Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Old May 13, 2008, 01:53 PM   #1
pyanista18
macrumors newbie

Desktop G4 or iMac G5

Hey gang,

Terribly sorry if this question has been posted. I've been searching close to two hours and I can't find an answer.

Here's my dilemma: I have a PowerMac G4, dual 1.25, 2 gigs of RAM and I'm thinking about upgrading. I don't have a big budget so the new Mac Pro is out of the question. I've been trying to figure out what's going to be more beneficial for me: 1) I upgrade the processor on my G4 to the maximum of dual 1.8 or 2) get an iMac, maybe the lowest version of 2.4Ghz Intel core duo.

I'm an audio engineer and my projects require a lot of audio recording, mixing, and mastering. Once in a blue moon I have to work audio synced up to video. That was the reason I HAD to get a PowerMac 4 years ago and not the old version of the iMac. All my software work perfectly with OS 10.3.9 so it's not a requirement for me to get a better operating system. In fact, one application is still not available for OS 10.5. Go figure...

I don't know if the new iMac can handle these kinds of applications better than a souped up PowerMac G4.

Anyways, thank you for the responses. I know I'm still rocking an old school system and I wish I had the dough to get the Mac Pro... but you gotta do what you gotta do. Peace!
pyanista18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2008, 01:58 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5

First: Check All your programs with the publishers to make sure that they are compatible with OSX 10.5 and/or Intel ProTools is not - that's a big one. So that affects whether you get a machine that comes with 10.5. Any new or refurb machine you buy now will come with 10.5. You would have to research which of your options would be able to be downgraded to 10.4 -- the new AlumiMacs would not be. The white Core2Duos may be.