Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Original poster
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
This is probably the wrong forum but the people who read this one are the ones who are most likely to know the answer to this question.

I'm doing a little maths report for my own enjoyment and would like to include a few graphs. Now I have read some tutorials for including graphs using LaTeX but they seem to just be including an EPS file. Are there any pieces of software that you could recommend that can produce nice looking graphs that can save in EPS format so that I can include them in maths report?

Kendall015

macrumors regular
Sep 12, 2006
I don't have a specific answer to your question, but I personally have found LaTeX to be more trouble than it's worth. As a student, I usually have strict requirements in terms of formatting, and it has been a pain to make LaTeX documents that follow these requirements. If you're writing a thesis then it may make sense to use LaTeX, or if you include a lot of mathematical equations, but for use as an alternative for writing papers I don't think it's worth the trouble, especially with so many quality WYSIWYG alternatives like Pages, Word '08 (which is actually much improved), Mellel, and NeoOffice (which is decent).

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
I know Graphviz outputs to Postscript, but the output from the LaTex packages (like tkz-berge.sty) look better, in my opinion.

What LaTex graph package are you using now? In my thesis, I used LaTeX to draw the (complicated, 3D) commutative diagrams from homological algebra. That was 11 years ago. Apart from some trial and error it wasn't too difficult IIRC, and the situation has almost surely improved immeasurably since then.

If you haven't done so already, check out the LaTeX Graphics Companion.

Berlepsch

macrumors 6502
Oct 22, 2007
Crom,