Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Old Jun 6, 2008, 10:26 AM   #1
Dr. Peter Venkm
macrumors newbie

Dropped my ibook, can I fix it?

I'm a forum newbie, so forgive me if I don't use all the correct terminology.

Last night I dropped my ibook g4 (os x 10.3) on a concrete floor. To my surprise the screen never even flickered. The only thing that seemed to be wrong was the mouse button was stuck down.

I popped the battery out and pushed the button up from the bottom until it seemed to be back on track.

When I tried to restart my computer after putting the battery back in, it took a long time to load. When it finally finished, it came to the generic blue background with a login screen that I had never seen before.

My only choice at this screen was to select my profile and enter my password. When i entered my password, I received an error message that said

"You cannot continue logging in at this time"

Then the login prompt would shake and go back to square one.

I don't know if this is a common problem or not, but it's new to me and Iím stumped.

Thanks
Dr. Peter Venkm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2008, 11:10 AM   #2
fluidedge
macrumors 65816

i think you might be ok, but you need to put your OS X discs into the machine and do a clean install or something. Follow the instructions.
fluidedge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2008, 04:39 AM   #3
misterredman
macrumors 6502a

To me it seems it's looking for a network disk or similar to boot.

Check your keyboard (you had a problem with the mouse, maybe it's related to that) and try a PRAM reset first.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

If it doesn't work start up from the cd/dvd and repair the disk with disk utility.
misterredman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2009, 02:23 AM   #4
techette
macrumors newbie

Unhappy Ibook Fell From 4 Feet High