Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2008, 06:42 PM   #1
martinmartin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
iPhone in China

I'm leaving for China tomorrow and want to use my phone as a 'watch' and alarm clock.

I am planning on turning Data Roaming off so I don't get data roaming charges.

Do I also have to put the phone in Airplane Mode? If I don't will it ring every time someone in the states calls me? Will I be charged?

Cheers.
martinmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2008, 06:58 PM   #2
fedup flyer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinmartin View Post
I'm leaving for China tomorrow and want to use my phone as a 'watch' and alarm clock.

I am planning on turning Data Roaming off so I don't get data roaming charges.

Do I also have to put the phone in Airplane Mode? If I don't will it ring every time someone in the states calls me? Will I be charged?

Cheers.
You can add the int'l roaming for $25 for 20 mb. You don't need to put it in airplane mode. Just don't answer the calls. So far when I decline the calls, I have not been charged for it. Not sure about visual voice mail yet though. Depending on where you are in China, the phone time may not reset with the local sim towers. My phone resets perfectly in Shanghai but not in Shenzen. If you dont want the phone to ring at all, just leave it in airplane mode but that seems like kinda of a waste to use your phone as an expensive clock.
fedup flyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2008, 07:18 PM   #3
mstnggt66
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I've traveled internationally with my iphone to Europe and China. Turning off the data roaming definitely works and stops all data flow. I would just turn the roaming off and forget the data plan. Not sure if you can remove the data plan once you add it.

You won't get charged for phone calls until you make or receive a call. Be careful though, if someone calls you and leaves a voicemail. You get charged airtime for the ringing and the length of the message.
mstnggt66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2008, 10:06 PM   #4
martinmartin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Thanks for the advice.

it's too bad you can't use wi-fi in airplane mode. that way you could still browse the web/check email, but the edge and cell functions would be disabled.

essentially i want my phone to become an ipod touch while in china...
martinmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 02:30 AM   #5
PowerFullMac
macrumors 68040
 
PowerFullMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstnggt66 View Post
I've traveled internationally with my iphone to Europe and China. Turning off the data roaming definitely works and stops all data flow. I would just turn the roaming off and forget the data plan. Not sure if you can remove the data plan once you add it.

You won't get charged for phone calls until you make or receive a call. Be careful though, if someone calls you and leaves a voicemail. You get charged airtime for the ringing and the length of the message.
Hang on, so he will get charged if someone leaves him a voice message! Thats rediculous!

Phone comanies will go to any length to get your cash these days, wont they...

To the OP: Get a cheap Chinese knock-off phone for temparary use. In fact, any crappy cheap Chese phone will do, just put a local SIM in and get chanrged local rates then when you come back play some phone football
PowerFullMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 03:23 AM   #6
fedup flyer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerFullMac View Post
To the OP: Get a cheap Chinese knock-off phone for temparary use. In fact, any crappy cheap Chese phone will do, just put a local SIM in and get chanrged local rates then when you come back play some phone football
Cheap Chinese knockoff phones aren't as cheap as you think...actually they are quite expensive. Trust me...I know.
fedup flyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 03:56 AM   #7
zainjetha
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Why not just JB & Unlock, use a chinese sim
return to USA, virginize and reactivate

simple enough
zainjetha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 11:43 PM   #8
mstnggt66
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Good luck finding someone that speaks English well enough to sell you a SIM card. I know, I'm in China right now.

Yes, if someone calls and leaves you a VM, you get charged airtime. The good news is it requires a lot of work by the caller to leave a VM. When you call a AT&T subscriber who has their phone turned on overseas, it makes you enter the phone number again to access the VM box. And these days, who remembers phone numbers?

That said, I was really happy to see the roaming data switch works as advertised.
mstnggt66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 02:18 AM   #9
fedup flyer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstnggt66 View Post
When you call a AT&T subscriber who has their phone turned on overseas, it makes you enter the phone number again to access the VM box.
You must have something wrong with your voice mail. I have had several people call and they never metioned such. I have even occasionally called my phone from Skype to find it in the hotel room and it has never asked for my # for the voice mail box.
fedup flyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 07:29 AM   #10
martinmartin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I didn't really think this one through...

I should have just brought my extra BlackBerry from home (which can be unlocked) and put in a local SIM.

My company has people that could arrange for the local SIM...

I'm a little hesitant to unlock the iPhone - I don't really know how to do it or how safe (reversible) it is...
martinmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 07:57 AM   #11
PowerFullMac
macrumors 68040
 
PowerFullMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Its very easy and it is easily reversable (its called verginization or something like that) and its safe too, no one has perminatly damaged their iPhones by jailbreaking/unlocking.
PowerFullMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 05:24 PM   #12
martinmartin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
i read a thread about the pwnage tool. it didnt seem that straightforward - it seems you have to go to different sites and download different firmwares or basebands or something...

people are also reporting strange issues after using it.

i just want to unlock so i can use a chinese sim...but i dont want to mess anything up in the meantime.
martinmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 12:47 AM   #13
martinmartin
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Unlocked using the pwnage tool this morning and am now using a local chinese SIM card.

So far so good.
martinmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exchange locked iPhone at Apple Store for factory unlocked iPhone in China for free dannysiu iPhone 7 Oct 19, 2010 10:17 PM
A fake iPhone calls another fake iPhone is a fake iPhone in China msazone Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 0 Aug 13, 2010 01:31 PM
iPhones in China? Troyte83 iPhone 2 Apr 18, 2007 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC