Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 16, 2008, 07:24 AM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Mac user anger at laptop graphics glitch




Category: Apple Hardware
Link: Mac user anger at laptop graphics glitch
Description:: Mac users are complaining of graphics problems afflicting MacBooks, MacBook Pros

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 01:13 PM   #2
hob
macrumors 68020
 
hob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
anyone notice this glitch? I've not come across it myself...
__________________
see robmac.net for my work
hob is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 01:33 PM   #3
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Aye, I'm not sure exactly what they're referring to.

I sometimes get glitchy wma video with flip4mac, could that be it?
RedTomato is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 01:43 PM   #4
pjarvi
macrumors 65816
 
pjarvi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Round Lake, IL
I haven't experienced a single glitch the article mentions. PICNIC
__________________
"Monkey see, monkey do."
pjarvi is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 02:23 PM   #5
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I'm glad that they've finally acknowledged the problem, it's about time! Roll on 10.5.3...

Quote:
They have been enduring unusual visual corruption, in which text appears to have been duplicated, documents fail to scroll or videos appear to flicker.
Large blocks of text can sometimes disappear, and then will sometimes appear twice when scrolling. When playing games I've had rogue polygons appear out of nowhere, and in 3 or 4 cases the entire computer has frozen up. I never had any of these issues under Tiger and they started to appear almost immediately when I installed Leopard. However, although they do happen, they're not frequent enough for me to go to the trouble of reinstalling everything.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 03:15 PM   #6
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Large blocks of text can sometimes disappear, and then will sometimes appear twice when scrolling.
I had that, but only in firefox, and only when I had a massive amount of tabs open (30-odd) for days on end, with lots of flash open, and often restarting FF would sort it out.

Hasn't happened recently. I always thought it was a Firefox memory usage issue that eventually got fixed.
RedTomato is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 03:40 PM   #7
cheekybobcat
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U-S of A
I haven't noticed anything odd. I have heard of the flickering video though.
__________________
OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.5 15" MacBook Pro 500GB 2.66 GHz
OS X Tiger 10.4.11 G4 PowerMac 80GB 867MHz
cheekybobcat is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 04:23 PM   #8
Genghis Khan
macrumors 65816
 
Genghis Khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
haven't heard of this problem before

which is surprising as it would be quicker to count those of my friends with macbooks/mbps than those without.

how many people have heard of this problem?
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1
2.8GHz Octo, 10GB RAM, EVGA GTX660 SC 2 GB
Genghis Khan is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 08:28 PM   #9
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Affects new MacBook/Pro's...I assume the very recently updated Penryn ones?

I haven't experienced any issues reported with my Santa Rosa MacBook Pro.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 09:17 PM   #10
PCMacUser
macrumors 68000
 
PCMacUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Sounds like drivers... although it's strange that it would affect Macbooks since there's nothing fancy about that graphics chipset.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.53GHz, 4Gb RAM, 250Gb HDD ; MacBook 2.26GHz, 2Gb RAM, 250Gb HDD ; iPhone 3GS ; 80Gb iPod Classic ; 1Gb Shuffle ; AirPort Express
PCMacUser is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 09:21 PM   #11
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Nothing I can see on my BlackBook (only two days old - seems fine).

*Touches wood*...
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0
Old Apr 16, 2008, 10:15 PM   #12
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Never had any issues on my 2.0 GHz CD MacBook...
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 12:17 AM   #13
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedTomato View Post
I had that, but only in firefox, and only when I had a massive amount of tabs open (30-odd) for days on end, with lots of flash open, and often restarting FF would sort it out.
I had it in Safari, with maybe one or two tabs open. The polygon issue happens several times per week in WoW.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 01:16 AM   #14
LaDirection
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilamite View Post
Affects new MacBook/Pro's...I assume the very recently updated Penryn ones?

I haven't experienced any issues reported with my Santa Rosa MacBook Pro.
Yes. This is a well known problem with Penryn based Apple laptops. You can learn more about it here:

http://www.hardmac.com/news/2008-04-15/#8115
LaDirection is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 02:21 AM   #15
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaDirection View Post
Yes. This is a well known problem with Penryn based Apple laptops.
Hmm, mine's a 2006 model (original C2D), is that Penryn?
Nermal is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 02:25 AM   #16
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Hmm, mine's a 2006 model (original C2D), is that Penryn?
Nope, Penryn is the processor in the early 2008 models.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 02:49 AM   #17
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Interesting. "Well known with Penryn laptops" ... does that mean that it happens a lot with Penryn systems, or only with Penryns? If it's the latter, then I have to wonder what's wrong with mine!
Nermal is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 08:33 AM   #18
dmarch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Big Sky, MT
I occasionally have the scrolling issue with my 2.4 SR MBP. Apple has suggested the one size fits all answer of reinstall of OSX. Seems like as good a time as any to upgrade HDD, so tomorrow it's off to local authorized repair center for install of WD 320GB HDD and clean install.
dmarch is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 09:40 AM   #19
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Interesting. "Well known with Penryn laptops" ... does that mean that it happens a lot with Penryn systems, or only with Penryns? If it's the latter, then I have to wonder what's wrong with mine!
Only with the new Penryn processor.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 01:33 PM   #20
Analog Kid
macrumors 68030
 
Analog Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Pages will occasionally render text badly after scrolling, but I'm using a Mac Pro so I think it's something different.
__________________
Only trolls use the word "fanboy".
Analog Kid is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 05:09 PM   #21
Luap
macrumors 6502a
 
Luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
You'd think Apple might have sorted out their act after the fairly recent "Freezing iMac" debacle. To a certain extent, the problem affected Mac Pro's with the similar graphics cards too.
Still, at least Apple has contacted customers about it, and acknowledged the problem in the first place.

Apple really needs to get themselves under control and stop this kind of thing happening. Much of their reputation depends on it. The PC luddites laugh when this happens, and the switchers end up wishing they never switched "So much for 'It just works!'" etc. I'd hate to see any more of that..
Luap is offline   0
Old Apr 17, 2008, 06:56 PM   #22
hob
macrumors 68020
 
hob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
I think the "flickering video" issue is something I've noticed before. It's also noticeable with certain embedded QuickTime videos that look desaturated, until you change volume or brightness - basically put a transparent object over the top of the video, then it changes to the right colour... very weird. Also noticeable in RealPlayer...
__________________
see robmac.net for my work
hob is offline   0
Old Apr 18, 2008, 07:08 AM   #23
hob
macrumors 68020
 
hob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
I just noticed this glitch, is this what I'm meant to be angry about?

http://www.robmac.net/blog/?p=7
__________________
see robmac.net for my work
hob is offline   0
Old Apr 18, 2008, 07:23 AM   #24
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
My two week old black MacBook has been perfect in every way.
hexonxonx is offline   0
Old May 10, 2008, 07:55 PM   #25
yaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nottingham/ Liverpool, United Kingdom
I have a Penryn MBP and am experiencing similar problems to those already posted except I get glitches when switching between spaces and using quick look. Is it the same problem? Im guessing all will be sorted by 10.5.3 but would like some reassurance. peace
yaz is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Cards in New Mac Pro May Be User Replaceable MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 139 Apr 25, 2014 09:05 AM
nMP graphics glitch? impay Mac Pro 26 Apr 21, 2014 06:43 PM
Possible Graphics card glitch? RyanWW MacBook Pro 9 Jan 26, 2014 09:07 PM
iPad mini graphics glitch with smart cover fernando.kreutz iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 May 8, 2013 12:13 AM
macbook pro 15" 2007 graphics glitch? Freyqq MacBook Pro 4 Sep 14, 2012 02:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC