Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 30, 2008, 09:10 PM   #1
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
ACL errors

Well I tried running this in terminal and now my Lacie drive will not connect. What I was told is that doing this removes the ACL Errors Here is what I did in terminal

Essentially open up a terminal and do the following:

cd /
ls -le

look at the Applications and Library folders in the listing and you should see they have specific ACLs. On one of my machines the Applications folder had 2 and the Library had one. On the other both had just one.

to remove these ACLs do the following:

sudo chmod -a# 0 "/Applications"
sudo chmod -a# 0 "/Library"

After that my network drive will not mount
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	24
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	114199  
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 03:38 AM   #2
orpheus1120
macrumors 65816
 
orpheus1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Is there a reason why you had to remove the ACLs? AFAIK if you are removing them only because you are seeing acl errors at the permission log file in leopard then it is totally unnecessary.

ACL errors codes should be ignored in leopard for now.
orpheus1120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 07:51 AM   #3
Reflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Quote:
Originally Posted by orpheus1120 View Post
Is there a reason why you had to remove the ACLs? AFAIK if you are removing them only because you are seeing acl errors at the permission log file in leopard then it is totally unnecessary.

ACL errors codes should be ignored in leopard for now.
I was trying to remove them because it take like 2.5 hours to run.
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 08:06 AM   #4
orpheus1120
macrumors 65816
 
orpheus1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Well obviously you made a mistake.

Sorry that happened to you.
orpheus1120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 08:11 AM   #5
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
heres the command i used to remove my ACL error in /Library

Code:
sudo chmod -R -N /Library
try this it may fix your connect to server issue.

Mac Pilot says that error code -36 is an IO error (bummers) if that means anything to you… (cracks up) bummers!

removing the ACL issue wont speed up the repair of permissions. Disk Utility is just slow in Leopard and it will be fixed in later versions.
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 08:30 AM   #6
orpheus1120
macrumors 65816
 
orpheus1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by richthomas View Post
removing the ACL issue wont speed up the repair of permissions. Disk Utility is just slow in Leopard and it will be fixed in later versions.
Correct.
orpheus1120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 08:42 AM   #7
TuffLuffJimmy
macrumors G3
 
TuffLuffJimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by orpheus1120 View Post
Correct.
incorrect
There is nothing wrong with the disk utility in leopard. It just works differently than the one in tiger it's doing a lot more, but just basically looks the same as the old disk utility.
__________________
"Next PM I get from you about this, and it gets posted as my signature." --*LTD*
TuffLuffJimmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 10:18 AM   #8
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffluffjimmy View Post
incorrect
There is nothing wrong with the disk utility in leopard. It just works differently than the one in tiger it's doing a lot more, but just basically looks the same as the old disk utility.
mmm i dunno? i dont think im entirely incorrect. Leopard Disk Utility is version 11 and Tiger's was 10. Leopard now has a different receipt system which Disk Utility checks when repairing permissions but this hasnt fully been optimised yet so its slow.
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 11:25 AM   #9
orpheus1120
macrumors 65816
 
orpheus1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffluffjimmy View Post
incorrect
There is nothing wrong with the disk utility in leopard. It just works differently than the one in tiger it's doing a lot more, but just basically looks the same as the old disk utility.
Do you even know on what did I said "correct"?

Removing any ACL due to acl error codes in your console log file is unnecessary. That's what I meant. It won't help in speeding up your system at all.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306925

Your "incorrect" answer is not even relevant to either richthomas' or my reply.
orpheus1120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2008, 11:33 AM   #10
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Where is the LaCie drive you are trying to mount? Is it being hosted by another Mac, or is it a standalone network appliance?

In my own experience, I have run into some Apple File Sharing issues related to a corrupt byte-range locking file. There is a file located in /Library/Preferences (at the root, not in your home folder) called com.apple.ByteRangeLocking.plist. Delete this file on the host computer and reboot (or restart Apple File Sharing).
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:39 PM   #11
pdaviesoz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Constant acl errors

I got my new MBP 15 and retored from a backup on the Time Machine drive. I have had constant ACL errors and all sorts of problems including SLOW ever since. I've repaired permissions heaps, tried ACLr8 (twice), and its still all there. I'm guessing this is a problem with the user name, and I'll need a new one, but what do I do to stop the same happening again, and how do I not lose all the updates and permissions?
pdaviesoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone unknown error (-200) horace528 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 10, 2011 10:14 AM
Time Machine - Error 22 Randomly Appears VaatiKaiba OS X 1 Aug 29, 2011 01:45 PM
Anyone else get an Error 112 on Netflix on ATV2? ngenerator Apple TV and Home Theater 18 May 15, 2011 10:01 PM
Resolved: iTunes error 3194 when restoring sclomps Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Mar 31, 2011 06:30 PM
Ran Apple Hardware Test from USB Install Drive on new MBA, Got this error chiamac MacBook Air 14 Nov 9, 2010 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC