Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 15, 2008, 08:47 PM   #1
ardesigns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Creating an Adminstrator User in Single User Mode? (Tiger)

Hi. I lost the install disk for my computer (Mac OS X 10.4, Tiger), and need to change my password (I forgot it ). I can only access single user mode. Is there any way that I can create an Administrator-Status user in Single User Mode? (NOTE: The "root" user isn't really an option since I enabled it a while ago and it has the same password as my current user, which I forgot...).

Thanks,
ARDesigns

P.S.
I have already tried this tutorial:
http://www.macshadows.com/kb/index.p...ol_of_Mac_OS_X
But could not get beyond the "sh etc/rc" part. I typed that in and it outputted a bunch of lines, then went to a blank, blue screen where all I could do was move my mouse . Maybe if someone could help me fix that problem, I could use the solution found in that tutorial? I'm not really sure though, I'm lost! Please help! Thanks again!
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2008, 09:38 PM   #2
jcs1088
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I'm on leopard, so I'm sure if this will work or not. You can create a new account and set it as admim. Or you could just delete you keychain and start a new one.
__________________
2.2 GHz MacBook, 800 MHz G4 iMac, 16 GB iPod touch, White iPhone 3G
jcs1088 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2008, 10:33 PM   #3
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Well the problem is I can't get on the computer! Single User Mode is all I've got...

Thanks,
ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2008, 10:53 PM   #4
bluedoggiant
macrumors 68020
 
bluedoggiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD & ATL,GA
Apple Store will gladly lend you a restore disc while in store. At least they should, try callling.
__________________

Haswell MacBook Pro 15" - 16GB - 2.3GHz - 512GB - dGPU
Mid-2007 iMac 24" - 4GB - 2.8GHz - .5TB
Gold 64GB iPhone 5s
bluedoggiant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 03:19 PM   #5
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Ehh...I'd rather do it myself than wait a few days in a line...

Thanks,
ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 03:22 PM   #6
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
If you know the name of one user, try this.

Boot into single user mode. Substitute the youruser name below. Then continue with:

mount -uw /
nicl -raw /var/db/netinfo/local.nidb -merge /groups/admin users youruser

If you get a message saying "invalid path", then type these two commands first:

nicl -raw /var/db/netinfo/local.nidb -create /groups/admin gid 80


nicl -raw /var/db/netinfo/local.nidb -create /groups/admin passwd '*'

and then repeat the "nicl ... -merge" command. Then:

reboot

You will now be able to login as 'youruser' and have administrative privileges.
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 04:01 PM   #7
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
No, I don't know the name ! The login window isn't in list mode. Maybe I'm not doing this right, but I'm supposed to go into Single User Mode, and after typing fsck -y and mount -uaw , I'm supposed to type sh /etc/rc and then hit enter/return? When I do that there are some lines outputted, and then the screen just goes blue?!

Thanks!

~ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 05:12 PM   #8
bluedoggiant
macrumors 68020
 
bluedoggiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD & ATL,GA
One quick question, what mac is it, and when was the last time you used it, and when did you buy it?
__________________

Haswell MacBook Pro 15" - 16GB - 2.3GHz - 512GB - dGPU
Mid-2007 iMac 24" - 4GB - 2.8GHz - .5TB
Gold 64GB iPhone 5s
bluedoggiant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008, 09:00 PM   #9
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
MacBook Pro, bought sometime last year. Mac OS X 10.4.9 Tiger.
I don't think that's very relevant though, is it?

Thanks,
ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2008, 05:09 PM   #10
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Anyone know why sh etc/rc behaves this way?!

Thanks!

~ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2008, 06:10 PM   #11
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Its hard for me to understand someone not knowing their password but I can comprehend it but how do you not know your own user name?
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2008, 02:15 PM   #12
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Problem solved. Deleted the .AppleSetupDone file .

Thanks!

~ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 09:45 PM   #13
CarlosH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardesigns View Post
MacBook Pro, bought sometime last year. Mac OS X 10.4.9 Tiger.
I don't think that's very relevant though, is it?

Thanks,
ARDesigns

It is relevant when someone doesn't even knows the users on his computer. I may only imagine this if that computer was stolen and you are trying to access the data, but well, hope this is not the case.
CarlosH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 07:07 PM   #14
ardesigns
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks for your blatant rudeness, and no, I have the receipt in my email, I can forward it to you if you'd like. I was repairing it.

~ARDesigns
ardesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 11:22 PM   #15
CarlosH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardesigns View Post
Thanks for your blatant rudeness, and no, I have the receipt in my email, I can forward it to you if you'd like. I was repairing it.

~ARDesigns
Sorry man, you just got me on a wrong day. Like 2 days before that post, my new macbook pro was stolen from my car, it had merely 5 days since I bought it. Nice yours is not what I thought then. Good luck clearing the password. Still, that doesn't explain why you didn't remember your username...just kidding.
CarlosH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 05:15 PM   #16
moonjoose
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Easy Fix

Not sure why people are jumping to the conclusion that you've stolen it. I just bought an old Mac on eBay that has come from a university and I have the same issue. I do have install disks, but I can't be bothered with all that, as this is easy to fix.

Boot into single user mode (Command + S on startup).
Type: sh /etc/rc

Now, if you don't know any usernames on the system, just type the following:

cd /Users
ls

Now you can look at the directory name, which will be the same as the username.

passwd username

Enter your new password.

shutdown -r now

Mac will reboot and you can now log in. Go to System Prefs and set up a new admin user account, or whatever you want.

Job done.
moonjoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get into single user mode on new macbook air Pie13 Mac Basics and Help 11 Oct 16, 2013 03:40 AM
Disabling Single User Mode 10.6.8 Macman671 Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 15, 2013 09:15 AM
in single user mode i get **the volume macintosh could not be repaired** icarus1 OS X 6 May 7, 2013 11:03 AM
Single user mode in MAC OS X omni1787 OS X 5 Mar 21, 2013 11:07 AM
G5 20" iMac won't go in single user mode KAyBooGiie iMac 2 Nov 10, 2012 12:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC