Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:04 AM   #1
Fabiano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palmas, Brazil
Function keys on Macbook Pro

Hello guys, first I want to say that I just bought my first Mac, a Penryn Macbook Pro 2.4. I never used Leopard before so Im a complete noob in that...
Im reading some tutorials on the Apple site to learn about it, but one thing that I still not figured out is about the function keys on Macbook (f1 - f12). As I can see, they are by default assigned to work with the icons on them, for exemple, f2 changes screen brightness when I press it. For me its quite strange, since I came from a Toshiba with Vista, where I press the Fn key + F7 to get the same effect. So, In some applications, like terminal, when i need to use a function key I dont know how to use... for exemple, I connect via ssh in a remote Suse Linux terminal, an open mcedit. in mcedit, f10 closes the application, but i cant do that, when i press f10 it mutes my sound... So how can I use this, Im very confused! please Help me...
Fabiano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:06 AM   #2
Skeletal-dæmon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
See the little key on the bottom left of the keyboard labeled "Fn"?

Hold it down. Your Function keys will work.
Skeletal-dæmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:13 AM   #3
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Congratulation on your new Mac.

Please use the search:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...light=Function
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:13 AM   #4
siurpeeman
macrumors 603
 
siurpeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the OC
Send a message via AIM to siurpeeman
you can do as the above poster suggested and fress "fn" with the function key. or if you want to invert this (where pressing "fn" + f10 mutes the sound), you can change it in the keyboard system preferences. you need to check the box that enables standard function key use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Keyboard & Mouse.jpg
Views:	372
Size:	161.4 KB
ID:	118136  
__________________
grr...argh...
siurpeeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:15 AM   #5
Fabiano
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palmas, Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletal-dæmon View Post
See the little key on the bottom left of the keyboard labeled "Fn"?

Hold it down. Your Function keys will work.
yes, i tried it out and no success. Instead it makes the current windows glows or someting like that...

edited: just figured out... its was expose settings, I just disabled f10 function on expose preferences. Sorry about my noob questions.
Fabiano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:22 AM   #6
Fabiano
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palmas, Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
Congratulation on your new Mac.

Please use the search:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...light=Function
yes, I've used the search, but it returned so many results and I couldnt find a relevant topic about my question. again, sorry about my noob questions, Its just my second day with Leopard.
Fabiano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2008, 09:24 AM   #7
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabiano View Post
yes, I've used the search, but it returned so many results and I couldnt find a relevant topic about my question. again, sorry about my noob questions, Its just my second day with Leopard.
Don't worry; I just wanted to point out that sometimes when you search use terms that may sound close; I apologize if I sounded a little harsh.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro function keys aszim95 MacBook Pro 5 Apr 18, 2014 05:58 PM
Having certain Function keys be OS X and others not? ConfusedBatman Mac Peripherals 0 Oct 7, 2013 01:19 PM
Function keys not working on Macbook Pro walkere01 MacBook Pro 3 Oct 22, 2012 04:00 PM
MacBook F12 & eject keys no longer function MrPresident MacBook 3 Jul 6, 2012 01:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC