Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:29 PM   #1
macpbr98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
MacBook not working - Help please. Power light on but no display.

Hi - I'm hoping someone can help me out on this...

I usually leave my MacBook on overnight. I woke up to find my MacBook (Nov 2006 2 GHz, Black, Core2Duo) with the display off - which is what I would expect since the display sleeps automatically. Since it didn't seem to wake up, I did a force shut down by holding down the power button for several seconds.

I try to power on and:
-the LCD briefly blips on and quickly goes off
-the white LED light by the Apple Remote Infrared Receiver stays on a solid white.
-I hear NO start up chime
-i can hear the fan
-but the built in display does not turn on
-the external display i have it hooked up to does not receive any signals from the mac.

So I try to reset the Power Management by:
-unplugging
-removing the battery
-press and hold the power button for 5 seconds
-reattach the battery
-reattach to the power adaptor

I power on and the same thing happens:
-display briefly blinks
-white solid led light
-no start up chime
-etc.

I try to insert the DVD restore disk. The MacBook happily takes it in, but nothing. I've tried restarting again and holding down the C key. But no display on the built in or the external.

I force shut. Power on. Hold the eject key. And now the DVD is stuck. Same problem as before but now it ate my DVD!

Any help or advice from anybody would be greatly appreciated!


BTW - I'm going to try to put it in target mode when I find my old powerbook but I doubt that will resolve it.

ALSO - I pretty much use my MB as a desktop. It's almost always on and plugged in to the wall outlet. I don't know if that makes things worse in terms of wear.

Last edited by macpbr98; Apr 27, 2008 at 04:20 PM.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:42 PM   #2
GSMiller
macrumors 68000
 
GSMiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kentucky
Mine done something like this the other day. I downloaded updates and forgot to install them when shutting it down, but when I opened the lid back up the screen wouldn't come on. So I forced shut down and tried to boot it back up but it wouldn't get past the logo. Multiple attempts and repairing permissions didn't fix the problem and I eventually had to reformat the drive and reinstall Leopard.

Luckily I was able to access it through my AEBS on my iMac when in Disk Utility and transferred all my important files to my iMac before reformatting.
__________________
2.16 GHz 20" iMac || 30GB 5G iPod || 1GB 3G Shuffle || 2.16 GHz Blackbook
GSMiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:46 PM   #3
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Also check your RAM to make sure it's properly seated. This happened to my BlackBook as well. I took it to the Genius Bar and after checking several other things, that's what we found- loose RAM chip. It's been fine ever since.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:47 PM   #4
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSMiller View Post
Mine done something like this the other day. I downloaded updates and forgot to install them when shutting it down, but when I opened the lid back up the screen wouldn't come on. So I forced shut down and tried to boot it back up but it wouldn't get past the logo. Multiple attempts and repairing permissions didn't fix the problem and I eventually had to reformat the drive and reinstall Leopard.

Luckily I was able to access it through my AEBS on my iMac when in Disk Utility and transferred all my important files to my iMac before reformatting.
I remember that I DID download the Safari updated but never rebooted.

However, I never even make it to the apple logo. The display is off. I'd be more happy to re-install OS X (I have Tiger installed) just to get my Macbook working again, but unfortunately, inserting the install DVD doesn't even work.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 03:47 PM   #5
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Can you hear any high pitched beeps when it is trying to start-up ?

Somebody else will come along in a minute but sounds like logic-board fault.

Any AppleCare ?

If you can't start it then you won't be able to put it into Target mode.
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 04:12 PM   #6
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohler View Post
Also check your RAM to make sure it's properly seated. This happened to my BlackBook as well. I took it to the Genius Bar and after checking several other things, that's what we found- loose RAM chip. It's been fine ever since.
Thx - didn't think of that. Just checked my RAM chips and they're securely in place and still not working unfortunately.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 04:15 PM   #7
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by logana View Post
Can you hear any high pitched beeps when it is trying to start-up ?

Somebody else will come along in a minute but sounds like logic-board fault.

Any AppleCare ?

If you can't start it then you won't be able to put it into Target mode.
Good point - didn't think target mode would work.

I don't hear any high pitched beeps. Just the optical drive whirring away. So this seems like a logic-board fault then? No apple care.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 04:35 PM   #8
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Similar start-up problem if you had just changed the RAM and it was not in properly - but unfortunately you have not just changed it and you have checked !

Sounds like water/liquid damage to the logic-board - is this a possibility ?
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 05:19 PM   #9
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by logana View Post
Similar start-up problem if you had just changed the RAM and it was not in properly - but unfortunately you have not just changed it and you have checked !

Sounds like water/liquid damage to the logic-board - is this a possibility ?
I did check the RAM to make sure they were on securely - which they were - even though I hadn't installed anything lately.

Then, a little later, I removed one of them to see if one of the slots was faulty and the left slot was indeed faulty. As long as I only keep RAM on the right slot, my MacBook works again! If I put any RAM in the left slot, it stops working.

So problem fixed! Thanks to you and everyone for helping!!
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 05:22 PM   #10
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohler View Post
Also check your RAM to make sure it's properly seated. This happened to my BlackBook as well. I took it to the Genius Bar and after checking several other things, that's what we found- loose RAM chip. It's been fine ever since.
All the RAM were securely in place but despite that, it seems one of the slots is broken. The MB works again as long as I keep RAM off of the broken (left) slot. Thanks so much for helping!
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 05:28 PM   #11
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpbr98 View Post
All the RAM were securely in place but despite that, it seems one of the slots is broken. The MB works again as long as I keep RAM off of the broken (left) slot. Thanks so much for helping!
Sorry the slot's broken though
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 05:34 PM   #12
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohler View Post
Sorry the slot's broken though
Yeah it's a bit of a bummer, but I was all prepared for a possible logic board replacement so this isn't so bad fearing the worst! I'm just so happy to get it up and working again!

Any ideas what could cause that to happen? Haven't changed RAM in a year and it was working fine til sometime last night.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 05:42 PM   #13
Dustman
macrumors 65816
 
Dustman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
You might want to invest in a 2 GB ram chip now that you're limited to just one slot.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 2.8Ghz Mavericks; Dell 5150 P4 3.8Ghz Win2000; Samsung Galaxy S5; ATV2 4.1 J'b; MacBook 2.1Ghz Mountain Lion via MLPostFactor
Dustman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2008, 10:22 PM   #14
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpbr98 View Post
Yeah it's a bit of a bummer, but I was all prepared for a possible logic board replacement so this isn't so bad fearing the worst! I'm just so happy to get it up and working again!

Any ideas what could cause that to happen? Haven't changed RAM in a year and it was working fine til sometime last night.
Sorry, I don't know. If I were you I'd take it to the Apple store. The chip itself could have also gone bad, it may not be the slot.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:09 PM   #15
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustman View Post
You might want to invest in a 2 GB ram chip now that you're limited to just one slot.
I have the first Core2Duo line of MacBooks and it has a 2GB memory limit. So will a 2 GB RAM chip work in just one of the slots or is it 1 GB max on each slot with a total 2 GB limit?
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:39 PM   #16
macpbr98
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohler View Post
Sorry, I don't know. If I were you I'd take it to the Apple store. The chip itself could have also gone bad, it may not be the slot.
Yeah - that's a good idea to take to the Apple store. I know the RAM chip is fine because they both worked in the one slot but never on the other no matter which chip it was. Maybe the Apple Store can confirm that it's just a lousy RAM slot gone broke or hopefully can figure out a fix for it.
macpbr98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2010, 01:09 AM   #17
sunu420
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Unhappy PLZZZZZ big problem.......urgent help.....macbook pro help...!!!

hi...can anyone please help me?????

i got pfroblem with my macbook pro for the first time....i recently bought it...its been not more than 6 months i guess since i bought this.

the previous night i manually shut down my macbook and kept it aside. the other morning i took it to my college. on the way to the college inside the bus, i started it by clicking the power button....the light indicator button glowed but nothing came on display. i shut down it again by pressing the power button and again restarted it. the same thing happened again. i did it for around 4-5 times. the same no display problem raised again and again.

after about 2-3 hours, i tried to open it agin and this time it successfully booted. i used it for more than half an hour. after that i just closed the lid and put it in my bag. i was amazed to see no sleep light when i took it out of my bag again after an hour or too. the same problem like the previous arise again.

i felt sleepy and put my arms on the top of my macbook pro and slept with my head on my arms. i don't thaink that caused problem with the display, or did it?? i think i didn't applied much pressure on the LCD lid while sleeping.

will there be any effect on the display or screen problem with event like this??

i shut down it and came to my home. i tried to open my macbook in the same way as in the bus several times but nothing happened.

1) on pressing the power button, the light indicates on the front side.
2) also the battery indicator glows on pressing the button.
3) even the back light i.e. apple logo doesn't glow
4) and caps lock button also shows no light on pressing.
5) from the back portion just the air comes flowing all the time and no display at all just the black screen...not even the apple startup logo.
6) i hear a subtle sound when i put my ears near to the back portion which might be of hard drive spinning...but i have no idea what it is??

i still have my 1 year warranty left... so i am planning to take it to the apple authorized reseller here at the philippines.

what should i do??????
will they fix my macbook pro?? do i have to pay even when i have 1 year warranty still left??? nad it was not my fault that macbook became so...

please please please give me a solution as well as advice what to do....
plz its urgent...!!!!
sunu420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2010, 11:52 AM   #18
sonspot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpbr98 View Post
Yeah - that's a good idea to take to the Apple store. I know the RAM chip is fine because they both worked in the one slot but never on the other no matter which chip it was. Maybe the Apple Store can confirm that it's just a lousy RAM slot gone broke or hopefully can figure out a fix for it.
or instead of wasting the money, swap the ram
__________________
13" MacBook 2.0 core2duo, 2GB ram, 320GB HHD, Bluetooth blaa blaa blaa
sonspot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 05:23 PM   #19
brucejs7
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
desperate!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunu420 View Post
hi...can anyone please help me?????

1) on pressing the power button, the light indicates on the front side.
2) also the battery indicator glows on pressing the button.
3) even the back light i.e. apple logo doesn't glow
4) and caps lock button also shows no light on pressing.
5) from the back portion just the air comes flowing all the time and no display at all just the black screen...not even the apple startup logo.
6) i hear a subtle sound when i put my ears near to the back portion which might be of hard drive spinning...but i have no idea what it is??

please please please give me a solution as well as advice what to do....
plz its urgent...!!!!
I have this same issue. If anyone knows how to fix or have had this problem and had it fixed about what is the price of fixing.
brucejs7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2011, 06:59 PM   #20
joecool99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
think it's the HW display failure. i have the same, BUT the system fully boots up and i can hookup external monitor. so it's not a video issue.
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:35 PM   #21
macfixblacknoch
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Problem I had:

Macbook Pro 17" from 2008. After a Lion update I would push the power button and get a solid white light (from the sleep light), black screen and there would be no chime. I had a disc in so I would hear it spinning.

I thought it was because of the Lion update.


Fix:

The Macbook must have overheated when I was doing the Lion update. I tired SMC resets, taking the RAM out, PRAM zap, etc. I heard that this could be due to the Left Logic Board.

What I did was set the Macbook up like a teepee under the covers on the bed. I put lots of pillows around and covered it good. After it got really hot to the touch, I set it in another room upside down overnight. The next day it worked! I had the HDD out, so I powered it down and put it back in.

Problem was, I decided to do updates. About a year+ worth since that's how long it was down. So there was a 2GB combined Lion update. I did the update, restarted and the issue was back: solid white light, black screen, no chime.

I set it up like a teepee again under the covers and overheat it. That did not work. So a day later I powered it on, but this time I put it upside down on the bed with the lid closed, so the batter was facing up. With it powered on, I covered it really good. After about an hour give or take, I put it in the other room to let it cool. Once it was cool to the touch I powered it on and it worked.

I thought there was a correlation with Lion, but I think it is just a heat issue. While doing updates, the computer heats up.

So far it is still working. I downloaded smcfancontrol and set the fan speed to max. I am going to order a big cooling tray for it.

But it seems it was overheating and affecting some connectors on the logic board.



So in summary, the fix (at least for me) for the black screen, no chime, solid white light: is to overheat the laptop upside down under the bed covers and then let it set until it is cool. Then give it a shot. While I overheated mine, I took out the battery and HDD. Then download smcfancontrol.
macfixblacknoch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 06:44 PM   #22
scottystan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Thumbs up Macbook problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by macpbr98 View Post
Hi - I'm hoping someone can help me out on this...

I usually leave my MacBook on overnight. I woke up to find my MacBook (Nov 2006 2 GHz, Black, Core2Duo) with the display off - which is what I would expect since the display sleeps automatically. Since it didn't seem to wake up, I did a force shut down by holding down the power button for several seconds.

I try to power on and:
-the LCD briefly blips on and quickly goes off
-the white LED light by the Apple Remote Infrared Receiver stays on a solid white.
-I hear NO start up chime
-i can hear the fan
-but the built in display does not turn on
-the external display i have it hooked up to does not receive any signals from the mac.

So I try to reset the Power Management by:
-unplugging
-removing the battery
-press and hold the power button for 5 seconds
-reattach the battery
-reattach to the power adaptor

I power on and the same thing happens:
-display briefly blinks
-white solid led light
-no start up chime
-etc.

I try to insert the DVD restore disk. The MacBook happily takes it in, but nothing. I've tried restarting again and holding down the C key. But no display on the built in or the external.

I force shut. Power on. Hold the eject key. And now the DVD is stuck. Same problem as before but now it ate my DVD!

Any help or advice from anybody would be greatly appreciated!


BTW - I'm going to try to put it in target mode when I find my old powerbook but I doubt that will resolve it.

ALSO - I pretty much use my MB as a desktop. It's almost always on and plugged in to the wall outlet. I don't know if that makes things worse in terms of wear.

I believe you have a failed graphics chip on the logic board as it seems that the macbook is functioning and making the correct noises etc, (just no display or start up chime).
That is why you are getting no output on external monitor!!. (if screen was faulty you would get output to external monitor).
So it is either a very expensive logic board replacement, you could have the GPU reballed for around the 90 mark if you know a competent computer technician skilled in BGA rework, (reball is the permanent fix).
Or you could reflow said GPU which could get you another couple of months use, or it could last a year?.
E-mail me if you would like any further help with this or organise a repair
Stan
scottystan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 06:55 PM   #23
scottystan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Macbook power but no display problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by brucejs7 View Post
I have this same issue. If anyone knows how to fix or have had this problem and had it fixed about what is the price of fixing.
Hi, I am dismayed that this issue often gets convoluted and portrayed as some sort of software problem.
The fact of the matter is that the GPU has failed on the logic board, (nvidia produced a lot of bad chips more commonly known as the, "nvidia defect".
Apple should replace your macbook if it is diagnosed with said defect.
The permanent repair, (other than a logic board which probably has the same defect due to non leaded solder being used alongside a flawed chemical formula used in production of said nvidia chips), the permanent and strongest repair is to have the GPU, "re-balled".
This is basically taking the graphics chip off the logic board and replacing the bad, lead free solder with leaded solder which is far more forgiving as due to the heat generated by the GOU, the solder balls used to attach GPU to logic board expand and contract as machine is used, then off, then used, off etc, (heat, cool, heat, cool). Over time this causes the solder to weaken and fracture, thus eventually losing electrical connectivity to logic board, hence no graphics.
The temporary repair is to reflow the GPU with specialist equipment and chemicals, if done improperly this can damage the GPU and logic board so I would advise against undertaking this repair yourself.

A reball repair is around the 90 mark
If you would like to discuss this issue, please feel free to message me.
scottystan
scottystan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Cinema Display 20 Power Light giambattista Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 10, 2014 09:14 PM
Macbook no power, green light though szabotnik MacBook 5 Sep 9, 2013 02:11 AM
Can the new MacBook Air power a 2nd external display via USB power jussha MacBook Air 9 Aug 12, 2013 07:58 PM
New Macbook Not Sure If Keyboard Light Is Working nim6us MacBook Pro 6 Jul 7, 2013 04:49 PM
MacBook 09 unibody white not working (no power light on MagSafe adapter) Mikey323 MacBook 1 Jun 24, 2013 02:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC