Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2008, 02:20 PM   #1
STC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Deleting wifi networks?

Guys, I stayed at a hotel and was using their wifi. I will not be going back here anytime soon. Is there an option to delete the hotels wifi network like I can delete networks in windows?

I done see an option for this in the safari settings.
STC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 02:30 PM   #2
Van Wildonher
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
It still shows up where there is no signal?
Van Wildonher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 02:35 PM   #3
jimishjoban
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Yes.. You can do it.. Go to Settings... Then Wi-Fi... There you will see that network name... touch the small arrow on right hand side... you will get details about the network... on top of that page.. you will have "Forget this network"

However, as far as I know Iphone never try to show used networks not in range...
jimishjoban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 02:54 PM   #4
STC
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimishjoban View Post
Yes.. You can do it.. Go to Settings... Then Wi-Fi... There you will see that network name... touch the small arrow on right hand side... you will get details about the network... on top of that page.. you will have "Forget this network"

However, as far as I know Iphone never try to show used networks not in range...
Sorry maybe I worded wrong, I can't see the hotels network, but in windows I can delete networks I won't be using or don't want anymore under wifi properties. I was curious if there's something like this on the iPhone.
STC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 04:06 PM   #5
Nipz
macrumors 65816
 
Nipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimishjoban View Post
Yes.. You can do it.. Go to Settings... Then Wi-Fi... There you will see that network name... touch the small arrow on right hand side... you will get details about the network... on top of that page.. you will have "Forget this network"

However, as far as I know Iphone never try to show used networks not in range...
This is the way to get rid of the network. If you want it again you have to be in range and then select it again
__________________
15" Uni MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Quad Core i7 | White iPad 2 16GB WiFi + 3G | iPhone 5 | 3 MiFi
Nipz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 06:35 PM   #6
msmith2112
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Wirelessly posted (8Gb iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

I'm pretty sure v2 will have this option.
msmith2112 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 07:07 PM   #7
PoitNarf
macrumors 65816
 
PoitNarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
There's really no reason to delete it, everything will work fine with those extra known networks.
PoitNarf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2010, 03:21 AM   #8
breakfast
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Has this feature become available in the meantime?

Can you delete Wifi settings, like passcode or just everything about a previous network setup when the network itself is no longer available, i.e. does not appear on the list of networks anymore? How?

Many thanks.
breakfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 03:34 AM   #9
MaAjCn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
For an iPhone iOS 5.1 does Settings / General / Reset / Reset Network Settings, achieve the desired result? Although removes all Wifi Profiles.
MaAjCn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 03:40 AM   #10
svenn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaAjCn View Post
For an iPhone iOS 5.1 does Settings / General / Reset / Reset Network Settings, achieve the desired result? Although removes all Wifi Profiles.
I hope he figured it out some time in the last 4 years but yes it does remove all wifi info
svenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Quick access to WiFi Networks jjk454ss Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Feb 2, 2014 10:06 PM
WIFI: Looking for networks val.79 MacBook Pro 0 Oct 29, 2013 03:33 AM
iOS7 WIFI Available networks bug? AntonisCy iOS 7 0 Oct 4, 2013 03:09 AM
Selective WiFi networks Dr FranknFurter iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 15, 2012 05:18 PM
2 wifi networks - one using Time Capsule Rosarius Mac Peripherals 4 Aug 22, 2012 07:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC