Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2008, 05:20 PM   #26
mgguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
The screenshot is wonderful for saving info discovered online for later viewing. Thank you for sharing these tips!
mgguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 10:22 AM   #27
DuckSoup
macrumors 6502a
 
DuckSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate Central NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwk1 View Post
Lots of great useful information there, should be a sticky.
There have been a LOT of people saying here this should be a sticky. I do not know if anyone actually PM'd a Mod requesting it, so I just did. I have to figure no one did before because I cannot think of any reason such a request would not be honored for this particular thread.

Mike
DuckSoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 07:50 PM   #28
Ivan P
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Debater View Post
Here's another tip that could possibly be added into your list:

While in Safari and you are zoomed in on a column to read, while you scroll through it, you might accidentally scroll from left to right, obscuring some of the text. To avoid this, simply scroll as you would, but keep your finger on the very edge of the screen. That way, even if your finger moves to the left and right, the screen will only scroll up and down. This works in landscape mode as well.

Here's a video to clarify and demonstrate what I said:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPsJ1lwuCPI
Added
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 06:28 PM   #29
acedew
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Great post, someone make it a sticky. Just found out that single-tapping the gray clock/battery bar at the top of the iPod will super-scroll you to the top of the web page when you're in Safari. That's probably in the manual or something, but I didn't read it
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac (2.0 GHz); 2G iPod Touch (16GB)
acedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2008, 05:08 AM   #30
SimonMW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
On the home screen, tap the screen on the left or right of the little grey dots just above the dock to go to a different home 'space'. This is slightly less effort than swiping.
SimonMW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 09:57 AM   #31
Kebabselector
macrumors 68020
 
Kebabselector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
It there a way to change the .com keyboard button on iphone/ipod touch safari? Most of the site I'd visit are .co.uk, so would prefer to change it.

I've not had a chance to investigate it much as my iPod Touch has been wrapped up for Christmas.
__________________
Mac Mini 1.66Ghz/2gb - 2.3/i5/8gb - MacBook 2.0Ghz/2gb
iPhone 4 S⃣ 32gb - iPad Mini Retina 16gb wifi
Others: Canon Eos Stuff - Passat - Smeg - Firewire devices - Prefers Matte
Kebabselector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:18 PM   #32
Walt DI
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thanks, great thread.
__________________
8GB 2nd Gen iPod Touch ; 17'' Macbook Pro,Intel Core,2 Duo,17-inch widescreen,4GB Memory,320GB hard drive,NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 512MB
Walt DI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:36 PM   #33
mackmgg
macrumors 65816
 
mackmgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kebabselector View Post
It there a way to change the .com keyboard button on iphone/ipod touch safari? Most of the site I'd visit are .co.uk, so would prefer to change it.

I've not had a chance to investigate it much as my iPod Touch has been wrapped up for Christmas.
in settings i no if you change the keyboard to italian it becomes .co.it so i would asume british maybe would be .co.uk

Edit: just looked, and its English (UK) has the co.uk

Last edited by mackmgg; Dec 16, 2008 at 05:03 PM. Reason: shown
mackmgg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 12:04 PM   #34
sjleworthy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
how about the screen shot tip? press the home and on/off buttons together. the screen will flash white indicating screenie taken


(view in photos)
sjleworthy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 07:43 PM   #35
Ivan P
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
I've just updated the first post with some extra FAQ questions and a list of differences between the 1st and 2nd generations.

If I've missed anything feel free to tell me

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjleworthy
how about the screen shot tip? press the home and on/off buttons together. the screen will flash white indicating screenie taken


(view in photos)
It's been under the 2.0-only section for several months now
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2008, 07:43 AM   #36
Karver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
awesome thread. I learned more in a few minutes reading here than in the past 2 weeks I had my ipod.

I can;t seem to figure out: how do I select from the list of suggested words when typing in notes and other places? currently, I press 'return', but that also changes the line..

please help!

Thanks!
Karver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2008, 01:21 PM   #37
mahoneyjoe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
space bar will insert the suggested word; I think exclaimation mark will do it in the numeric keyboard.
mahoneyjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 01:45 PM   #38
alg123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
first gen internal speaker

First - I love your info.

Is there any kind of an internal speaker on a first gen Touch? If so, are there apps to use the speaker for playing music, simulating ring tones etc?

Thanks.
alg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 06:55 PM   #39
Ivan P
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by alg123 View Post
First - I love your info.

Is there any kind of an internal speaker on a first gen Touch? If so, are there apps to use the speaker for playing music, simulating ring tones etc?

Thanks.
Nope. The first gen only has a transducer - a device that can only play a range of beeps and sound effects, it cannot be used as a speaker to play back music and even if it could it'd be nowhere near the quality of the speaker of the 2nd gen (even though that's rather crappy quality in itself).
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 03:49 PM   #40
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kebabselector View Post
It there a way to change the .com keyboard button on iphone/ipod touch safari? Most of the site I'd visit are .co.uk, so would prefer to change it.

I've not had a chance to investigate it much as my iPod Touch has been wrapped up for Christmas.
Set up the international keyboard to the preferred setting. Hold your finger on the .com button and the menu appears.
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2009, 07:29 PM   #41
OffBrand
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Is there any way to delete music and photos directly without connecting to a computer?
OffBrand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2009, 08:05 PM   #42
Ivan P
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by OffBrand View Post
Is there any way to delete music and photos directly without connecting to a computer?
The only audio you can delete is podcasts, by swiping your finger across a certain title to reveal a "delete" button; this isn't available for standard music tracks.
Also, IIRC the only pictures you can delete on the iPod without connecting to a computer are screenshots or images saved from Safari or other applications.
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 09:45 PM   #43
tigermurphy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Data Storage?

Hi. I have been searching for this info and can't seem to find it. Can the iPod Touch not be used as a hard drive like previous iPods can? I don't get an icon of the mounted Touch like I do with my older iPods, except for within iTunes. And iTunes doesn't let me transfer non music or movie files. Am I missing something here??? It seems crazy that I can't store files on the damn thing.

Thanks for any insight you can share.
tigermurphy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 10:57 PM   #44
tremlock
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coral Springs, FL
On the now playing screen if you're reading lyrics you can tap the top bar to get back to the top of the lyrics, similar to tapping in a safari screen
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.4GHZiPhone 5s 16GB30GB Gen 5 iPod5th Gen iPod Touch 32GBiPad mini 16GB
tremlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 07:05 AM   #45
pilotrtc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigermurphy View Post
Hi. I have been searching for this info and can't seem to find it. Can the iPod Touch not be used as a hard drive like previous iPods can? I don't get an icon of the mounted Touch like I do with my older iPods, except for within iTunes. And iTunes doesn't let me transfer non music or movie files. Am I missing something here??? It seems crazy that I can't store files on the damn thing.

Thanks for any insight you can share.
Not easily. You have to download an app to do it. BriefcaseLite and Discover are 2 that were free when I got them. They work differently so you might want to try each one. I prefer BriefcaseLite but I still have the other one, too.
pilotrtc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 03:15 AM   #46
tigermurphy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotrtc View Post
Not easily. You have to download an app to do it. BriefcaseLite and Discover are 2 that were free when I got them. They work differently so you might want to try each one. I prefer BriefcaseLite but I still have the other one, too.
Ah, thank you for the response. That seems like such a weird omission on Apple's part. I'm surprised more people aren't complaining about the lack of native support for data storage. Or maybe they did when it first came out? I guess I'm a little late to the party.
tigermurphy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 08:35 AM   #47
iTracz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tremlock View Post
On the now playing screen if you're reading lyrics you can tap the top bar to get back to the top of the lyrics, similar to tapping in a safari screen
How do you read lyrics? Sorry I am new to the whole Ipod thing.
iTracz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 08:41 AM   #48
anti-microsoft
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Quote:
-DELETE MULTIPLE CHARACTERS/UNDO DELETE While holding the delete button, slide your finger left to delete multiple characters. If you delete too many, drag your finger the other way to undo.
I'm running on Firmware version 2.2.1 and can't get this to work at all

Thanks,

Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 05:13 PM   #49
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
I'm running on Firmware version 2.2.1 and can't get this to work at all

Thanks,

Ams.
Same here.. doesn't work on my second G Touch v 2.2.1
Maybe they took it out? I have really never heard of this feature... so i'm a little doubtful if it ever worked- but i'll take your word for it
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 07:03 PM   #50
Sysbase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by saberahul View Post
Same here.. doesn't work on my second G Touch v 2.2.1
Maybe they took it out? I have really never heard of this feature... so i'm a little doubtful if it ever worked- but i'll take your word for it
I think you need to hold tight on this for a second something lots of problems with this one. Should be updated soon.
__________________
Want More From Your iPod? Find iPod Love Here.
Sysbase is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod touch 6g features? Trickhot3102 iPod touch 1 Dec 22, 2013 05:42 PM
Tips for buying used iPod touch? nhcowboy1 iPod touch 5 Jun 30, 2013 06:08 PM
iPod Touch (5th Gen) Missing Features penpal1278 iPod touch 27 Oct 18, 2012 02:46 PM
How will (certain features of) Siri work on the iPod touch? sebseb81 iPod touch 1 Sep 17, 2012 09:19 PM
Which Features Cannot Be Used On Ipod Touch 4G with IOS 6 ? serkan iOS 6 3 Jun 12, 2012 06:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC