Cant HandBrake a movie ... keeps shutting it down !!! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 20, 2008, 05:18 PM   #1
EarthDawn
macrumors 6502a
 
EarthDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long-eye Land, NY
Cool Cant HandBrake a movie ... keeps shutting it down !!!

Trying to use HandBrake on the movie Untraceable and when it scans the last chapter... chapter 33 it shuts down HB !!!!>.... anyone know why ???


thanks
__________________
Bring it down to the corner ....
EarthDawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 05:26 PM   #2
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
1. If you're HB'ing directly from the DVD, make sure the DVD is clean (wipe outward from the center to the edge).

2. If you're HB'ing a ripped VIDEO_TS folder, then a pass through DToX may fix it. There are some DVDs that are troublesome.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 07:11 PM   #3
cohibadad
macrumors 6502a
 
cohibadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
check the log after it shuts down
cohibadad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 07:40 PM   #4
speakerwizard
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
also, you can always download an older version of handbrake, as some updates can cause certain problems, i had the same sort of trouble today and getting the older version sorted it, whenever there is an update i often keep both. you could also use mac the rpper 1st to.
__________________
mac pro octo-core, 10GB, 5.25TB, 8800GT, 30"acd
iphone 3G, Macbook pro C2D
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2008, 10:13 PM   #5
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Its the copy protection on Untraceable, HB crashes on scanning the whole disk, even if you prerip it with mtr 2.6.6. Latest mtr can fix it. Alternatively so can dtox.

However, HandBrake can encode it right from the disk if you do an "Open Source Title Specific" from the file menu , you will be prompted for a specific title number to scan. Enter the main feature title number which you can get from dvd player. HB will then only scan the main feature (on Untraceable its 1 I think, or maybe 2). Anyway, this will keep HB from crashing on the full disk scan and it encodes without a problem.

Detailed info on Open Source Title Specific in HB http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic....Title+Specific

FYI: many disks that cause HB to crash upon the initial scan can be encoded that way as much of the "cruft" intentionally mastered into the disk is bypassed.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 08:21 AM   #6
EarthDawn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
EarthDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long-eye Land, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Its the copy protection on Untraceable, HB crashes on scanning the whole disk, even if you prerip it with mtr 2.6.6. Latest mtr can fix it. Alternatively so can dtox.

However, HandBrake can encode it right from the disk if you do an "Open Source Title Specific" from the file menu , you will be prompted for a specific title number to scan. Enter the main feature title number which you can get from dvd player. HB will then only scan the main feature (on Untraceable its 1 I think, or maybe 2). Anyway, this will keep HB from crashing on the full disk scan and it encodes without a problem.

Detailed info on Open Source Title Specific in HB http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic....Title+Specific

FYI: many disks that cause HB to crash upon the initial scan can be encoded that way as much of the "cruft" intentionally mastered into the disk is bypassed.

B-E-A-utiful !!!!!!!!!!!


THANK YOU !

worked like a charm
__________________
Bring it down to the corner ....
EarthDawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 01:48 PM   #7
bacaramac
macrumors 65816
 
bacaramac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Wow, man I have a stack of movies that were doing this (seems like the newer ones are doing this more often). Now I am encoding away. Does this speed up HB at the same time by select the direct title? I normally get 14-18 and I am getting 23-25FPS on my current movie.

Funny Untraceable is the movie I am doing now and was getting pissed because I wanted to encode it.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 2TB Time Capsule and AP Express Current Gen AppleTV x 3 iPhone 5s Space Gray 16Gb iPod Touch 4th Gen White iPad mini White/Silver 16GB WiFi
bacaramac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 02:04 PM   #8
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I probably should have put it in the HB docs, but was too lazy so just posted to the forum after I added it.

As far as encoding speed, no it will not make it any faster. However scanning is quicker obviously because it only scans one title and gets the 10 previews for one title, instead of 10 previews for *each* title. But actual encoding speed is no different.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 10:03 PM   #9
Macsterling
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dallas
Send a message via AIM to Macsterling Send a message via MSN to Macsterling Send a message via Yahoo to Macsterling
Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

I was trying to do the same movie and it kept crashing. Even when I used mac the ripper and then used hb it still did. I changed the setting in mtr to just do the feature and finally hb took it and started to encode it.
__________________
Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today
Macsterling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 11:47 AM   #10
gwerhart0800
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Smile Thank you!!!

I have been looking for a solution to the HB exit issue. About 1/2 of the DVDs I try to rip with HB have this issue. Last night I was working my way through my 007 DVDs and this "title" selection method worked. I had been going back to DVDfab whenever this happened, but I was giving up chapter markers and 5.1 audio. (I did use DVDfab to find the correct title to rip ...)

Thanks again for the tip ...
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 2.2Ghz i7 16GB 750GB HD ; 2011 iMac i7, 27"; TV 3;iPad 1 32GB 3G
gwerhart0800 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2008, 12:22 PM   #11
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
* is really starting to feel bad he didn't put it in the doumentation *
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 05:23 PM   #12
pchaney301
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I'm having the same issues with Handbrake. Except mine is shutting off after about 10% is done. Any suggestions? I'm having problems getting that Handbrake forum opened.
pchaney301 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2011, 07:59 AM   #13
DavieBoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via AIM to DavieBoy
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Its the copy protection on Untraceable, HB crashes on scanning the whole disk, even if you prerip it with mtr 2.6.6. Latest mtr can fix it. Alternatively so can dtox.

However, HandBrake can encode it right from the disk if you do an "Open Source Title Specific" from the file menu , you will be prompted for a specific title number to scan. Enter the main feature title number which you can get from dvd player. HB will then only scan the main feature (on Untraceable its 1 I think, or maybe 2). Anyway, this will keep HB from crashing on the full disk scan and it encodes without a problem.

Detailed info on Open Source Title Specific in HB http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic....Title+Specific

FYI: many disks that cause HB to crash upon the initial scan can be encoded that way as much of the "cruft" intentionally mastered into the disk is bypassed.
Very good work!

"You are a god among insects, don't let anyone tell you different"
- Magneto
__________________
2" Digital Picture Frame, Dynex USB and Firewire iPod Cable, Simpsons Calender, 3 or 4 AAA batteries...
DavieBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ipod Classic Question About Optimal Movie Quality Using Handbrake GordonGekko999 iPod 0 Oct 25, 2013 05:55 AM
Handbrake only rips first 15 min of movie, I'm doing everything I can think of. eeep97 Digital Video 2 Jul 21, 2013 11:39 PM
Flight Movie HandBrake woes s1993 Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Feb 14, 2013 11:35 AM
Movie Clock: Finally (Hopefully) A Decent Movie App For Movie Lovers nrose101 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Feb 12, 2013 01:11 AM
Handbrake won't process entire movie danpass Digital Video 2 Dec 30, 2012 12:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC