Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 2, 2008, 08:17 PM   #1
wolfsbane813
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Airport won't recognize the router password!

My macbook recognizes that the network for my apartment is there and it brings up the login screen since it is p-word protected (WPA security) network (its from a linksys wireless router). i'm typing the password correctly but its saying its invalid... i have no idea how to go about fixing this! My brothers Vista desktop and XP laptop are able to connect fine. The network and my laptop both recognize each others existence, but i can't get in... any tips or ideas?

EDIT

oh... and i was online and all fine and dandy last night, and all of a sudden, i was disconnected... so i know it works.
wolfsbane813 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2008, 08:26 PM   #2
blue knight
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Try putting a $ infront of the password, no spaces.
blue knight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2008, 05:46 PM   #3
Primusz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I have exactly the same problem, tried the $, didn't help. I called apple care and we tried several things and now they asked me to go to an Apple service point which I will do tomorrow.

This is really annoying. First negative thing I found on my MBP
Primusz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 01:10 AM   #4
mmoosa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primusz View Post
I have exactly the same problem, tried the $, didn't help. I called apple care and we tried several things and now they asked me to go to an Apple service point which I will do tomorrow.

This is really annoying. First negative thing I found on my MBP
did you manage to get it sorted?

i had the same problem, what i did was go into the network preferences and delete the networks in the list, add your network entering the exact name, then go to security tab and enter the key/password. and then try connecting again, it should work...hope this makes sense, if it doesnt pm me and i'l send you a few pics to help.
__________________
>>>>>>
mmoosa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 03:54 AM   #5
XP Defector
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Use 'WEP 40/128-bit hex' instead of 'WEP Password'.
XP Defector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 05:52 AM   #6
pachyderm
macrumors 68030
 
pachyderm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smyrna, TN
what is airport and do i need to have it on?

when i click the icon it shows all sorts of different "networks" one of them has my neighbors last name on it. are they using a wireless connection and getting online via my connection?
does it effect my connection?

should i turn it, airport, off?

and sorry if this belongs somewhere else. i did a search and found an "airport" topic and posted in here thinking it better to do that than start a new post and get shouted down...
__________________
"A book hasn't caused me this much trouble since Where's Waldo went to that barber pole factory!"

Last edited by pachyderm; Jun 10, 2008 at 06:12 AM.
pachyderm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2008, 02:48 AM   #7
Primusz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
airport means WiFi in AppleSpeak
Primusz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2008, 06:00 AM   #8
pachyderm
macrumors 68030
 
pachyderm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smyrna, TN
thought so.

do i need it on?

i have a phone dsl.

i am assuming that other folks are using my connection to get online. does this slow down my machine?
__________________
"A book hasn't caused me this much trouble since Where's Waldo went to that barber pole factory!"
pachyderm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 02:49 AM   #9
katschul83
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Hi, it seems like i'm having the same problem. I moved in a new flat where they have a w-lan router from dynalink (asdl2). My macbook recognises the network but isn't able to login. There is a wpa password required. Does anybody knows, what the problem might be?
katschul83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 07:24 PM   #10
rhitc001
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue knight View Post
Try putting a $ infront of the password, no spaces.
Thanks. I have a pc and a macbook pro laptop. I got the internet working over the router and a Wii game system connected wirelessly. The macbook would see the network through airport but would not accept the password. I put the $ in front of the password (the hex version of the password) and it worked! Thanks, this was driving me nuts.
rhitc001 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 04:53 PM   #11
Macsterwoman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Smile $ in front of WEP password works!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhitc001 View Post
Thanks. I have a pc and a macbook pro laptop. I got the internet working over the router and a Wii game system connected wirelessly. The macbook would see the network through airport but would not accept the password. I put the $ in front of the password (the hex version of the password) and it worked! Thanks, this was driving me nuts.
Just wanted to say thanks to the person who posted to put a "$" in front of the WEP password! Thanks so much, it fixed my network issue!
Macsterwoman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
g4 ibook and router password chucky7440 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 12, 2014 08:48 PM
Apple ID won't recognize iPhone 5s tim1007 iPhone 0 Oct 13, 2013 04:25 PM
2012 MBA won't connect to AirPort Extreme router jlmcclellan MacBook Air 4 Oct 5, 2012 07:12 PM
Airport Extreme won't recognize Hitachi Touro Carpe-PM Mac Peripherals 0 Sep 23, 2012 03:39 PM
Imac won't recognize cameras - please help buckawheat Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Sep 10, 2012 09:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC