Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 29, 2008, 06:27 AM   #1
lindstrom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Anyone noticing any issues with Diablo 2 LOD and Leopard 10.5.3?

Just saw in another thread that someone reported that 10.5.3 broke Starcraft (in what way was not described, but I assume that it won't load).

Is there any cause for concern regarding Diablo?

These two might be completely unrelated but the thought crossed my mind.

I just recently started with D2 again, and I have not had the time to update Leopard as I am still at work.

Can anyone confirm that D2 LOD is still working properly after the update?

Last edited by lindstrom; May 29, 2008 at 06:47 AM.
lindstrom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 08:06 AM   #2
Tom B.
macrumors 65816
 
Tom B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
I think that whoever it was in that other thread simply meant that StarCraft still doesn't work (on Penryn MacBooks and MacBook Pros), rather than it suddenly stopped working after installing 10.5.3.

As for Diablo II, I will try it out when I get home (in 5 hours), as well as StarCraft and WarCraft III, but I'm sure there will be no problems.
__________________
MacBook | 2.2GHz | 4GB RAM | 500GB HDD | Mac OS X | Windows 7 | Ubuntu
SyncMaster 2343BW 2048x1152 | Magic Mouse | Bluetooth Keyboard
iPhone 4 | 32GB | black

Last edited by Tom B.; May 29, 2008 at 01:27 PM. Reason: I was wrong.
Tom B. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 09:08 AM   #3
geWAPpnet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Yes, there is an issue! Diablo 2 LoD will not start anymore on an Intel Mac with 10.5.3. This is true for all MacBooks and some iMac versions. Hopefully Blizzard will give us another patch!
geWAPpnet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 09:10 AM   #4
lindstrom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom B. View Post
I think that whoever it was in that other thread simply meant that StarCraft still doesn't work (on Penryn MacBooks and MacBook Pros), rather than it suddenly stopped working after installing 10.5.3.

As for Diablo II, I will try it out when I get home (in 5 hours), as well as StarCraft and WarCraft III, but I'm sure there will be no problems.
Thanks mate, I really appreciate your help. I was not aware that StarCraft did not work earlier, my bad.

Very much looking forward to hear what you discover when you test this out. I won't be home to try this myself for another 8+ hours so it will be very interesting to watch this thread in the meantime.
lindstrom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 09:29 AM   #5
xushi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by geWAPpnet View Post
Yes, there is an issue! Diablo 2 LoD will not start anymore on an Intel Mac with 10.5.3. This is true for all MacBooks and some iMac versions. Hopefully Blizzard will give us another patch!

I can confirm that too.. my LOD fails to start.

Code:
Process:         Diablo II (Carbon) [2242]
Path:            /Users/xxx/Games/Diablo II Folder/Diablo II (Carbon)
Identifier:      com.blizzard.Diablo2
Version:         1.10 (1.10)
Code Type:       PPC (Translated)
Parent Process:  launchd [199]

Date/Time:       2008-05-29 15:27:36.372 +0100
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.5.3 (9D34)
Report Version:  6

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0

Thread 0 Crashed:
0   translate                     	0xb80bc688 0xb8000000 + 771720
1   translate                     	0xb80b7007 0xb8000000 + 749575
2   translate                     	0xb80d49c0 0xb8000000 + 870848
3   translate                     	0xb813ce79 spin_lock_wrapper + 1981

Thread 1:
0   ???                           	0x800bc4a6 0 + 2148254886
1   ???                           	0x800c3c9c 0 + 2148285596
2   translate                     	0xb818b6ea CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 202886
3   ???                           	0x800ed6f5 0 + 2148456181
4   ???                           	0x800ed5b2 0 + 2148455858

Thread 2:
0   translate                     	0xb81529ef spin_lock_wrapper + 90931
1   translate                     	0xb8183633 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 169935
2   translate                     	0xb81861e2 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 181118
3   translate                     	0xb80dfb0b 0xb8000000 + 916235

Thread 3:
0   translate                     	0xb815289e spin_lock_wrapper + 90594
1   translate                     	0xb816e8a7 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 84547
2   translate                     	0xb80dfb0b 0xb8000000 + 916235

Thread 4:
0   translate                     	0xb81529ef spin_lock_wrapper + 90931
1   translate                     	0xb8183633 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 169935
2   translate                     	0xb81861e2 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 181118
3   translate                     	0xb80dfb0b 0xb8000000 + 916235

Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
  eax: 0x00000000  ebx: 0xb80b6c78  ecx: 0x00000000  edx: 0x00000000
  edi: 0x80303848  esi: 0x8080d180  ebp: 0xb7fffa08  esp: 0xb7fffa00
   ss: 0x0000001f  efl: 0x00010206  eip: 0xb80bc688   cs: 0x00000017
   ds: 0x0000001f   es: 0x0000001f   fs: 0x00000000   gs: 0x00000037
  cr2: 0x00000000

Binary Images:
0xb8000000 - 0xb81d7fe7  translate ??? (???) /usr/libexec/oah/translate

Translated Code Information:
Rosetta Version:  21.03
Args:  	/System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Support/LaunchCFMApp /Users/xxx/Games/Diablo II Folder/Diablo II (Carbon) 
Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)

Thread 0: (0xb019e83c, 0xb81529ef)
0x84fa4624: No symbol
0x949c2f4c: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _YieldToThread + 532 
0x949c8328: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _SetThreadState + 172 
0x85339f08: No symbol
0x8533a514: No symbol
0x8535d810: No symbol
0x8525aab8: No symbol
0x8525b998: No symbol
0x8525adf4: No symbol
0x8535e294: No symbol
0x85339828: No symbol
0x949c8178: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _CooperativeThread + 348 
0x93fb1e8c: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib : __pthread_body + 40 
0x00000000: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Support/LaunchCFMApp :   + 0 

PPC Thread State
srr0: 0x00000000	srr1: 0x00000000		             vrsave: 0x00000000
cr:  0xXXXXXXXX		xer: 0x20000000		 lr: 0x93f27360		ctr: 0x93f20430
r00: 0xffffffe1 	r01: 0xf0182610 	r02: 0x00000013 	r03: 0xf01826bc 	
r04: 0x00000003 	r05: 0x00000018 	r06: 0x00000020 	r07: 0x00006503 	
r08: 0x00000000 	r09: 0x00000000 	r10: 0x00000000 	r11: 0xa07e05f4 	
r12: 0x93f20430 	r13: 0x00000000 	r14: 0x00000000 	r15: 0x00000000 	
r16: 0x00000000 	r17: 0x00000000 	r18: 0x00000000 	r19: 0x00000000 	
r20: 0x00000000 	r21: 0x00000000 	r22: 0x00000000 	r23: 0x00000018 	
r24: 0xf01826bc 	r25: 0x00000020 	r26: 0x00006503 	r27: 0x00000000 	
r28: 0x00000000 	r29: 0x00000003 	r30: 0x00000003 	r31: 0x949c2d40 	

Thread 1: (0xb009a83c, 0xb81529ef)
0xf0080cf8: No symbol
0x949c2f4c: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _YieldToThread + 532 
0x8533a358: No symbol
0x85339758: No symbol
0x85339828: No symbol
0x949c8178: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _CooperativeThread + 348 
0x93fb1e8c: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib : __pthread_body + 40 
0x00000000: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Support/LaunchCFMApp :   + 0 

PPC Thread State
srr0: 0x00000000	srr1: 0x00000000		             vrsave: 0x00000000
cr:  0xXXXXXXXX		xer: 0x20000000		 lr: 0x93f27360		ctr: 0x93f20430
r00: 0xffffffe1 	r01: 0xf0080c70 	r02: 0x00000013 	r03: 0xf0080d1c 	
r04: 0x00000003 	r05: 0x00000018 	r06: 0x00000020 	r07: 0x00004307 	
r08: 0x00000000 	r09: 0x00000000 	r10: 0x00000000 	r11: 0xa07e05f4 	
r12: 0x93f20430 	r13: 0x00000000 	r14: 0x00000000 	r15: 0x00000000 	
r16: 0x00000000 	r17: 0x00000000 	r18: 0x00000000 	r19: 0x00000000 	
r20: 0x00000000 	r21: 0x00000000 	r22: 0x00000000 	r23: 0x00000018 	
r24: 0xf0080d1c 	r25: 0x00000020 	r26: 0x00004307 	r27: 0x00000000 	
r28: 0x00000000 	r29: 0x00000003 	r30: 0x00000003 	r31: 0x949c2d40 	

Thread 2: Crashed (0xb7fffa00, 0xb80bc688)
0x84e77ddc: No symbol
0x84e768c4: No symbol
0x84e71b50: No symbol
0x84e6b0e8: No symbol
0x84e6a50c: No symbol
0x84e6a350: No symbol
0x84e6d3f4: No symbol
0x84e6ba48: No symbol
0x84e6ddcc: No symbol
0x84e69118: No symbol

PPC Thread State
srr0: 0x00000000	srr1: 0x00000000		             vrsave: 0x00000000
cr:  0xXXXXXXXX		xer: 0x00000000		 lr: 0x84e77ddc		ctr: 0x93f20e80
r00: 0x84e77ddc 	r01: 0xbfffeaf0 	r02: 0x003f6000 	r03: 0x00000000 	
r04: 0x000001e0 	r05: 0x0000000c 	r06: 0x00000000 	r07: 0x00000000 	
r08: 0x00454d30 	r09: 0x00000000 	r10: 0x00000020 	r11: 0xa09e117c 	
r12: 0x93f20e80 	r13: 0x00000000 	r14: 0x00000000 	r15: 0x00000000 	
r16: 0x00000000 	r17: 0x00456448 	r18: 0x00456438 	r19: 0x00456444 	
r20: 0x00456440 	r21: 0x8527532c 	r22: 0x85275334 	r23: 0x00454d30 	
r24: 0x00454d30 	r25: 0x0045643c 	r26: 0x00000026 	r27: 0x00126680 	
r28: 0x00000026 	r29: 0x001269b0 	r30: 0x00000000 	r31: 0x004549f0 	

Thread 3: (0xb011ce20, 0xb815289e)
0x93f638c0: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib : __pthread_cond_wait + 1260 
0x94973ea0: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _TSWaitOnConditionTimedRelative + 244 
0x94973c74: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : _TSWaitOnSemaphoreCommon + 432 
0x94973938: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore : AsyncFileThread(void*) + 68 
0x93fb1e8c: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib : __pthread_body + 40 
0x00000000: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Support/LaunchCFMApp :   + 0 

PPC Thread State
srr0: 0x00000000	srr1: 0x00000000		             vrsave: 0x00000000
cr:  0xXXXXXXXX		xer: 0x20000000		 lr: 0x93f63900		ctr: 0x93f204b0
r00: 0xffffffd9 	r01: 0xf0101cb0 	r02: 0xa07db924 	r03: 0x00004803 	
r04: 0x00004903 	r05: 0x0000003c 	r06: 0x00000000 	r07: 0x00000000 	
r08: 0x00000000 	r09: 0x00000001 	r10: 0xf0101e68 	r11: 0xa07e09dc 	
r12: 0x93f204b0 	r13: 0x00000000 	r14: 0x00000000 	r15: 0x00000000 	
r16: 0x00000000 	r17: 0x00000000 	r18: 0x00000000 	r19: 0x00000000 	
r20: 0x00000000 	r21: 0x94a53acc 	r22: 0x94a53acc 	r23: 0x00000000 	
r24: 0x00000000 	r25: 0x00000001 	r26: 0xf0101e68 	r27: 0xa07e33e8 	
r28: 0xa0929a1c 	r29: 0xa07db924 	r30: 0xa0929a50 	r31: 0x93f633e8
xushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 11:50 AM   #6
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
Quote:
Originally Posted by xushi View Post
I can confirm that too.. my LOD fails to start.
Mine too. Crap.

Executing a null pointer. joy.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 01:26 PM   #7
Tom B.
macrumors 65816
 
Tom B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by lindstrom View Post
Thanks mate, I really appreciate your help. I was not aware that StarCraft did not work earlier, my bad.

Very much looking forward to hear what you discover when you test this out. I won't be home to try this myself for another 8+ hours so it will be very interesting to watch this thread in the meantime.
Ok, sorry, I was wrong in my other post.

Diablo II: Lord of Destruction unexpectedly quits straight away every time, and StarCraft II: Brood War just bounces a few times then does absolutely nothing.

But the good news is that WarCraft III: Reign of Chaos and The Frozen Throne both work completely fine.
__________________
MacBook | 2.2GHz | 4GB RAM | 500GB HDD | Mac OS X | Windows 7 | Ubuntu
SyncMaster 2343BW 2048x1152 | Magic Mouse | Bluetooth Keyboard
iPhone 4 | 32GB | black
Tom B. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 06:53 PM   #8
rbarris
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Irvine CA
Send a message via AIM to rbarris
Quote:
Originally Posted by geWAPpnet View Post
Yes, there is an issue! Diablo 2 LoD will not start anymore on an Intel Mac with 10.5.3. This is true for all MacBooks and some iMac versions. Hopefully Blizzard will give us another patch!
Sorry, we have no way of releasing patches to OS X. That would be Apple's department.
__________________
rbarris "at" gmail.com
rbarris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 08:06 PM   #9
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by geWAPpnet View Post
Yes, there is an issue! Diablo 2 LoD will not start anymore on an Intel Mac with 10.5.3. This is true for all MacBooks and some iMac versions. Hopefully Blizzard will give us another patch!
Works on my iMac. Just ran it up, graphics and all still works.

Starcraft still works too.

Going to check this and starcraft on my wife's SR MB.

Starcraft won't start but LOD works.

Since we don't play these anymore, not bothering to re-install to see if that helps. Just deleting all the files now.
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)

Last edited by kkat69; May 29, 2008 at 09:07 PM.
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:17 PM   #10
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
Sorry, we have no way of releasing patches to OS X. That would be Apple's department.
True but you can patch your program which is crashing.

/Admittedly in code being executed in Rosetta.
//Did you at least file a bug?
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:20 PM   #11
rbarris
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Irvine CA
Send a message via AIM to rbarris
Quote:
Originally Posted by MongoTheGeek View Post
True but you can patch your program which is crashing.

/Admittedly in code being executed in Rosetta.
//Did you at least file a bug?
We did file a Radar on this today.

It is not clear what patch we could provide which would address this - and the app as-is works correctly from OS X 10.3.9 through 10.5.2, so this looks like a regression in OS X plain and simple.
__________________
rbarris "at" gmail.com
rbarris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:25 PM   #12
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
Runs fine here as long as I don't turn on OpenGL mode (which has been true all along on Intel Macs afaik).
Catfish_Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:31 PM   #13
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
We did file a Radar on this today.

It is not clear what patch we could provide which would address this - and the app as-is works correctly from OS X 10.3.9 through 10.5.2, so this looks like a regression in OS X plain and simple.
I didn't mean to seem to snarky. Fighting my own bugs.

I just filed RDAR://5973763 against it as well.

The crash is in Rosetta and it is probably a timing problem with Apple being too clever in optimization of what gets loaded/converted when.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:33 PM   #14
kkat69
macrumors 68020
 
kkat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish_Man View Post
Runs fine here as long as I don't turn on OpenGL mode (which has been true all along on Intel Macs afaik).
Ditto, both MB and iMac run LOD on 10.5.3.
__________________
iMac 27",MB (White),80g iPod Classic,2g iPod Nano,8g iPhone3G,16g iPhone3G,16g iPhone4(x2),1.83ghz Mac Mini(x4),32g iPad White,16g Nexus 7(x2),8g iPod 4th Gen(x2),16g Nexus 4 White (x2)
kkat69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:46 PM   #15
rbarris
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Irvine CA
Send a message via AIM to rbarris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish_Man View Post
Runs fine here as long as I don't turn on OpenGL mode (which has been true all along on Intel Macs afaik).
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
__________________
rbarris "at" gmail.com
rbarris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 11:09 PM   #16
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
Oh nice Glad to hear it. Good luck with the 10.5.3 issues.
Catfish_Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 03:32 AM   #17
lindstrom
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Okay, talk about mixed messages, glad I asked about this =).

Will have to ponder on this upgrade for a little I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
Wow, that is really nice to hear. Great work mate!
lindstrom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 08:11 AM   #18
MongoTheGeek
macrumors 68040
 
MongoTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Its not so much where you are as when you are.
Send a message via MSN to MongoTheGeek Send a message via Yahoo to MongoTheGeek
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
Cool. Glad to see that there is still development on the game even though its so far into the "long tail"

Side question: Will you be among the Blizzard contingent at WWDC?
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be.
MongoTheGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 08:19 AM   #19
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
They (SC & D2: LoD) both work fine for me (MBP C2D w/ ATI x1600)

I don't have brood war.
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 08:51 AM   #20
aidanpendragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
As always, I want to thank rbarris & Blizzard for being on top of these things. I don't have an Intel Mac or 10.5.3 (yet), but I think responsiveness - in a non-company forum, no less - and continuing support for years-old games is the standard every company should aspire to, and I applaud them for it.
aidanpendragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 06:14 PM   #21
xushi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I sent an email to Blizzard's support team today. I just got a reply from them,

Quote:
Hello XXX,

This looks to be a bug with 10.5.3. We are working with Apple to try and resolve it. Keep checking the battle.net forums for any updates, please.


YYY
Mac Technical Support
Blizzard Entertainment
macsupport@blizzard.com

And if anyone wants to keep updated, here's a sticky mod thread on blizzard's support forum

http://www.battle.net/forums/thread....=1&#post535843

Last edited by xushi; May 30, 2008 at 06:23 PM.
xushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2008, 05:55 PM   #22
Sirlin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
We did file a Radar on this today.

It is not clear what patch we could provide which would address this - and the app as-is works correctly from OS X 10.3.9 through 10.5.2, so this looks like a regression in OS X plain and simple.
Hi rbarris. I just bought Diablo2 battle chest (new) today. I have the most recent revision of Macbook Pro. After installing (using the OSX installer from blizzard's website), the game crashes immediately on launch saying it "quit unexpectedly."

Here's the punchline: I am using OSX 10.5.2, not 10.5.3. So maybe this is not a problem with 10.5.3 after all?

--Sirlin
Sirlin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2008, 09:29 PM   #23
Mernak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbarris View Post
In the "good news" dept. we have a fix for the OpenGL issue in final testing internally. I do not have a schedule for its release but the coding to fix it is done.
That is awesome, thanks to the entire blizzard team for still updating 7 year old games.

And Diablo II:LoD (& Starcraft w/o the expansion) is working fine on my 10.5.3 MacBook, at least once I got it installed, but that took awhile. The OSX installer started, but did nothing, no screen or anything, so I had to install it on a different computer and then transfer the files to my MacBooks, but it has worked fine once I did that.
__________________
MB, 2.0Ghz, 2GB Ram, 80GB
iPhone, 8GB
Mernak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 06:56 PM   #24
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
New patch out today. Game still crashes immediately on my MacBook Pro 10.5.3. Great.
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2008, 04:54 AM   #25
Mercury
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Still crashing for me too. I'm on a MacBook Pro running 10.5.3. Since I recently temporarily moved to Hawaii, I bought my 2nd copy of the game this week since I had the urge.

Oh well, I'd still like to thank rbarris and the whole Blizzard and mac team for updating these ancient games. It is a testament to the quality of the support and the creators that the game still has players and a staff that updates it.
Mercury is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: How to play Diablo 2 ( LOD ) on Macbook Air OS X 10.8.5 macbookplayer Mac and PC Games 3 Feb 12, 2014 03:02 AM
A few iOS 6 bugs I'm noticing on a 4s ssahnan iOS 6 67 Nov 19, 2012 08:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC