiger Server on a new Leopard machine.

I ended up buying a refurb from Apple. They are still able to run Tiger (and come with a Leopard upgrade DVD)
Ok that answers my question definitively. I'll need to find a computer running 10.4 out of box, or just erase my MacBook (as it is currently running 10.5 but shipped with 10.4).
__________________
Wait! Come back, he didn't mean it, he's a musician!
kwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 11:02 AM   #6
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
If you erase the hard drive of the Mac Mini or any other computer you are installing on, you should be able to install Tiger server on that particular computer.

jon
iJon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 11:41 AM   #7
Shadow
macrumors 68000
 
Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keele, United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to Shadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by iJon View Post
If you erase the hard drive of the Mac Mini or any other computer you are installing on, you should be able to install Tiger server on that particular computer.

jon
I dont think Tiger has drivers for the X1300, so it wouldnt work. However, you could try taking the driver out of Leopard and shove it in a 10.4 install. It might work, but probably wouldnt be stable. I'd buy a refurb.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.66GHz C2D 8GB 128GB SSD 9600m
iPhone 4 16GB
Shadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 12:31 PM   #8
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
I dont think Tiger has drivers for the X1300, so it wouldnt work. However, you could try taking the driver out of Leopard and shove it in a 10.4 install. It might work, but probably wouldnt be stable. I'd buy a refurb.
True, but that is if he is waiting to get the new Mac Mini. Since this will probably be a problem he might want to consider getting the current Mac Mini or get one discounted when new models come out.

jon
iJon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 10:38 AM   #9
kwood
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the Great White North.
Thanks for the replies everyone but I have actually come up with a compromise. The teacher is going to give me the 2.66GHz Mac Pro and a 20" cinema display to play with. So I will not need to install it on my Mac mini once I get it. I just wanted to install server on the Mac mini to test the set-up at home before I actually do it for the teacher.

Ultimately the Mac mini will act as my home entertainment unit hooked up to my TV. I want the newest one when it comes out so compromising by getting an older model is not something I am willing to do. I guess I'll just have to suffer with a Mac Pro...shucks...
__________________
Wait! Come back, he didn't mean it, he's a musician!
kwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 02:40 PM   #10
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
You can try to get it installed on another (Intel-based) Mac, upgrade it to Mac OS X Server 10.4.11, and then cloning that drive to your target Mac.
The GMA 3100 is not supported by Tiger (and thus Tiger Server), so any 3D accelerated features and sleep will not work..... but that really is not an issue with a server.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 04:37 PM   #11
JasonElise1983
macrumors 6502a
 
JasonElise1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Between a rock and a midget
nevermind...i should've read your post better. I'm dumb
JasonElise1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up mini as server or computer Rudolf12 Mac mini 7 Apr 29, 2014 03:32 PM
Apple Retail Stores Experiencing Computer Downtime, Personal Pickup Affected MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 73 Nov 17, 2013 02:10 PM
How to protect myself when shipping a sold computer tl01 MacBook 1 Nov 27, 2012 02:45 PM
How soon do new computer models (like 13" rMBP) come in stock at retail? dvm258 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Oct 20, 2012 06:42 PM
Can I administer a 10.5 server from a 10.7 computer? Projekt Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jun 23, 2012 11:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC