Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:28 AM   #1
fab5freddy
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
How to Network 2 Macs ...?

I have a MacBook Pro 15" intel running Tiger 10.4.11,
and a Brand new Mac Pro Tower running Leopard 10.5.2...

I have plugged an Ethernet cable between the 2 Macs,
but cannot seem to find a connection between the two...?

Is there something i have to do in Network System Prefs ?

thanks!
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:32 AM   #2
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Yes, go to System Preferences > Sharing, and check File Sharing (or any other networking services you wish to enable). ...You'll need to do this on both macs.
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:37 AM   #3
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
have you turned on File Sharing in Sharing Preferenes? your MBP should appear under "Shared" in the Finder sidebar on the MP and vice versa for the MBP.

also instead of plugging an ethernet cable from the MP to the MBP all the time why not just plug the MP into a wireless router and then just file share to the MBP wirelessly? thats if you have a wireless router of course.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original.
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, Z87X, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 6 16GB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:59 AM   #4
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
ok, so far, so good......

now i can see both computers, but i can only get into the Public Drop Box..
How can i get into the entire Mac ..?

thanks!
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 03:02 AM   #5
TH-Gunner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
If you connect the two computers directly together via ethernet, you need a crossover cable.

It's probably easier to use a switch or a router that has a switch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
ok, so far, so good......

now i can see both computers, but i can only get into the Public Drop Box..
How can i get into the entire Mac ..?

thanks!
You'll need to open up other folders for sharing in System Preferences.
__________________
"I have used a mac before. And they still don't have right click I mean come on. - aakar
LOL
TH-Gunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 03:18 AM   #6
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TH-Gunner View Post
If you connect the two computers directly together via ethernet, you need a crossover cable.
No you don't. Macs have auto-switching ethernet ports.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 04:38 AM   #7
decal
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Preston Vic, Australia
That's the great thing about macs you do not need a cross-over cable any old eithernet cable will do!!
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" Glossy HiRes 4gb Ram 250gb HD, iBook G4
G4 PowerPC With up-grade card
Motorola Q9H Smart Phone
decal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:15 PM   #8
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by richthomas View Post
also instead of plugging an ethernet cable from the MP to the MBP all the time why not just plug the MP into a wireless router and then just file share to the MBP wirelessly? thats if you have a wireless router of course.
Naturally, wireless will be numerous times slower, but for the added convenience it may be worth it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TH-Gunner View Post
You'll need to open up other folders for sharing in System Preferences.
Or you can click on "Connect As..." at the top of the finder window and enter your user name and password for the other computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by decal View Post
That's the great thing about macs you do not need a cross-over cable any old eithernet cable will do!!
In fairness, PCs now contain the same auto-switching ports.
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 06:24 PM   #9
decal
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Preston Vic, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricNau View Post
Naturally, wireless will be numerous times slower, but for the added convenience it may be worth it.


Or you can click on "Connect As..." at the top of the finder window and enter your user name and password for the other computer.


In fairness, PCs now contain the same auto-switching ports.
Well there you go, I did not know PC now had auto-switching ports! The things you learn reading MacRumors forums.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" Glossy HiRes 4gb Ram 250gb HD, iBook G4
G4 PowerPC With up-grade card
Motorola Q9H Smart Phone
decal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:04 AM   #10
TH-Gunner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
No you don't. Macs have auto-switching ethernet ports.
Sweet.
__________________
"I have used a mac before. And they still don't have right click I mean come on. - aakar
LOL
TH-Gunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NetAuthsysagent or cannot access other macs on network hilife OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 29, 2013 10:03 AM
Network Connection issues - 2 Macs - tried a lot before I posted fartheststar Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Mar 11, 2013 04:19 PM
Photos on a home network for iOS/Macs InfiniteLoopy Digital Photography 2 Jan 1, 2013 10:05 AM
Network shares and services only visible when WIRED network Yalla-One OS X 1 Dec 30, 2012 08:26 AM
Automatically mounting a network drive (SMB) when connecting to the network Flore Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Sep 15, 2012 06:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC