Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2008, 04:09 PM   #1
dufffman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
use macbook pro as a wireless router

Hi,

I have a MacBookPro that I use in my room connected through ethernet. I am at university and they have only allow one machine to connect to their wi-fi that is available across campus, through mac address filtering. I also have an iPhone which I would love to use wi-fi on, at least while I am in my room lounging around and such.

Anyway, the point being, can I use my MBP (connected through LAN) to act as a router so that my iPhone can connect to it? Essentially create a wireless network, so iPhone would find it and I could go online on it via wi-fi?

I tried going on Airport and clicking on "Create a network" (w/o a password), but I get an error saying "There was an error creating our Computer-to-Computer network.". It doesn't say much else -- is there a better way of doing this?

Many Thanks,
dufffman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 04:18 PM   #2
ilovebananas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: england
Simple solution.
Assuming you are on leopard.
Go to sharing in system preferences and enable internet sharing.
If your mac is connected via ethernet then you can set up the airport to allow other machines to "share" the connection.
make sure you use a password though under airport options.
Hope this helps
ilovebananas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 01:48 AM   #3
dufffman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
many thanks -- that worked brilliantly!

one more question -- When I set up a "router" through my macbook in this fashion, can only other Mac's connect to it? Or can I also have a Windows laptop that can connect to it? I see one of the options on the sharing mentioning "Airport" as the source to connect.

My iPhone connected to it nicely, but i wasn't able to connect a windows laptop to it.. any ideas?

Thanks,
dufffman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 01:53 AM   #4
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
"Airport" is just Apple's name for 802.11 wifi. Any standard wifi device can connect to it (I've done so with various non-Apple products).
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:30 AM   #5
ilovebananas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: england
As the previous poster mentioned, you should be able to connect any compatible wireless device.
Make sure you are using the same type if WEP encryption on both devices.
ilovebananas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:31 AM   #6
ilovebananas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: england
As the previous poster mentioned, you should be able to connect any compatible wireless device.
Make sure you are using the same type of WEP encryption on both devices.
ilovebananas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 04:17 AM   #7
MattZani
macrumors 68020
 
MattZani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Weymouth, UK
You could also group together with neighbours and buy an Airport Express, allowing them access to Wifi etc.
MattZani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2009, 11:03 PM   #8
sjmloganville
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
will this also work with tiger?
sjmloganville is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 12:52 AM   #9
OneBlueFire
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by dufffman View Post
My iPhone connected to it nicely, but i wasn't able to connect a windows laptop to it.. any ideas?

Thanks,
Were you trying to connect both the laptop and the iPhone at the same time? That isn't possible. Your MBP can only accept 1 (one) connection at a time, so it's either your other laptop or your iPhone, but not both simultaneously.
__________________
I'm A Mac, Are You?
15" Unibody MBP 2.53GHz | MBAir 1.86GHz | 15" MBP 2.16GHz | Black MacBook 2.0GHz | iPhone 3G 16GB | Airport Express And Extreme
OneBlueFire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 03:09 AM   #10
Tex-Twil
macrumors 68020
 
Tex-Twil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovebananas View Post
Make sure you are using the same type of WEP encryption on both devices.
Well I'd like to point the fact that even when you use WEP, your wifi network will be unsecure. WEP is known as weak an can be hacked in some seconds.
Tex-Twil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 09:31 AM   #11
DooDaaDame
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On The Road-RV'er
Yes..Be your own wifi hub

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjmloganville View Post
will this also work with tiger?
Yes, you can, I connect to the internet using my cell phone as a modem, (legally, through my cell company), on my G4, tiger, I then share my connection with internet sharing with my husband, (on a PC) or anyone else who happens by.
__________________
17" Unibody Macbook Pro, 2.93GHz, 4GB RAM, 320MB WD 7200RPM HD, Anti-glare. External WD E Class HDD, 1TB
15" G4 Powerbook, 1.67GHz, 2GB RAM, 120MB HD
DooDaaDame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 10:58 AM   #12
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I second the router suggestion. A cheap router offers better security and your MBP does not have to be on for you to get WiFi. Not to mention now you can sit on your bed (or wherever) and get internet. You can just clone the MAC from your MBP to the router. Colleges usually dont care that you have a WiFi network as long as it is for personal use.
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 12:06 PM   #13
Tex-Twil
macrumors 68020
 
Tex-Twil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by lixuelai View Post
You can just clone the MAC from your MBP to the router.
Are you talking about the mac address ? If so, I wouldn't be so sure that ouy can do that.
Tex-Twil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 12:38 PM   #14
Signal-11
macrumors 65816
 
Signal-11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 2nd Star to the Right
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex-Twil View Post
Are you talking about the mac address ? If so, I wouldn't be so sure that ouy can do that.
Most routers have this function.
Signal-11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2009, 12:11 AM   #15
Blue muffin 25
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I have read most of the post but still unable to do it. Could some one help me please?

I have a MBP running on leopard.
So far I have enabled the internet sharing and checked the airport box.
Like so:


I went to network to set up a new connection name "Bacon". But when I try to connect to my "Bacon" network using my iPhone, it doesn't work. All it says is
"airport has a self assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the internet", like so:


Could someone help me please? I don't know what I have done wrong.
Blue muffin 25 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird request: can I use my macbook (connecting to my router via wifi) as a wireless willryan42 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 11 Feb 7, 2014 06:47 AM
MacBook Pro 13 Inch Router issue? feliperubin Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 5, 2013 12:06 PM
Trouble Connecting to Internet with MacBook Pro + Wireless G Router saralynn MacBook Pro 1 Jun 23, 2013 12:42 AM
MacBook Pro will no longer connect to router? nsherlock23 MacBook Pro 1 Jun 16, 2013 04:27 PM
My macbook wont stay automatically connect to my preferred wireless router samhandwich22 MacBook 0 Apr 24, 2013 11:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC