Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2003, 12:51 PM   #1
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
iPod, FWHD and PB

anyone smart out there who can help me out?

i have an iPod, FWHD and PB 12" (with one FW port).

when i clean installed Panther, i backed up my music collection like this:

1) music i like to listen to often from my computer. these were copied to my PB HD (with panther) and FWHD partition where clone of my jaguar sits.

2) music i like to have, but won't listen too much. these were backed up to FWHD partition just for music.

now, the problem with this configuration is... it's now a pain in the butt to add songs from 2) to my iPod because my PB 12" only has one FW port!

anyone has a smart way to get around this short of buying a FW hub?
jxyama is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 01:22 PM   #2
Rower_CPU
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Nope.

You're pretty much stuck manually moving files around and plugging/unplugging w/out a hub.
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 01:36 PM   #3
jxyama
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
dang it... i kinda figured. didn't think it through when i made those partitions...

i guess what i can do for now is to do it once manually, fill up most of my ipod with music i might listen to and that's that...

jxyama is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 01:55 PM   #4
macstudent
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Does your FWHD have two ports? My firewire has two on the back for daisy chains. This way you can plug your ipod into your FWHD when you have it plugged into your mac
__________________
Author | Instructor | Designer
macstudent is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2003, 02:05 PM   #5
jxyama
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by macstudent
Does your FWHD have two ports? My firewire has two on the back for daisy chains. This way you can plug your ipod into your FWHD when you have it plugged into your mac
unfortunately, no... i do have an USB port, but the port doesn't supply enough power to my HD so it doesn't work... plus it's a USB 1 port on the PB 12" so it would dog slow...

i *might* have found an Applescript to accomplish this a little less painfully... maybe.
jxyama is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cross Reader - New Rss Reader for iPhone, iPod touch and iPad Cliapis iPhone and iPod touch Apps 5 Dec 13, 2011 11:07 AM
Apple Updates Entire iPod Family, Bringing Capacity and Performance Bumps to iPod Touch and Video Camera to iPod Nano MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 476 Sep 21, 2009 04:21 AM
FS/T: UNOPENED Original 5GB iPod for iMac / PB G4 or $$$ applefan1997 Marketplace Archive 2 86 Mar 18, 2008 12:14 PM
Anyone know how to rip ipod songs to PB?? devastator777 Mac Basics and Help 6 May 29, 2005 01:12 PM
WTT PC Watercooled Desktop and iPod for Laptop/PB G4 Cross Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Sep 3, 2004 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC