Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 8, 2008, 01:44 PM   #1
cpcarrot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Help! Stuck at "Select CD-Rom Boot Type"

Right I have set up a windows partition on 3rd Hard Drive of my Mac Pro (400GB) with Boot camp assistant. Inserted my Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit disc and restarted. It boots from the CD OK (can hold down option and select the bootable volume fine) but the first thing that comes up is:

"1.

2.

Select CD-Rom Boot Type:_"

And pressing keys does absolutely nothing. It's looking like it is not recognizing my keyboard at this stage as pressing caps lock on and off does not illuminate the corresponding light.... Any suggestions? It's a USB keyboard plugged straight into the Mac so I have no clue what the problem is...

System spec:

Mac Pro 4x2.66 (bought September 2007)
9GB Ram
4 x 500GB Hard Drives
ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT Graphics (Upgraded) as main graphics card
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT in slot 4 (Original graphics card)

Running latest version of Leopard

Oh and using a USB keyboard plugged directly into Mac.
cpcarrot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2008, 04:15 AM   #2
cpcarrot
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I'm still stuck at this point! An update though:

I tried sticking in my Windows XP install disc and it seems to work fine (I can't actually install windows using it though because its the one from my Dell and I only have the OEM product key). It never shows up the:

"1.

2.

Select CD-Rom Boot Type:_"

Message and just goes straight to the windows installer. Once it is done initializing keyboard works fine. I'm guessing that the problem with the vista disc would probably be solved by simply getting past this screen and getting to the windows installer. But as it is not recognising the keyboard at this stage I have no way of progressing...

Anyone got any ideas?
cpcarrot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2008, 04:04 PM   #3
Iakov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Smile Windows Server 2008 Enterprise x64

Same problem when I tried to install Windows Server 2008 Enterprise x64 on my new and gorgeous iMac. Many people have successfully installed Vista x64 on Intel Mac.

Read these or search '64-bit' on this forum - http://discussions.apple.com/thread....58196&#6458196


Also - http://jowie.com/post/2008/02/Select...-iso-file.aspx

Last edited by Iakov; Apr 12, 2008 at 04:19 PM.
Iakov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2008, 04:37 AM   #4
cpcarrot
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks! This link:

http://jowie.com/post/2008/02/Select...-iso-file.aspx

Basically solved it for me.... Had to burn a new windows install disc but it now works. Got pretty much everything running now (video drivers, audio drivers and the like). Yey!
cpcarrot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2008, 11:37 AM   #5
Ant1-Hero
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal
this guide still confuses me, and im no noob to computers

can someone break it down a little clearer for me
__________________
MacBook Pro SR 2.2/120gig/4gb/10.5.5 - <Soon> Macbook Pro Unibody 2.53/4GB/320(7200) - ibook G4 12" 1.2 - 16gb iPhone 3G Black - AEBSn
Ant1-Hero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2008, 02:53 PM   #6
Iakov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant1-Hero View Post
this guide still confuses me, and im no noob to computers

can someone break it down a little clearer for me

You're not the only one. This was the second time in my 13 years in IT to create a bootable NT-technology CD, and so I needed to brush up on that. The fact that most discussions about this topic dwell on .iso this, and .iso that, had me confused for a while because I didn't know what .iso had to do with anything. My solution is posted here:

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/Sho...PostID=2731677

I am the last entry on the page at the moment.
Iakov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2008, 03:15 AM   #7
cpcarrot
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
It's definitely not the most straightforward thing in the world but quite doable once you know where the problem lies. I was attacking it from completely the wrong direction as I thought that message was supposed to come up and it was just that my keyboard wasn't responding! How wrong was I!

OK step by step solution (note I did this on a windows PC using imgburn but you should be able to use the same methodology using alternative software)

1. Insert Windows Install disc into DVD drive
2. Using the build mode of imburn, go to the advanced tab, then bootable disc and then select your DVD drive in the extract boot image drop down list. Go ahead and extract the boot image and store it somewhere on your hard drive
3. Go to the information tab and add your DVD drive as the source file
4. Options tab, check that file system is ISO9660 + IDF and UDF revision is 1.02 (should be anyway by default)
5. Go to Advanced tab, sub tab Restrictions and further sub tab ISO9660: Set Folder / File length to Level X and tick the four check boxes at the bottom (allow more than 8 directory levels, Allow more than 255 characters in path, Allow files without Extensions, Don’t Add ‘;1’ Version number to Files. (Note it’s this bit that actually solves the problem the rest is effectively just duplicating the existing disc)
6. Move to the bootable disc tab: Click the tick box to make the image bootable, emulation type to “none (custom)” and the browse and select the boot image you previously extracted from the windows disc. Finally set Sectors to load to 4.
7. Click the big create iso button to create the bootable iso.
8. And use that iso to burn a new install disc.

And this disc works!
cpcarrot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2008, 06:14 PM   #8
hajime
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcarrot View Post
1. Insert Windows Install disc into DVD drive
2. Using the build mode of imburn, go to the advanced tab, then bootable disc and then select your DVD drive in the extract boot image drop down list. Go ahead and extract the boot image and store it somewhere on your hard drive
3. Go to the information tab and add your DVD drive as the source file
On Step.3, do you mean "add the extracted boot image file" as the source file? I cannot add DVD drive as the source file. Besides this, I followed the steps. When I tried to install Vista Ultimate 64-bit on my MBP, I got the "Couldn't find BootMGR" error. I tried to burn the image file three times with two different programs. I got the same error. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
hajime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2008, 11:24 PM   #9
res1233
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajime View Post
On Step.3, do you mean "add the extracted boot image file" as the source file? I cannot add DVD drive as the source file. Besides this, I followed the steps. When I tried to install Vista Ultimate 64-bit on my MBP, I got the "Couldn't find BootMGR" error. I tried to burn the image file three times with two different programs. I got the same error. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Hi, first post. He meant folder lol. You need to add a folder as a source to add the disk, you cant do it by trying to add a file. The option should be one of those buttons

Last edited by res1233; Dec 8, 2008 at 11:57 PM. Reason: Clarity
res1233 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2009, 06:19 PM   #10
Luke b
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Hi, I tried making a new iso with imgburn, and then burnt it with disk utility, however now it is saying error 5, the disk is not bootable.

Any idea why?
Luke b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2009, 10:05 AM   #11
jaharr03
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Error 5, disk not bootable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke b View Post
Hi, I tried making a new iso with imgburn, and then burnt it with disk utility, however now it is saying error 5, the disk is not bootable.

Any idea why?
Hey Luke. I had the same issue as you. I was able to solve the problem by using the method posted here: http://blog.aproductofsociety.org/?p=13

Note one of the first comments on the page as well as it has a slight correction in it.

This is much simpler then the other solution posted here, and more importantly the disc was actually bootable for me. Once you do that, you can follow the instructions here if need be for getting the 64 bit drivers: http://blog.andersonshatch.com/2009/...ook-pro-guide/
jaharr03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2009, 06:19 PM   #12
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
I encountered this problem as well. Seems like it is a widespread bug with all 64-bit versions of Windows 7. This guide helped me fix the problem. Note, that it is for Windows Server 2008 but it also works for Windows 7 ISOs.
__________________
YouTube | Twitter
MacBook Air | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme 802.11ac | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2009, 04:38 PM   #13
ZodiacfreaK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Thanks so much SnowLeopard2008 you are a lifesaver! I have updated the guide slightly so it is less confusing to people. I also fixed a few typos that made his code not work. Good luck guys, this fixed my problem on my MBP.

How to make a Windows 7 64bit Mac Compatible DVD
__________________
iPhoneDevForums.com
ZodiacfreaK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2009, 10:34 AM   #14
stulaw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Is there any way to do this on my mac? I don't have access to a windows machine right now.
stulaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 07:35 PM   #15
yashrg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I'd like a mac solution too. I don't have access to a windows installation right now, so I'm debating whether to leave it be or install a compatible OS then do the steps mentioned above and reinstall.
yashrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2009, 04:50 AM   #16
beatledud
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Come on...no mac solution yet? This is driving me nuts!!!
beatledud is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2009, 04:00 PM   #17
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatledud View Post
Come on...no mac solution yet?
It might be possible to use Crossover, or use Parallels/Fusion (trials) to install Windows and either follow the ImgBurn or command line instructions, depending on if those can access the disc drive properly.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2009, 12:58 PM   #18
hardwiredmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
After reading through several posts including one where they said it couldn’t be done, here are the instructions for creating a vista64 disk that will allow you to install vista64 on your macbook.

Create a folder called exe on your c drive (i.e. c:\exe)

Download oscdimg.exe from here

Put oscdimg.exe in the c:\exe folder

Create a folder called iso on your c drive (i.e. c:\iso)

Open your msdos prompt by typing “cmd” into the search box on your start menu (or simply choose command prompt from your accessories folder)

From the command prompt, navigate into the c:\exe folder where you stored oscdimg.exe (you can do this by typing cd.. then pressing <enter>, repeat this until you get to see the c:\ prompt. The type “cd exe” and press <enter>.

Finally type the following code and press <enter>.

oscdimg -n -m -bd:\boot\etfsboot.com d:\ c:\iso\vista64dvd.iso

This assumes that your vista dvd is in the d: drive. Your iso image, namely vista64dvd.iso (which is contained in the c:\iso\ folder) is then ready to be copied to a blank dvd using a programme like imageburn.
hardwiredmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2009, 05:19 PM   #19
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
^ I did this in parallels the other day.

It does indeed work.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2009, 11:21 PM   #20
ALUOp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Just want to report that I had to do the same thing in order to install Win 7 x64.
The bug is still not fixed. Stupid M$.
ALUOp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2009, 11:25 PM   #21
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
It will never be fixed because it would require a firmware update by Apple from EFI32 to EFI64. This is highly unlikely as past practise by Apple has shown. In this case we can only blame Apple and not MS. They are using the newest standard applicable since 2007. Apple have complied from November 2008 with all new released models going to EFI64. Unfortunately the EFI32 machines will always need Jowie's tweak to load Vista and Seven 64 versions.

Here is Jowie's tweak:

With all that information in hand, I went about recreating the .iso file to burn back to disk to see if simply setting checking the option in imgburn to not use the versioning scheme worked.
First thing you will want to do is extract the boot image off of the DVD created from the .iso downloaded from the beta site, you can access this while in "Build" mode.



While that DVD you burned is still in the drive, and after you've extracted the boot image somewhere to your hard drive, click the button to browse for a folder to add the files from the DVD to the image. Just add the root of the drive, you should then have something that looks like this.



On the Options tab, ensure the file system is selected as ISO9660 + UDF, and the UDF version is set to 1.02. These settings matched what the MS .iso file were set at, and is the only reason I chose them. Other settings may work, experiment if you like, rewritable DVDs are your friends.



Now we get to the part where we configure the ISO9660 settings, on the Advanced tab, Restrictions subtab, then ISO9660 subtab, I set the Folder/File Name Length to Level X, and checked all the options toward the bottom of that pane.



We're almost done, onward to the Bootable Disk tab. Check the option to make the image bootable, select None for emulation type, browse to the boot .ima file you extracted earlier, and set the sectors to load to 4(8 if you're building a Win7 DVD!).



That should do it! Create the new .iso file and then burn it to disk.
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB

Last edited by gugucom; Sep 19, 2009 at 11:31 PM.
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 01:13 PM   #22
toenexx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gugucom View Post
It will never be fixed because it would require a firmware update by Apple from EFI32 to EFI64. This is highly unlikely as past practise by Apple has shown. In this case we can only blame Apple and not MS. They are using the newest standard applicable since 2007. Apple have complied from November 2008 with all new released models going to EFI64. Unfortunately the EFI32 machines will always need Jowie's tweak to load Vista and Seven 64 versions.

Here is Jowie's tweak:

With all that information in hand, I went about recreating the .iso file to burn back to disk to see if simply setting checking the option in imgburn to not use the versioning scheme worked.
First thing you will want to do is extract the boot image off of the DVD created from the .iso downloaded from the beta site, you can access this while in "Build" mode.



While that DVD you burned is still in the drive, and after you've extracted the boot image somewhere to your hard drive, click the button to browse for a folder to add the files from the DVD to the image. Just add the root of the drive, you should then have something that looks like this.



On the Options tab, ensure the file system is selected as ISO9660 + UDF, and the UDF version is set to 1.02. These settings matched what the MS .iso file were set at, and is the only reason I chose them. Other settings may work, experiment if you like, rewritable DVDs are your friends.



Now we get to the part where we configure the ISO9660 settings, on the Advanced tab, Restrictions subtab, then ISO9660 subtab, I set the Folder/File Name Length to Level X, and checked all the options toward the bottom of that pane.



We're almost done, onward to the Bootable Disk tab. Check the option to make the image bootable, select None for emulation type, browse to the boot .ima file you extracted earlier, and set the sectors to load to 4(8 if you're building a Win7 DVD!).



That should do it! Create the new .iso file and then burn it to disk.
I tried your method, word from word, and it doesn't work for me.

When I boot off from the new cd, I get an error that says:

"Cannot boot from CD - Code: 5"
toenexx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 03:23 PM   #23
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
It is not from me but from Jowie. many people have reported that it works for them. It works for me as well. Naturally you need a PC or EFI64 Intel Mac.
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 03:56 PM   #24
toenexx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gugucom View Post
It is not from me but from Jowie. many people have reported that it works for them. It works for me as well. Naturally you need a PC or EFI64 Intel Mac.
Mmmm, my intel mac is from june 2007... how do u check wut efi it is?
toenexx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2009, 03:58 PM   #25
toenexx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by toenexx View Post
Mmmm, my intel mac is from june 2007... how do u check wut efi it is?
Nevermind, found it.

Enter this in terminal: ioreg -l -p IODeviceTree | grep firmware-abi

Mine says EFI64....
toenexx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help! Stuck at "Select CD-Rom Boot Type" riemeeer Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 Jul 5, 2013 07:33 AM
Resolved: [Urgent Help]Stuck at "Restoring iphone software" ragavbpl iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 16 Apr 6, 2011 11:27 PM
Installing Windows 7 - Getting "Select CD-Rom Boot Type" filmfanatic24 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 14 Aug 19, 2010 05:45 PM
1.1.4 stuck at apple logo boot screen scrapen iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jul 14, 2008 04:54 PM
Help! Stuck at log-in screen - but haven't just upgraded... ?! MacBiscuit OS X 4 Feb 12, 2008 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC