Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2008, 09:36 AM   #1
SLine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Golden, CO
Do I have FireWire 400 or 800?

Hi Everybody -

I'm new to the Mac world. How do I tell if my MacBook Pro has FireWire 400 or 800? My MacBook has 120GB disk and 2GB memory, 15" screen if that gives an indication of how old it is.

I'm going to buy an external drive for a backup. I'll probably use SuperDuper! so I can boot from the backup.

Thank you,
Steve
SLine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 09:37 AM   #2
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
go to applicaions > utilites > system profiler

go down to FireWire under the Hardware heading and it will tell you.
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 09:39 AM   #3
mrwizardno2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Send a message via AIM to mrwizardno2
Check out the apple site . Here's a pic I nabbed off there. If it looks like the one in the image, you have FW 800

__________________
15.4" 2013 MacBook Pro Retina, 2.8 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 768GB SSD
mrwizardno2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 09:41 AM   #4
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Just look at the ports

^^^^^

What he said.
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 11:12 AM   #5
SLine
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Golden, CO
Thanks!

Thanks a lot. Helpful and quick!

I have FireWire 400 then. I was thinking you could plug FW800 into a FW400 port and therefore wasn't sure I could tell by looking at the port.
SLine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2008, 11:21 AM   #6
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLine View Post
Thanks a lot. Helpful and quick!

I have FireWire 400 then. I was thinking you could plug FW800 into a FW400 port and therefore wasn't sure I could tell by looking at the port.
You can, you just need an 800 to 400 cable.

Such as this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony PD150 > FW 400 > 800 > TB ... Okay? smoking monkey Digital Video 4 Nov 10, 2013 11:10 PM
FireWire 800 or 400 and what to get DeafRaiders Buying Tips and Advice 5 Dec 24, 2012 09:49 AM
Mac Mini 2011 firewire 800 to 400 m1kygarcia Mac mini 13 Aug 19, 2012 07:01 AM
Firewire 800-400 Adapter or PICe Card? Garnick Mac Pro 3 Aug 4, 2012 06:35 PM
Firewire 400 to 800 converter iMovie issue JavaWizKid Digital Video 2 Jul 2, 2012 12:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC