Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2008, 07:49 AM   #1
iTim314
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: U.S.
DooM 3: Resurrection of Evil for Mac

I've been trying to find a Mac CD for Doom 3 RoE, but everywhere I've looked there isn't one. Is the CD universal for Mac and PC?

I borrowed an RoE PC CD from a friend trying to see if it would work before I bought it, and I'm wondering if I just need to copy some files to a certain location for it to work; like a mod.


I need more DooM to play. Thanks for any help.
iTim314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 08:22 AM   #2
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
RoE is just a mod, I have Doom 3 and RoE on Steam, once you get into either game you can select from a list of mods and it has RoE on that menu. I'm not entirely sure but it should work by just copying the files over.

RoE is pretty good too
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 08:28 AM   #3
iTim314
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: U.S.
Thanks! I really appreciate the quick response.

Now what all files should I copy, and where should I put them? Sorry, but the only mod I've ever used was the flashlight mod for the pistol. =\
iTim314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 08:47 AM   #4
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Looking in my Steam folder now and I just have a load of Pak files.

Try viewing the files of Doom 3 on the Mac side and copy the RoE files right into there. Since RoE is just a new set of textures, maps and enemies it should all be contained in the Base folder (where the Pak files are).
I don't think there should be any other files to edit. IIRC Doom 3 just finds the mods automatically so long as the Pak files are in the right place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fiels.PNG
Views:	181
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	115923  
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 09:00 AM   #5
TDM21
macrumors 6502a
 
TDM21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
D3:RoE was the expansion pack released for Doom3. It was never ported to the Mac so there is probably nothing that could be done to get it to work.
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Pro/2.7GHz i7/4GB Ram/500GB HD
12" PowerBook/1.33GHz/1.25GB RAM/160GB HD/ComboDrive
PowerMac G4/2x1.8GHz/1.5GB RAM/ATi 9800Pro/Poineer 111D
Newton 2100
TDM21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 10:01 AM   #6
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
If Doom 3 on the Mac supports mods then theres nothing stopping RoE from working since it's just the same old Pak files.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 11:08 AM   #7
nagromme
macrumors G4
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
I've seen much discussion of Doom 3 over at InsideMacGames, and many calls for RoE to ported... and NEVER seen any mention of anyone successfully getting the PC version to work on Mac.

Maybe it can be done, but I doubt it. Buy at your own risk.

If you want more Doom action, I can vouch that the free co-op-focused Last Man Standing mod (which comes with a wide range of maps, some being short single-player campaigns) does work on Mac:
http://lms.d3files.com/

(And it works with RoE... if only we had that.)
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 10:45 PM   #8
xerxes-750
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
i made it work

I just bought the game, put the disk in the mac, open it,go to setup/data/D3XP. the pak files are in there. worked just fine for me!
xerxes-750 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2008, 08:44 PM   #9
nagromme
macrumors G4
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Wow, that's great if it can be done!
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2008, 05:01 PM   #10
xerxes-750
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
sorry

sorry, I spoke to hastily, only multiplayer works.
xerxes-750 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2008, 05:02 PM   #11
xerxes-750
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
and im still messing around with it, there may still be a way from campaign to work.
xerxes-750 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2008, 09:00 PM   #12
Eric5h5
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Last I heard, Aspyr had specifically asked that RoE be made to not work with the Mac version, so they could presumably sell a Mac version of RoE themselves. Of course, this ended up not happening. So I don't think you're going to get it to work, but don't let that stop you from trying.

--Eric
Eric5h5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2008, 09:27 AM   #13
JimbobB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by xerxes-750 View Post
sorry, I spoke to hastily, only multiplayer works.

and im still messing around with it, there may still be a way from campaign to work.
Yeah, I tried installing the RoE expansion pack on my G5 iMac and it was recognised but as soon as you tried to start a game it would crash reading the pak files.

I gave up on trying to get it to work in the end.
JimbobB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2008, 11:53 AM   #14
nagromme
macrumors G4
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Oh, well. Thanks for the reports anyway!
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 05:07 PM   #15
xerxes-750
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
huh

does the multi player work for you? it does for me, and im running an intel mac.
xerxes-750 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 12:25 AM   #16
sadmegatron2300
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDM21 View Post
D3:RoE was the expansion pack released for Doom3. It was never ported to the Mac so there is probably nothing that could be done to get it to work.
I have ported doom 3 RoE on mac. Legit. it runs on a wineskin wrapper and works fine, even on lion.
sadmegatron2300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music Resurrection MeeMac Digital Audio 3 Feb 2, 2014 08:40 AM
imac G4 resurrection! alexis0070 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Oct 18, 2013 08:29 AM
OS X: Is it possible to play Duke Nukem 3D/ Doom on a Mac and how? ugr Mac and PC Games 13 Feb 4, 2013 02:02 PM
867MDD G4 Resurrection ppcpete PowerPC Macs 1 Feb 4, 2013 10:59 AM
Windows: Resident Evil 5 on 2012 Mac Mini? Philalbe Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 22, 2012 09:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC