Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2003, 02:21 PM   #1
thunderclap
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
Dvd-r

I just flashed the DVD drive in my G5 to make it region free. After researching I found out that to do this I needed to use my PC. So I moved the drive over and flashed it. I did receive one error message: something to the effect of "Error: original kernel still open!" I wasn't sure exactly what this meant or how to fix it so i put the drive back in my Mac. Now I can't open the drive.

"Why did you do that?" some of you may be asking. I buy a lot of DVD's that never have distribution here. To do this I needed a region free drive. I.E. flashing. I.E. I may have screwed up.

Anyhow, if anyone has a suggestion as to what is wrong please respond. It'd be greatly appreciated.
thunderclap is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 02:54 PM   #2
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
you might have screwed up the firmware. does system profiler reconize it. also hold down your mouse during start up and see if you drive opens. if nothing opens it i would suggest putting it back in your pc and reflashing it. until then i would recommend doing a little bit more research before you do it, flashing stuff is usally a one time thing and you dont want to screw it up.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 03:05 PM   #3
thunderclap
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
I've never had an issue with flashing stuff in my PC before so I figured Mac would be no different. Anyhow, it's back in my PC and I think the issue is that the kernel is still open. I don't know how to close it though. Arg! Things shouldn't be this complicated.
thunderclap is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 03:07 PM   #4
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
well this really doesnt have anything to do with the mac. apple doesnt make the dvd drive. the fact is is that it messed up and now it wont work anymore. does the drive work in your pc just fine?

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 03:26 PM   #5
thunderclap
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
Nope. Not yet. Again I think it has to do with the kernel being open. And the Apple comment wasn't meant to be slamming them or anything, just a note that they make it complicated to do firmware patching (or so I've read) thus forcing a user to move the drive to a PC. That's all I meant.
thunderclap is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 03:28 PM   #6
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Apple doesn't make it difficult, its just that the firmware updaters are usually only released for PC, so the flashing programs weren't made to run on the Mac.
crazzyeddie is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 03:32 PM   #7
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by mbuhmann
Nope. Not yet. Again I think it has to do with the kernel being open. And the Apple comment wasn't meant to be slamming them or anything, just a note that they make it complicated to do firmware patching (or so I've read) thus forcing a user to move the drive to a PC. That's all I meant.
wow, thats quite funny. firmware patching is easy on mac, just double click and let it do its thing. what you are doing is illegal and usually can be complicated if you dont know what you are doing, obviously that is your case. of course apple isnt going to let you set your computer to regoin free, are you crazy, its illegal (not that i care, just stating the facts.) and apple would get their asses handed to them.

iJon

Last edited by iJon; Nov 8, 2003 at 04:39 PM.
iJon is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 04:27 PM   #8
thunderclap
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
I fixed the problem if anyone is curious. Apparently Pioneer has a forced fallback firmware driver that installed and fixed the issue I was having. I managed to do the update at that point.
thunderclap is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2003, 04:41 PM   #9
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
well thats good, at least the drive didnt get rendered useless.

iJon
iJon is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burned DVD won't play in DVD player, but will on Mac? nobodyhome Digital Video 21 Jun 13, 2014 03:54 PM
iDVD fails and burnt DVD using Disk Utility doesn't work on DVD player rockizza08 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 May 21, 2013 08:15 PM
How do I burn two DVD files/videos to one DVD disc, on a MacBook Pro? rossikool Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 May 16, 2013 01:12 PM
Video DVD's burned on my MBP won't be played by DVD-players ConscienceNL MacBook Pro 0 Aug 18, 2012 07:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC