Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2008, 02:31 AM   #1
666gamer666
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Medal of Honor : Allied Assault - Not Playing

Dear All,

I have a MacBook black...and I installed Medal of Honor : Allied Assault, but seem to run into a problem, the games does not open, but instead there is a scontinuous scratching sound...while the games does not open...but i can see the menu bar change to Medal of Honor...

Any suggestions on what could be the problem?

The Macbook is fully updated..

thanks!
666gamer666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 10:07 AM   #2
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
This game had an update. Did you install it? The only other reason I can suspect is that it's not playing well with Rosetta, the software which allows old PPC software to run on Intel Macs. I'd be surprised if you got acceptable performance out of the game, even if it ran.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 11:40 AM   #3
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I was going to agree that it's probably a Rosetta issue - although the MR guide suggests otherwise. http://guides.macrumors.com/Universal_Binary_Games.

Instead, it may be one of those "no game from Aspyr, past present or future, is ever compatible with whatever graphics card Apple is using in an old and/or new machine" issues (I exaggerate, but only just). That may require help from the company's unhelpful support folks.

An alternative: I bought this game a few years back but only played it once - it looked so rough compared not only to Halo, but also to console MoH games and to other Mac WWII games like Return to Castle Wolfenstein. The Wolfenstein game might be another option if MoH won't run.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 11:53 AM   #4
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
According to that thread, the results seem to be processor-specific. I suppose I will have to give this a try myself when my new iMac arrives later this week.

Yes, MOHAA is a bit of an antique, but some of us still like it.

(The reality is, this is the only FPS I've ever gotten even remotely good at playing, so this is the one I play when I feel a need for this sort of distraction.)
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2008, 02:33 PM   #5
redsaurus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
The problem is with fullscreen mode on x3100s, try dumping this .cfg into your base or main or whatever it is for MoH:AA folder - so for example it would go to /Applications/Jedi Academy/base/autoexec.cfg or /pathblahblah/Wolfenstein ET/etmain/autoexec.cfg (for other games with this problem).
redsaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2008, 10:52 PM   #6
blouieee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsaurus View Post
The problem is with fullscreen mode on x3100s, try dumping this .cfg into your base or main or whatever it is for MoH:AA folder - so for example it would go to /Applications/Jedi Academy/base/autoexec.cfg or /pathblahblah/Wolfenstein ET/etmain/autoexec.cfg (for other games with this problem).
I had the same problem. I did the following. I can now run Allied Assault, but Breakthrough and Spearhead still do not run.
blouieee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 03:19 AM   #7
imassents
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
For MoHAA and it's addons, add that config file in all the main folders. I think from memory they are main, mainta and maintt.

I think the issues may be stemmed from the lack of 16bit colour in the drivers. Try using 32bit and going fullscreen (I think Alt-Enter/Option-Return will swap in and out of fullscreen).
imassents is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 10:22 AM   #8
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
There's only one "main" folder in MOHAA, and indeed this where modifications go. I've been running this game successfully on my iMac under Rosetta, without any modifications. I believe the game sees my Mac as a dual G4.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 02:20 AM   #9
imassents
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
The additional main folders are for the addons. If my memory serves me right, mainta is spearhead and maintt is breakthrough.

As I stated beforehand, I think this issue is for the intel graphic card based Macs as the the drivers do not allow the display of 16-bit colours. As far as I know, iMacs have either ATi or nVidia chipsets for graphics, hence should not have the problem.
imassents is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 10:18 AM   #10
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Ah, right. I'd like to get the "no CD" hack to work with MOHAA. Last I heard, this needed to be installed under Classic. Any clues? It's a pain having to dig out the CD every time.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 11:38 PM   #11
aidan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fixing the bug

Thanks a lot guys. This info really helped me set up Medal of Honor. It's weird how the game can run smoothly on a older mac OS X imac and not a macbook OS X 10.5.4....but i guess thats mac for you...full instructions to fix the bug....open up medal of honor: allied assault folder and choose the main folder...look for autoexec.cfg...open it up with a word program and then write seta r_colorbits "32" and save.(thanks to redsaurus for this!!!) then re-open allied assault which should now work. In order to get spearhead to work, open up the mainta folder and look for newconfig.cfg. open with word program and look for seta r_colorbits 16 and change it to 32. save and then spearhead should work...thanks again
aidan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Truth About Assault Rifles Squilly Wasteland 17 Mar 22, 2013 08:44 AM
Medal of Honor warfighter for mac will waters Mac and PC Games 1 Jul 4, 2012 08:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC