Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 8, 2008, 09:10 PM   #1
DJAznSensation
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reformatting iPod for Mac?

okay so i recently had bought a new MacBook Pro (Penryn) about a week ago and a new iPod Classic (80gb) a month ago... I was wondering if I should reset the iPod and have it so its only formatted to Mac?

And if i decide that I want to, how would I go about doing this (is there a step-by-step guide?)?

sorry if this question has already been posted and answered
__________________
MacBook Pro 13in (mid 2010) iPhone 4 (currently naked)
www.youtube.com/DJAsianSensation
DJAznSensation is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2008, 09:25 PM   #2
aethelbert
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NRW, Germany
I think that Windows formatted iPods will work on both platforms. So you might as well just let it be in case you ever (shudder) want to use Windows again. It's up to you, but it probably doesn't matter.
aethelbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 04:17 AM   #3
northy124
macrumors 68020
 
northy124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
If all you rmusic is transfered to the Mac go to iPod XXXX then click restore.

@ Guy above windows iPod does not update the song list on a a Mac (If windows formatted)so it is best to reformat
northy124 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 04:30 AM   #4
cheeseadiddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
From my experience, I'd tend to be a little cautious about reformatting an old iPod. I tried to reformat my 20GB 4G iPod to mac, and it froze half way through. Got the sick face on the iPod. Couldn't get it to do anything but bring up the Apple logo after that. Genius Bar dude tried a bunch of different stuff, said the hard drive was toast. Sucked because this iPod looked like new, left my house maybe a dozen times over it's life, and was never dropped. I really only used it in my music room and it stayed on a shelf. In other words, it was babied. My Wife has an old Mini, and I'm reluctant to try and format that one to Mac.
__________________
c h e e s e
Al iMac 24" mid '07 2.8 Extreme, AEBS
White Macbook early '08 2.1
Al Macbook late '08 2.0
iPod Classic Black 80 GB
2G iPhone 8GB x2
cheeseadiddle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 06:40 AM   #5
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Formatting wont hurt it. It was just unfortunate that the user above had that problem.

I just reformatted my iPod yesterday from windows to mac and it works fine.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 06:52 AM   #6
Bobbi Flekman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by northy124 View Post
@ Guy above windows iPod does not update the song list on a a Mac (If windows formatted)so it is best to reformat
It worked perectly for me. I did reformat the thing to Mac though because I have all my music transfered to Mac, so there's no need to keep it in Windows mode.

The only thing a Windows iPod won't do on Mac is update the firmware. the other way around doesn't work though, Windows only sees a brick when the iPod is Mac formatted.
Bobbi Flekman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 07:14 AM   #7
MM07
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I recently did this for my wife's iPod. We backed up her library from Vista on a DVD. Then imported that into her iMac. Then I reformatted her iPod on the iMac, then synced. All went well.
__________________
MBPr 13" - 2.6 GHz , 256g SSD, 8g RAM, Mac OS X (10.9.5), iPad Air - 32g Wifi, iPhone 6 - VZW 64g
MM07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 03:08 PM   #8
DJAznSensation
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
well my iPod Classic 80gb at sometimes runs alittle choppy, and i've herd this has been a little problem with other too (something that u can just look over).

do you think re-formatting it will get help the performance speed of the iPod, since you can upgrade the firmware of the iPod?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13in (mid 2010) iPhone 4 (currently naked)
www.youtube.com/DJAsianSensation
DJAznSensation is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2008, 03:30 PM   #9
northy124
macrumors 68020
 
northy124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Well mine has worked better since. It kept pausing every minute.
northy124 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2008, 06:08 AM   #10
Bobbi Flekman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Dunno if a reformat will speed things up. I had pau...ses when it was in Windows Mode, and I have paus...es now that it is in Apple Mode. Can't tell whether the frequency of them decreased though. To be completely in the clear; I'm talking about an iPod Photo with 60 GB HD.
Bobbi Flekman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reformatting a Mac Mini kena1921 Mac mini 1 Mar 1, 2014 12:58 PM
Reformatting old Mac Mini to like "new" para85 Mac mini 9 Jan 10, 2013 08:16 AM
Reformatting MacBook? Atypical MacBook Pro 1 Nov 22, 2012 08:33 PM
Reformatting HDD supe12man MacBook Pro 1 Jul 19, 2012 09:50 PM
Reformatting axlvtt OS X 1 Jun 12, 2012 02:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC