Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 8, 2008, 03:42 PM   #1
slapguts
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
G4 iMac RAM - How can I test it?

Recent switcher here. Picked up a G4 17" iMac, and LOVE it.

It could use a RAM upgrade, though. For some reason, the internal RAM isn't being used. The System Profiler claims the spot is empty. The easy to get to one on the bottom seems to be working fine, but it's a lowly little 256.

I'd like to upgrade to its full potential, but am concerned the problem with the internal might be a logic board problem. Any way to tell?

Should I just get a 2gb stick for the known-good slot? Where can I get one for less than the $87.99 Crucial wants for a 512mb?
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 04:07 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
You need to specify the speed of your iMac G4 - there are two series that take different RAM types.

If it is the 700 MHz or 800 MHz, your maximum is 1 GB with 2 x 512 MB PC133 modules (SODIMM on bottom, DIMM internally)

If it is the 1 GHz - 1.25 GHz, then it takes up to 2 GB of DDR PC2100 RAM .

Neither machine will support a 2 GB module of any kind.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 04:25 PM   #3
slapguts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks, forgot that part. Oops.

800mhz.

Is it possible to install a 1mb in the SODIMM slot?
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 04:28 PM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapguts View Post
Thanks, forgot that part. Oops.

800mhz.

Is it possible to install a 1mb in the SODIMM slot?
Nope. 512 MB PC133 is the limit per slot.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 04:35 PM   #5
slapguts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
Nope. 512 MB PC133 is the limit per slot.
Thanks so much for all your help.

Is there any way to test if the 256 in the DIMM slot is bad, or if it might be the slot?
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i test the RAM? wildernessbob Mac mini 5 Apr 20, 2014 08:05 PM
iPad Mini: rMINI RAM issues - Safari Tab Test randymac88 iPad 7 Nov 14, 2013 04:20 PM
RAM failed a test, should I return it? mcsolas Buying Tips and Advice 14 Jan 18, 2013 08:25 AM
Apps too test ram Drich290195 MacBook 2 Sep 26, 2012 08:33 PM
i want any app to test my ram new ram and old ram TT1TT Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 12, 2012 04:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps