Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 18, 2008, 01:47 PM   #1
Rodney Chops
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
VineVNC with CotVNC

I'm totally at my wits end with this one. I have:

G3 Server, Running 10.3.9, and VineVNC server.
- Firewall is Off
- Remote Login is on
- Apple Remote Desktop is OFF (because it says to in the instructions)

A linksys router
- Ports 5900-5910 forwarded to the server.

A laptop, running leopard, and Chicken of the VNC.

For the life of me I cannot get to connect. There even on the same network, no internet at all. I type in the IP and it just says Connection Refused. I've tried using DMZ, and pretty much everything I can think of.

There must be something I'm missing, as this seems to be a common thing. It does not 'see' the server using bonjour or whatever it is supposed to do either.

Any help would be much appreciated, I don't want to buy Apple Remote Desktop.

Thanks,
Rodney Chops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2008, 04:23 PM   #2
stukdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Which version of COTVNC are you using? In our experience, 2.0b2 connects most often...though it would mean running via Rosetta.

Another option is JollyFastVNC. http://www.jinx.de/JollysFastVNC.html
__________________
Macminicolo.net - Your Mac mini in a data center. The perfect low-cost server.
stukdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2008, 05:58 PM   #3
Rodney Chops
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stukdog View Post
Which version of COTVNC are you using? In our experience, 2.0b2 connects most often...though it would mean running via Rosetta.

Another option is JollyFastVNC. http://www.jinx.de/JollysFastVNC.html
I tried the older version of Chicken and got the same 'cannot connect'. So then i tried jolly fast, it simply does nothing when I click connect so I'll assume its not working either. I also gave the demo version of vineviewer a shot, and it also would not work.

Thanks for the suggestions though.

Is there something you need to do when hosting a VNC server on panther? I used an external port scanner site to see if the port was open, and it is not. However, i'm not even connecting from an external IP. I'm just going from like, 192.168.1.5 to 192.168.1.10. This should be easy!
Rodney Chops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2008, 11:33 PM   #4
GeeYouEye
macrumors 68000
 
GeeYouEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: State of Denial
Send a message via AIM to GeeYouEye Send a message via Yahoo to GeeYouEye
If you don't mind having the Apple Remote Desktop port open, get rid of VineVNC and just turn on the ARD service; that'll start a VNC server on port 5900, as well as the actual ARD server. Just make sure you set a very good password, and you should be fine.

Disclaimer: I'm only 98% sure this works on Panther. It doesn't on Jaguar and it does on Tiger.
__________________
I bring order to chaos. You are in chaos Windows, you are the contradiction, a bug wishing to be an OS.
Visit Softyards Software
NEW DEFINITION OF GEEK
Like politics, free speech, computers, entertainment, and more? Join us at Wordforge.net
GeeYouEye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 12:37 PM   #5
Rodney Chops
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeYouEye View Post
If you don't mind having the Apple Remote Desktop port open, get rid of VineVNC and just turn on the ARD service; that'll start a VNC server on port 5900, as well as the actual ARD server. Just make sure you set a very good password, and you should be fine.

Disclaimer: I'm only 98% sure this works on Panther. It doesn't on Jaguar and it does on Tiger.
Tried it, and it does not work with panther. I did eventually get it going by installing the ARD client, then using a reverse method with CotVNC. I have no idea why that helped or was any different. But its working now.

Thanks.
Rodney Chops is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC