Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 5, 2008, 03:24 PM   #1
cheapa55
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
HELP!!! Trying to sync ipod touch from one computer to another

I just purchased a 16gb ipod touch. I am trying to add photos, videos and music to it and then give it to my father as a present.

Synching went fine at home, but now I'm at work and I want to add some more stuff but it says it will delete all the existing files and folders.

Is there a way to sync on different computers and just add more files from a different computer? because once I give it to him filled with files, it seems like he won't be able to add his own without deleting the ones I put in.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 04:19 PM   #2
merl1n
macrumors 65816
 
merl1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapa55 View Post
I just purchased a 16gb ipod touch. I am trying to add photos, videos and music to it and then give it to my father as a present.

Synching went fine at home, but now I'm at work and I want to add some more stuff but it says it will delete all the existing files and folders.

Is there a way to sync on different computers and just add more files from a different computer? because once I give it to him filled with files, it seems like he won't be able to add his own without deleting the ones I put in.
The problem is that there is only one way syncing, Computer -> ipod touch. Unless you use some 3rd party application that will enable you to extract all of the files from you ipod to your computer (outside of iTunes), you're out of luck.

What I can suggest is that you copy your iTunes folder (all of it) to a large capacity flash drive (or portable disk drive), bring it to work and copy that to your work computer, in essence making the two computers synchronized. Then add the additional files you want to your work itunes library and sync it to the ipod. Now copy back the new itunes folder (updated library) to the external storage device you brought in.

You then take that device to your father's computer and do the same, but delete what you don't want him to have.

It's sounds cumbersome, but it's a workaround and fairly easy.
__________________
Merl1n
MBP 15" 2.33GHZ, MacMini 2.0GHZ, PBG4 15" 1.67GHZ, PBG4 12" 1.5GHZ, iPodTouch 32GB
merl1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 04:38 PM   #3
TechnoPagan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
What about turning off auto-syncing and manually managing the music?
TechnoPagan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 05:07 PM   #4
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
wow, this is another big negative about the touch. I guess most people won't have a problem like this since you'd just sync with the same computer.

My problem is my computer at home is iMac, my Dad lives out of the country and has a PC. Sucks!!!

any other options or alternatives?
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 05:07 PM   #5
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnoPagan View Post
What about turning off auto-syncing and manually managing the music?
oh yes, that does the same thing. it says it will replace all the items on the touch with the new files on the new pc.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 05:18 PM   #6
TechnoPagan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
You need to turn off autosync using the original computer--in this case, your home computer--before you can manually manage on any other computer.

I'm just not sure about any songs that have been bought through iTunes. Those might be deleted/unplayable on a computer without the same iTunes account.
TechnoPagan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 05:24 PM   #7
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnoPagan View Post
You need to turn off autosync using the original computer--in this case, your home computer--before you can manually manage on any other computer.

I'm just not sure about any songs that have been bought through iTunes. Those might be deleted/unplayable on a computer without the same iTunes account.
thank for the response,

I am pretty sure I had autosync off at the home computer. I'll take my tablet pc home and see if I can play with the settings to change things.

itunes music is not an issue since I'll let him add his own music. I just wanted to give it to him with family pictures and scanned old pics and some movies for him to watch.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 06:14 PM   #8
TechnoPagan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
My iPod Touch can connect with my three home computers--all Macs, all on the same iTunes account, but each with different music and movie libraries. None of my iPods (except the shuffles) are auto-synched for exactly this reason.

I can't add more pictures from different computers (I don't think), but I can add and delete the movies and music. My sister added some songs from her library onto it, and those play fine when I listen to the iPod directly or have it connected to my car stereo (not when i have it connected to my iTunes since her account isn't enabled on my computer and the songs are from her iTunes account not a regular CD).

She hooks up her iPods to my computers all the time to borrow some music. And I've moved movies from my iTunes onto a friend's iPod Touch. You should be ok with your Dad's.
TechnoPagan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 06:55 PM   #9
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I still can't get it to work. This is what I get
Link to picture

Last edited by cheapa55; Apr 5, 2008 at 07:03 PM.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 11:13 AM   #10
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Dumb Questions:

Does anyone know how the ipod touch or the computer recognizes the other? How does it know it's a different computer? (i.e. computer name? ip address? or just the info stored in the computer?)

maybe there's a way to trick the ipod touch or itunes to think it's still using the same machine?
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2008, 07:42 PM   #11
TechnoPagan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Bizarre.

You might have to start from scratch--go back to the first computer, allow the "erase and synch," make sure all syncing is set to manual instead of auto, and reload the content. A bit of a pain, I fear.

Good luck.

I have no clue how each computer knows which iPods "belong" to them. I stand by the tried but true "a wizard did it" explanation.
TechnoPagan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 12:38 AM   #12
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
You mean, when they ask "erase and sync" just ok it and it should work? The pop ups always say the ipod touch can only be sync'd with one itunes.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 12:40 AM   #13
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
You are right!!! Thank you!

I started from scratch. Added pictures from the "home" pc. Went to my mac and added a movie and it asked me to erase and sync, I clicked ok. Now I have both the pics from my home pc and the movie from my mac. I didn't try music but that doesn't matter since I won't be adding music for my father.

thanks for all your help!!!
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2008, 12:53 AM   #14
TechnoPagan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
You are quite welcome. So glad things worked out.
TechnoPagan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2008, 04:20 PM   #15
caffertyk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thumbs down Cautionary Tale

Same irritating problem -- only the library I used to sync with was on a computer whose hard drive died, so the copies of all the files were only on my iPod. To add any more videos, pictures, etc, I couldn't go back to the "master" computer because it doesn't exist.

So... foolishly, I said "OK to erase and sync" to add some videos, then the computer sucked all my music off the iPod as well and I've lost it all!

Bring back the old system where you could designate your iPod as a hard drive and use third-party software to get around this!!

I guess I should have guessed this might happen, but was only thinking I was directing the video component of the sync. :-(
caffertyk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 02:20 AM   #16
big-blue-wolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 15.8 miles from Molineux
Its been a well publicised and well complained about fact that ever since the touch was released it's been unable to be used as a hard drive.

To the original poster - wouldn't it have been easier to burn the pictures and movies to a DVD and set up your Dad's iTunes library from scratch on his PC rather than messing around as you did? After all, your Dad is going to have to sync the touch with his PC at some point to get new music on it and well may lose all you have put on.


Senuti (for Mac) is now compatible with the touch and iPhone so you can know get your music off if you have a problem with your computer. Sorry I can't post a link as I'm posting from my touch.
big-blue-wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2009, 09:42 PM   #17
cheapa55
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by big-blue-wolf View Post
Its been a well publicised and well complained about fact that ever since the touch was released it's been unable to be used as a hard drive.

To the original poster - wouldn't it have been easier to burn the pictures and movies to a DVD and set up your Dad's iTunes library from scratch on his PC rather than messing around as you did? After all, your Dad is going to have to sync the touch with his PC at some point to get new music on it and well may lose all you have put on.


Senuti (for Mac) is now compatible with the touch and iPhone so you can know get your music off if you have a problem with your computer. Sorry I can't post a link as I'm posting from my touch.
Thanks for the info. After my Dad having the touch for several months, he's back in the US and now I want to update the jailbreak. I did make a back up copy of all the files I put in there for him, but he never used the Touch. Sad, I know.
cheapa55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer got wiped, how do I sync my iPod now? Haruhi iPhone 8 Oct 6, 2013 09:40 AM
iPod Touch 4G won't sync at all windbrand iPod touch 0 Apr 12, 2013 06:34 PM
Sync from computer to Ipod Classic & Iphone 5. Dal123 iPod 0 Mar 11, 2013 08:13 AM
Ipod touch wont sync Embarkment 8 iPod touch 0 Feb 10, 2013 03:04 AM
Can not sync ipod touch to itunes Rad-o iPod touch 2 Oct 8, 2012 11:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC