Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 29, 2008, 11:23 AM   #1
thiagos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC (Manhattan)
Encoding Blu-Ray movie to AppleTV?

Hello, I just purchased an External Blu-Ray Drive and wanted to know how to transfer from Blu-Ray to AppleTV?
I have used Handbrake for DVDs and it works great, does it work with blu-ray players?

If not, what program should I buy?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Proud New Yorker
thiagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 11:39 AM   #2
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
HandBrake does not currently encode Blu-Ray.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 01:17 PM   #3
mark34
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
I still don't understand the desire to do this. What is wrong with your Blu-Ray player?? 90% of the forum traffic is about ripping and encoding and pirating, etc.

I don't have issues with it all, but i dont really get it. How often do people watch the same movie? If you have the Blu-Ray, can't you just put it in the player and play it? I must be missing something. I have a Blu-Ray player that I use to watch Blu-Ray movies and an TV mostly to watch HD rentals and do some personal media viewing (pictures, home movies, music). I have yet to figure out the need to put other movies onto the AppleTV.
mark34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 01:50 PM   #4
pprior
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
My desire to do this is my wife and I sit down to watch movies and we want to browse and quickly watch. I despise FBI warnings and all the fluff that you are forced to sit and watch. We hit play and we're off to the 1st chapter. Browsing available movies and seeing descriptions, etc is nice when we're debating what we want to watch.

I have not bought any BR content entirely because I can't do this on my ATV. I won't go back to an annoying standalone player.
pprior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 02:55 PM   #5
mark34
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Makes sense.. thanks... though for me personally Blu-Ray quality is worth the hassle of putting the disc in the slot
mark34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 03:08 PM   #6
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
At this time you can only rip Blu-Ray or HD in Windows (or perhaps Linux?)

For example, one such app is:
Slysoft AnyDVD hd

Runs on intel Macs.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 03:28 PM   #7
mark34
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
so, I guess people then are buying bunches of movies then slowly watching them over time? Sorry to be thick. I am such a renter, so I don't get this concept. I always buy a few movies when a new format comes out so I have something to demo, but then I stop when I realize that i rarely watch movies more than once (excluding the kids' movies that they watch over and over). I love browsing the AppleTV HD rentals section. I will never buy enough movies that I will have a list of movies I could have ripped and put on the AppleTV that I have not seen to make this benefit worth much.

Hence my confusion. But I guess I must underestimate how many movies people buy versus rent and how often people watch the same movie. That is why when AppleTV started offering HD Rentals, the utility of my AppleTV box skyrocketed. I think I even watch more Apple HD Rentals than I do rent Blu-Ray movies.
mark34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 03:58 PM   #8
MWillis561
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Personally

My family personally watches a lot of movies over again. It's usually not the newer HD movies but generally the older ones like John Wayne's, Chick Flicks and of course all the movies my kid's love to watch. So the whole Blu-Ray/HD thing hasn't appealed enough to me yet. You got to love the whole HD rentals though. What a great idea.
MWillis561 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 04:14 PM   #9
markfc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prestatyn, Wales, UK
Send a message via ICQ to markfc Send a message via AIM to markfc Send a message via MSN to markfc Send a message via Skype™ to markfc
Ummm have a look over at the handbrake forums.

the latest nightly builds do encode blu-ray so long as it's already ripped and decrypted which needs to be done in windows.

:-)
markfc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 04:15 PM   #10
speakerwizard
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
yes you would need to use windows with anydvd hd, which im not sure but will prob rip to mkv but then convert that to an mo4 by passing through the h264 and converting the audio to aac, and make sure the file size is around 4GB and the bit rate is below 5mb/s.
__________________
mac pro octo-core, 10GB, 5.25TB, 8800GT, 30"acd
iphone 3G, Macbook pro C2D
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 05:22 PM   #11
pprior
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
How can you possible put a bluray movie into less than 4gb?? Even my normal DVD rips are about that much.

I own anydvd HD and would put up with running it if I could then use HB to convert for the ATV, but I can't see how it could be possible to get that small. Isn't a BR disk about 30gb??
pprior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 07:04 PM   #12
speakerwizard
macrumors 68000
 
speakerwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
I have dl a few mkv's (usually about 4-8GB) if they are already around the 4GB mark i just pass-through, if they are more i run them through visual hub with the apple tv HD preset, apple tv can only take 720 so that and the audio to aac help shed most of the 'fat' and my tv is 40" so cant really see any difference in 720 or 1080 anyway, plus i would rather stick with 720 for storage reasons, i already have a 750GB full up with vids.

would ya mind telling me what you think of anydvd? what formats does it rip too? just mkv?
__________________
mac pro octo-core, 10GB, 5.25TB, 8800GT, 30"acd
iphone 3G, Macbook pro C2D
speakerwizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:40 PM   #13
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by pprior View Post
How can you possible put a bluray movie into less than 4gb?? Even my normal DVD rips are about that much.
Depending on your encoding settings you could rip it to 1GB if you really wanted to. Believe me, Blue Ray ripped to 720p at 24 fps ( the atv's max ) looks awesome compared to a standard dvd. The better the source ... the better the finished encode. Will it look just like the original blue ray disk? No, not likely, you always lose something in compression.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 12:55 AM   #14
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark34 View Post
Makes sense.. thanks... though for me personally Blu-Ray quality is worth the hassle of putting the disc in the slot
Have you watched anything from Disney on BD?

Turn on BD player. 30 seconds later, insert disc.

Wait for FBI warning to go off. 20 more seconds go by.

Skip through 15 previews and advertisements. If you're lucky, you get past that in about 30 seconds.

Then of course is the 15 seconds of "OOOOHHHH" with the fireworks and the big Disney logo.

Then the movie starts.

This is one of the prime reasons I started ripping DVDs to my computer. If the movie started instantly on a disc, maybe it wouldn't be so bad. But the FBI bassturds have to get their warning in (does anybody who has ever seen a movie NOT know this crap?) and then the studios usually make you sit through a bunch of crap unless you know how to get past it (sometimes it's skip, others menu, some you have to fast-forward through).

I paid on average $20-25 for the Blu-ray Discs, and I didn't pay that much to sit through a bunch of crap. If I had the dough, I'd be ripping them for play on ATV and my iPhone. But alas, I don't have the $600 to buy the external one I saw.

</rant>
__________________
13.3" 2014 MacBook Air; Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver iPhone 5S 32GB; white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV (x2)
Michael CM1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 08:14 AM   #15
mark34
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
HA, that's pretty funny! I agree, all that stuff can be annoying. And to be honest, the kids mostly watch movies in the car. However, when they want to watch their Disney or other movies in the home theater, and I am going to watch with them, I will gladly sit through the "stuff" for the picture and audio quality of a Blu-Ray if available. Pop the disc in, go get your popcorn, watch a preview, make faces at the kids.

I said it was pretty funny because in the midst of threads about copying DVD's and Blu-Rays, which I think isn't legal, there is a complaint about the FBI warning. Just struck me as funny.
mark34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blu-ray to appleTV 3 workflow mazuma Apple TV and Home Theater 26 Aug 14, 2014 12:17 PM
Keeping DTSHD and TrueHD Blu Ray Encoding (Windows) velocityg4 Digital Video 4 Aug 25, 2013 10:25 PM
Handbrake encoding Blu-Ray iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Sep 17, 2012 05:23 PM
Is this a good 3d blu ray burner for AppleTV? x-evil-x Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Sep 3, 2012 03:11 AM
Blu-ray to AppleTV software (Windows) mpossjr Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Aug 20, 2012 07:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC