Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2008, 11:43 PM   #1
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
anyone use netboot?

so i'm thinking about trying to use netboot. i could never get sharing home directories to work correctly with network users, so i though i'd give netboot a try.

i seem to have read that you can't use netboot over wireless. is there any way around this?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 12:00 AM   #2
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
is there any way around this?
Nope. Your going to want at least a 100baseT ethernet network if you want to use netboot.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 01:00 AM   #3
rezenclowd3
macrumors 6502a
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber at the track.
I HIGHLY recommend using Netboot alongside Bombich's Netrestore and Netrestore Helper found here. If you are not familiar with it, this guide helps: http://rogue.sdsu.edu/netboot/
__________________
MBA 1.8 i7 Sandy Bridge, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD
i7 3770K, Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z, 16GB Ram, 12TB Raid 10
rezenclowd3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 11:35 AM   #4
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Nope. Your going to want at least a 100baseT ethernet network if you want to use netboot.
yeah, but 802.11n is faster than that, correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
I HIGHLY recommend using Netboot alongside Bombich's Netrestore and Netrestore Helper found here. If you are not familiar with it, this guide helps: http://rogue.sdsu.edu/netboot/
thanks for the links, i'll check them out.

is there any way to make the home folder mount with the netboot image? i was able to get netboot to work, but i can't log-in with a user account, and it won't write to the image
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 11:47 AM   #5
Krevnik
macrumors 68020
 
Krevnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah, but 802.11n is faster than that, correct?
On paper, yes, usually it is a little slower though because of interference and other real-life conditions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
thanks for the links, i'll check them out.

is there any way to make the home folder mount with the netboot image? i was able to get netboot to work, but i can't log-in with a user account, and it won't write to the image
Netboot images are meant to be read-only. What you want are managed home folders, which are setup on the server.
__________________
iMac 2013 27", 13" rMBP, iPad 4, iPhone 5s
Krevnik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 12:09 PM   #6
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krevnik View Post
Netboot images are meant to be read-only. What you want are managed home folders, which are setup on the server.
yes, that is what i want. i did read somewhere about having those home directories with netboot. maybe i read wrong though.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 12:13 PM   #7
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah, but 802.11n is faster than that, correct?
Only in the same way that USB 2 is faster than Firewire 400. In practice ethernet is a) a much more reliable and stable connection and b) faster.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 12:21 PM   #8
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
Only in the same way that USB 2 is faster than Firewire 400. In practice ethernet is a) a much more reliable and stable connection and b) faster.
right. and i understand that. but it seems for laptops, 802.11n would be more convenient. and i read online that it does work over wireless with the Macbook Air.

anyways, enough of that. what about the managed home directories? is it possible to have those mount with the netboot image?

also, how can i update that image? like if i wanted to install a new application, would i have to create the whole image again?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 12:25 PM   #9
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
anyways, enough of that. what about the managed home directories? is it possible to have those mount with the netboot image?
My understanding is that if you want to have managed home directories you need to have them setup on the server separately from the netboot image. Basically you configure the settings in the image and then have the home directories on a share that is outside of the netboot image if that makes any sense? I could be completely wrong on that front, in fact I'm pretty interested in hearing about this myself.

I don't have any direct experience with OS X Server but from what I have read that seems to be the method to use. Are you using Leopard Server?
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 01:41 PM   #10
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
My understanding is that if you want to have managed home directories you need to have them setup on the server separately from the netboot image. Basically you configure the settings in the image and then have the home directories on a share that is outside of the netboot image if that makes any sense? I could be completely wrong on that front, in fact I'm pretty interested in hearing about this myself.

I don't have any direct experience with OS X Server but from what I have read that seems to be the method to use. Are you using Leopard Server?
thanks. i am using leopard server. i have a open directory master running, but i always have trouble with the clients logging into the server from the log-in screen. that's why i thought i'd give netboot a try
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 01:52 PM   #11
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
thanks. i am using leopard server. i have a open directory master running, but i always have trouble with the clients logging into the server from the log-in screen. that's why i thought i'd give netboot a try
What problems specifically?
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 02:31 PM   #12
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromulent View Post
What problems specifically?
well, right now at the client log-in screen, it shows the network accounts available, and when i try to log-in, it just stays at the log-in screen.

before, i was able to actually log-in at one point, but i could never sync with portable home directories
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 03:19 PM   #13
sgarringer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well, right now at the client log-in screen, it shows the network accounts available, and when i try to log-in, it just stays at the log-in screen.

before, i was able to actually log-in at one point, but i could never sync with portable home directories
You're not giving us a lot to go on. All problems are solvable. Have you looked at the logs while you're logging in, DirectoryService.error.log and also /var/log/syslog ? Those should explain what is failing so you can fix it.
sgarringer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 03:24 PM   #14
BigPrince
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Just because it might be faster doing it via a wired network, doesn't mean its the correct option....

Laptop implementations are not usually hard wired. So this would require you to create a hardwired network or go into a a hardwired lab and use its resources.

I would much rather start the machines up, netboot wirelessly and doing something else for the morning.
BigPrince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 03:38 PM   #15
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgarringer View Post
You're not giving us a lot to go on. All problems are solvable. Have you looked at the logs while you're logging in, DirectoryService.error.log and also /var/log/syslog ? Those should explain what is failing so you can fix it.
well, i have changed networks. i had my wireless network in my dorm, but now i am back at my parents' house. i have my network setup again, but a little differently. the server's ip address changed. i ran the changeip command, but i don't think it solved the problem.

but it wasn't working totally correct before. but it was working better than it is now.

but back to netboot and home directories, can it work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPrince View Post
Just because it might be faster doing it via a wired network, doesn't mean its the correct option....

Laptop implementations are not usually hard wired. So this would require you to create a hardwired network or go into a a hardwired lab and use its resources.

I would much rather start the machines up, netboot wirelessly and doing something else for the morning.
i agree. and i have read that it will work with the macbook air
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netboot Any OSX Version AmestrisXServe PowerPC Macs 2 Mar 1, 2014 03:07 PM
Weird and Wonderful Tiger Netboot Imager Makes Panther Netboot!?! AmestrisXServe Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Feb 14, 2014 04:37 AM
Problem with NetBoot $hrap Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 May 21, 2013 10:03 AM
Failing to recognise Netboot Sinergi Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Mar 11, 2013 06:11 AM
netboot multiple images garegin Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Aug 16, 2012 09:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC