Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2008, 09:55 AM   #1
UnixMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
sorry guys, need help with KOTOR cheats..

My little boy is playing SWKOTOR and is getting his butt kicked in the duals at the Cantina.. I seem to recall there were cheats for this game, but for the life of me, either by google search of forum search, I can find them.

How do I enable cheats in this game?

thanks gents.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 10:49 AM   #2
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Try GameFAQs.com.

Or raise your level & do the duels before you leave the planet.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 10:52 AM   #3
UnixMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
thanks, seems like it's all PC oriented. Not sure what happened the the Mac cheats. I seem to recall there were some. Thanks anyway.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 02:23 PM   #4
MacHipster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago/London/Sydney
I just wait until I'm at level 5 (I don't level up past level 5 on Taris since I use the extra 3 level-ups on jedi stuff). At level 5, I've never had an issue. I use buffers and grenades on Bendak, but that's it.
MacHipster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 04:29 PM   #5
UnixMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
thanks, will tell him to try that..
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 10:16 PM   #6
lancestraz
macrumors 6502a
 
lancestraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: RI
Do a spotlight search for a file called "swkotor.ini" (I can't remember where it resides) and open it. Under the line of text that reads "[Game Options]" add a line thats reads "EnableCheats=1". Save this file and open KOTOR.
Load a game and press the "`" key (it's left of the "1" key) to bring up the console, now you can enter any of these cheats:

heal
settreatinjury (number)
setcomputeruse (number)
setdemolitions (number)
setstealth (number)
setawareness (number)
setpersuade (number)
setrepair (number)
setsecurity (number)
setstrength (number)
setdexterity (number)
setconstitution (number)
setintelligence (number)
setwisdom (number)
setcharisma (number)
addexp (number)
turbo
invulnerability
restartminigame
bright
addlightside (number)
adddarkside (number)
revealmap
givecredits (number)
giveitem (item name)
givemed
giverepair
givecomspikes
givesitharmor (number)
warp
infiniteuses
whereami
addlevel (number)
dancedancemalak
lancestraz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2008, 10:19 PM   #7
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I always seemed to have about 10 plasma grenades by the time I got on Taris & was glad to give them to Bendak. In general, move around to avoid shots & use health packs.

Here is what GameFAQs says for Mac cheats - but may be more intelligible just to level up & keep trying!

http://www.gamefaqs.com/computer/mac/code/929951.html
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2008, 10:37 AM   #8
UnixMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
for the benefit of anyone who tries this later... I discovered the problem. My spotlight search wasn't searching the entire computer.. why? I don't know.. but the .ini file is in the Lib/Preferences/Knights of the Old Republic folder in the home folder.. here is more:
-----------------

http://swforums.bioware.com/viewtopi...7&topic=280261
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2008, 04:12 PM   #9
08/05/97
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
How do you spotlight search a mac?

I don't know macs very well but how do you search spotlight.
08/05/97 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 11:57 AM   #10
koivm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oregon
enable cheats for kotor on mac lion

i have kotor on mac os lion and none of the previous suggestions for enabling cheats has worked. need help!
koivm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 01:15 PM   #11
PowerGamerX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08/05/97 View Post
I don't know macs very well but how do you search spotlight.
There's a magnifying glass at the very top right of the screen in the menu bar.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:27 PM   #12
henrystar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerGamerX View Post
There's a magnifying glass at the very top right of the screen in the menu bar.
My God, wasted lives playing vacuous games....
henrystar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 09:32 PM   #13
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrystar View Post
My God, wasted lives playing vacuous games....
and who are you to deem what is important and what is not?
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 09:59 PM   #14
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
And why are we answering questions from 3 years ago?

Quote:
Originally Posted by koivm View Post
i have kotor on mac os lion and none of the previous suggestions for enabling cheats has worked. need help!
Works fine for me in Lion. What's the problem?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-

Last edited by iThinkergoiMac; Sep 1, 2011 at 10:07 PM.
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 11:59 PM   #15
Skwink
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
Works fine for me in Lion. What's the problem?
For one, I don't have swkotor.ini. I bought this game from Game Agent btw.
__________________
13" Macbook, 8GB iPod touch 4G, 8GB iPod Nano 5G, iMac G4
Skwink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2011, 05:03 PM   #16
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwink View Post
For one, I don't have swkotor.ini
This file is necessary for KotoR to run...

Have you looked in YourUser/Library/Preferences/Knights of the Old Republic ? That's where it is located, and Spotlight seems set up in Lion to ignore the Library folder.

If you can't see your Library folder, enter this command in the Terminal:

Code:
chflags nohidden ~/Library/
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2011, 11:36 AM   #17
LeonardDevelope
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
This file is necessary for KotoR to run...

Have you looked in YourUser/Library/Preferences/Knights of the Old Republic ? That's where it is located, and Spotlight seems set up in Lion to ignore the Library folder.

If you can't see your Library folder, enter this command in the Terminal:

Code:
chflags nohidden ~/Library/
Im lion too and i looked in my library and can't find the file ( i downloaded it from the mac app store btw) Help!!!!!!!!
LeonardDevelope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2011, 12:21 PM   #18
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeonardDevelope View Post
Im lion too and i looked in my library and can't find the file ( i downloaded it from the mac app store btw) Help!!!!!!!!
Which Library? There's two... the one on the root level of your hard drive, and the one in your users folder. You have to look in the one in your users folder. IDK how the one from the MAS works, it may be slightly different. I don't have that version.

BTW, does the MAS version support widescreen resolutions?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2011, 03:48 PM   #19
MacAddict1978
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrystar View Post
My God, wasted lives playing vacuous games....
Then why did you waste minutes of your life you can never get back reading this thread?

Completeing the duals is also one of the last quest chains I finish (just have to make sure you do it before you get locked in the mansion.)

Even all these years later, this is my favorite game. I hope they re-release Sith Lords, maybe in it's finished form with the real ending and the HK Factory. Or the ability to unlock the entire ending without having to replay 10 times.
MacAddict1978 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 03:45 PM   #20
koivm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oregon
Cheats for Kotor on Lion

I'm running Kotor bought from the Mac App Store on OS Lion and can't enable cheats.

I've tried:
-spotlight search for swkotor.ini, nothing comes up
-looking in the Library, theres no KOTOR folder or file in the preferences
-looking in the contents folder, nothing in there that works.

I'm stuck on fighting malak on the ship after being captured and can't beat him.

I need help...
koivm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 08:40 PM   #21
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by koivm View Post
-looking in the Library, theres no KOTOR folder or file in the preferences
You're looking in the wrong Library folder. Look in the one in your users folder, as I mentioned (and provided instructions for) earlier.

OR

Looks like the MASb version locates the file under Application Support in your Library folder instead of in Preferences like the old version. This is technically a better place anyway. Have you looked in there?

Quote:
I'm stuck on fighting malak on the ship after being captured and can't beat him.
You don't beat him, you have to survive each encounter. If you haven't leveled up properly it will be difficult. Use any buffs you've got (force-based or otherwise) that increase your defense and/or offense.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 03:18 AM   #22
aislin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
You're looking in the wrong Library folder. Look in the one in your users folder, as I mentioned (and provided instructions for) earlier.

OR

Looks like the MASb version locates the file under Application Support in your Library folder instead of in Preferences like the old version. This is technically a better place anyway. Have you looked in there?
I had the same problem trying to locate the correct folder. Turns out, the default settings of Lion will hide the user's library folder. Show Library Directory

Hope this helps!

pfeh. MISS ONE POST already explaining this and I can't delete this one! *deletedeletedelete*

Last edited by aislin; Sep 11, 2011 at 03:24 AM.
aislin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 01:00 PM   #23
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by aislin View Post
I had the same problem trying to locate the correct folder. Turns out, the default settings of Lion will hide the user's library folder. Show Library Directory

Hope this helps!

pfeh. MISS ONE POST already explaining this and I can't delete this one! *deletedeletedelete*
Hahaha, if you edit your post you can choose delete there.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2011, 09:24 AM   #24
dadrainer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Endor
Quote:
Originally Posted by koivm View Post
I'm running Kotor bought from the Mac App Store on OS Lion and can't enable cheats.

I've tried:
-spotlight search for swkotor.ini, nothing comes up
-looking in the Library, theres no KOTOR folder or file in the preferences
-looking in the contents folder, nothing in there that works.

I'm stuck on fighting malak on the ship after being captured and can't beat him.

I need help...
I'm in the same boat
__________________
The Force Drainer
dadrainer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 09:25 PM   #25
Romans25
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hello, i just recently bought KOTOR in the app store. and i cant find a way to enable cheats, i have done everything listed it seems like, i found the swkotor.ini file but it just opens the game, i tried searching in preferences and in application support and nothing. so can some one give me a step by step way to enable cheats?
Romans25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get cheats on gta vice city Typhoonman iPod touch 3 Jan 18, 2014 02:55 PM
Cheats For City Quiz JanderCreative iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Aug 31, 2013 05:34 AM
Best Cheats App for Stupidness 3 Gyonen iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 May 12, 2013 02:52 PM
KOTOR resolution issues on 10.8 pjv1990 Mac and PC Games 0 Aug 22, 2012 10:26 PM
GpsPhone Cheats cashbomb Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Aug 11, 2012 07:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC