Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 20, 2008, 02:44 PM   #1
Mister Three
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Leeds Uk
DAT tape transfer to Mac

Hello.
I have a Tascam DA-P1 dat machine and I want to transfer the data on the tapes to my mac. I have final cut pro and soundtrack pro but cannot seem to get anything to work. I have the correct cable going from line out to headphone socket but no signal received on the mac in any programme. Can anybody help please? My deadline is tomorrow morning and it's getting to be late at night
Many thanks,

T
Mister Three is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 06:25 PM   #2
WinterMute
Moderator emeritus
 
WinterMute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, England
Send a message via AIM to WinterMute Send a message via MSN to WinterMute
The headphone socket is an output, not an input.

you need to go from the line out to the line in on the Mac.

You can record into Soundtrack at 16 bit 44,1Khz quality, then bounce to iTunes as an MP3 or output as an .aiff file.

You'll need to select the Line in input in the sound section of the System Preferences, then select the input in Soundtrack.
__________________
"Everything in excess, moderation is for monks..." Lazarus Long
--
PotPPP, MoDTPPP

Last edited by WinterMute; May 20, 2008 at 06:37 PM.
WinterMute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 12:32 PM   #3
Mister Three
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Leeds Uk
Many thanks

Thanks WinterMute,
it's worked and I've captured the sound.

Well done...
Mister Three is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 01:26 PM   #4
AviationFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Mister Three,

Just curious, you didn't want to transfer digitally using the Tascam's SPDIF output? Many audio interfaces, even some cheap ones, can receive digital audio that way. The Mac's line in - while it works - is not really a marvel of audio recording technology.

I guess it all depends on what source material you have to transfer, and how good you need it to sound in the end.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
www.mp-video.com
AviationFan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 11:27 AM   #5
Mister Three
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Leeds Uk
Spdif?

Hi Martin,
thanks for the info but I don't see any SPDIF output. Is this the digital output?
I do want the best quality available - the sound was recorded on the Tascam for a film shot on Super 16mm. We've been editing it on Avid but the hard drive in the studio has become infected with a virus and is unusable now. So I've taken all source material home to complete the edit. (Been left on my own somewhat). Any advice is gratefully received. Do I need another cable? Should I import at 44 and convert to 48?
Many thanks

Tony
Mister Three is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 11:39 AM   #6
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by AviationFan View Post
Just curious, you didn't want to transfer digitally using the Tascam's SPDIF output? Many audio interfaces, even some cheap ones, can receive digital audio that way. The Mac's line in - while it works - is not really a marvel of audio recording technology.
There's no indication that the OP has an external audio interface.

Quote:
Do I need another cable?
In order to use a digital input you need either an external USB or Firewire audio interface device with the correct type of digital input, or a Mac that has a digital optical input and a DAT player with a digital optical output.

Your Tascam has SPDIF digital in and out (the orange RCA jacks in the side panel photo here)

But the Mac has no corresponding SPDIF jack, so you would have to invest in some interface equipment.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 11:58 AM   #7
AviationFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Three View Post
I do want the best quality available
Then I would recommend getting an external audio interface, even if you were planning to just transfer analog sound. But since your DA-P1 has a digital out, you might as well go all digital. CanadaRAM explained in his post what you need. As you shop around for audio interfaces, ask yourelf if you also have a need for analog I/O, and if so, how many simultaneous channels. For multi-channel I/O, FireWire is usually the preferred connection to the audio interface.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
www.mp-video.com
AviationFan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2008, 04:53 PM   #8
Heidemus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Limited optical iMac input?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
There's no indication that the OP has an external audio interface.


In order to use a digital input you need either an external USB or Firewire audio interface device with the correct type of digital input, or a Mac that has a digital optical input and a DAT player with a digital optical output.

Your Tascam has SPDIF digital in and out (the orange RCA jacks in the side panel photo here)

But the Mac has no corresponding SPDIF jack, so you would have to invest in some interface equipment.
My 2007 iMac has an optical audio input (minijack).

I'm attempting to digitally transfer audio from the optical output of a Sony DAT DTC-ZE700 to the optical input on the iMac via a Toslink cable. However, the iMac doesn't register any incoming sound through that connection.

Hooking up a CD player or MiniDisc player optically to the iMac via the same cable and input on the iMac, I get plenty of incoming sound. But why doesn't this work with the DAT?

I'm worried the iMac can't handle the DAT's output above 41,1Khz, but I can't seem to confirm this anywhere. If this is the case, what do I need to set up a digital transfer?

Thanks in advance for your help and advise.
Heidemus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2008, 01:26 PM   #9
AviationFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidemus View Post
I'm worried the iMac can't handle the DAT's output above 41,1Khz, but I can't seem to confirm this anywhere. If this is the case, what do I need to set up a digital transfer?
I don't think that's the problem. I found this article in the Apple support area that states that 41.1kHz, 48kHz or 96kHz are possible:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306513

Not sure why it's not working with your DAT.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
www.mp-video.com
AviationFan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2008, 05:29 PM   #10
Heidemus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Solution: external soundcard for iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AviationFan View Post
I don't think that's the problem. I found this article in the Apple support area that states that 41.1kHz, 48kHz or 96kHz are possible:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306513

Not sure why it's not working with your DAT.

- Martin
Thank you for your detective work. It probably doesn't work because a lot of my tapes were recorded in Long Mode, ie 32Khz. A lesson learned the hard way.

This leaves me with the decision to either transfer analogue (last resort only) or go via some sort of external soundcard/hardware for the iMac. Suggestions for the latter are very welcome.

Thank you again, Martin.
Heidemus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2008, 10:34 AM   #11
AviationFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidemus View Post
Suggestions for the latter are very welcome.
I'm very pleased with my Echo AudioFire 8. I only use it for analog I/O, but the specs say it supports sample rates from 32kHz - 96kHz for the S/PDIF input and output.

http://www.echoaudio.com/Products/Fi...ire8/specs.php

I bet there are cheaper solutions available if all you need is a digital interface, I just don't know any.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
www.mp-video.com
AviationFan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 10:09 PM   #12
ae35unit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Any recommended S/PDIF -> USB devices?

I also have a DA-P1 ... and I've got a mountain of live music DATs recorded over the years that I'd like to digitally move to my 2008 Mac Pro.

Does anyone know of a simple USB device that'd let me do coaxial S/PDIF out of the DA-P1 into my Mac?

Thanks!
ae35unit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2010, 04:13 PM   #13
dotcommie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I'm glad I found at least one thread on this topic....

I've looked everywhere and I can't find any concrete answers to how to use the optical input on modern Macs. It's kind of sad too because I use to be a Mac Genius, I just never heard complaints from people about digital INPUT, was always output.

I have been wanting to record some digital sources and can't figure out if I'm missing something or if the logic board is defective because it was just replaced for other reasons about a month ago. I'm using the optical cable that is normally the output from my Mini to the TV. I have tried inputting with my PS3 and also straight from the TVs optical out. The input never changes or reports any sound input in system preferences so I was surprised when the OP here reported he had 2 sources working in his. I tried putting on the most basic sound settings on the PS3 and it was still a no go.

Next step is to boot my unibody MBP from tiger or leopard and see what it does and then do the same with the Mini because that didn't seem to notice any input either...
dotcommie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2010, 08:47 PM   #14
thejimness
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
What should i buy to transfer DAT tapes to my Imac??

Hi Guys

can you help ?
I am wanting to transfer Dat tapes straight to my Imac 10.6.4 ?
any advice welcome

cheers
Thejimness
thejimness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2010, 12:23 PM   #15
incuthaifilms
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejimness View Post
Hi Guys

can you help ?
I am wanting to transfer Dat tapes straight to my Imac 10.6.4 ?
any advice welcome

cheers
Thejimness
Did you ever get any help on this? I'm trying to do the same thing and am pretty audio-challenged...I'm on 10.6.5 though and working with FCP7.

Thanks!
incuthaifilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 10:07 PM   #16
carylee2002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'm the same situation. I have some DAT tape recordings also. I have a Sony PCM-M1 DAT recorder. But it doesn't have S/PDIF. But I do have input into my Mac Pro using my Digi 003 Factory. I therefore bought a used DAT Player/Recorder from Ebay. It was a TASCAM DA-20mkll that has S/PDIF in and outs. If will see if it works when it arrives, but I figure the used DAT player was a good investment of 150.00, to be used as both a player and recorder.

UPDATE: I used S/PDIF out of my Tascam into my Digi 003 S/PDIF input. I captured using PT 9> No problems, Timecode was synced via S/PDIF and inported with success. i can now export from PT9 via OMF to FCP 7 or into my Logic 8 for sweetening.

Last edited by carylee2002; Jun 25, 2011 at 02:37 AM. Reason: Updating previous quote
carylee2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 08:05 PM   #17
Tapedoctor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Also looking to transfer DATs to MacBook Pro

Greetings all. I'm in the same boat as a few others here. I've got a Panasonic SV3700 DAT deck with the RCA digital coaxial cable output. I want to transfer my DATs digitally to my MacBook Pro (10.5.8). I've got the analog input - which I obviously do not want to use, but no other digital inputs other than USB and Firewire (400 and 800). Here's my sad story hoping for some help - I'm taking care of my nearly 4 year old twins this summer - so I do not have time to search far and wide for solutions. If someone who has solved this problem would post a reply with the following: 1) you need this cable, 2) you need this piece of equipment, and 3) you need this software to deal with your file and then get it to iTunes. I've got CD Spin Doctor and Toast which I've been using for cassette tapes. Cheers, the tape doctor
Tapedoctor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If only DAT bezel goes away nerdAFK iPhone 31 Apr 26, 2014 09:46 AM
.dat Files mmpotash iMac 1 Nov 19, 2013 07:54 PM
Resolved: Tape to digital on a Mac Mini? Micky Do Mac mini 14 Nov 5, 2013 03:44 PM
Excel changing to .dat file from Mac to PC sara.leonard Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Aug 29, 2012 09:07 PM
delete .dat files mikematzdorff OS X 4 May 30, 2012 11:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC