Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2008, 02:04 PM   #1
joebhoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Second hand Powerbook G4 can't update?

Hi

I got a powerbook G4 and I'm new to using them but just started getting the hang of it but I have a big problem I can't update anything because I need to put in a password but I haven't got it.

Is there anything I can do?
joebhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 02:07 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Use the system restore CD/DVD to reset the password?
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 02:11 PM   #3
iToaster
macrumors 68000
 
iToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In front of my MacBook Pro
If you don't have the restore disks, use this process.
__________________
MacBook Pro | 2.66 i7 | 8GB | 1TB | Matte HR | iPhone 5S | 64 GB | iPad WiFi | 64 GB
iToaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 02:51 PM   #4
joebhoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iToaster View Post
If you don't have the restore disks, use this process.
Would you mind talking me through this please?

I rebooted then when I put in mount-um/ I hit enter to go on the next line but it came up something like unkown command prompt.

I didn't get any disks with it just a camera and charger. I can't update anything.
joebhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 02:56 PM   #5
merl1n
macrumors 65816
 
merl1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebhoy View Post
Would you mind talking me through this please?

I rebooted then when I put in mount-um/ I hit enter to go on the next line but it came up something like unkown command prompt.

I didn't get any disks with it just a camera and charger. I can't update anything.
The command you typed is wrong. You left out space characters and the wrong character.

It should be:

mount -uw /
__________________
Merl1n
MBP 15" 2.33GHZ, MacMini 2.0GHZ, PBG4 15" 1.67GHZ, PBG4 12" 1.5GHZ, iPodTouch 32GB

Last edited by merl1n; Jun 10, 2008 at 02:58 PM. Reason: wrong command
merl1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 03:10 PM   #6
merl1n
macrumors 65816
 
merl1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebhoy View Post
Hi

I got a powerbook G4 and I'm new to using them but just started getting the hang of it but I have a big problem I can't update anything because I need to put in a password but I haven't got it.

Is there anything I can do?
Something smells fishy here.

Where did you get this Mac and why don't you have the password?

The instructions you refer to are for creating a new administrator account, not just resetting the password.

If you just want to reset the password, these are not the correct instructions.
__________________
Merl1n
MBP 15" 2.33GHZ, MacMini 2.0GHZ, PBG4 15" 1.67GHZ, PBG4 12" 1.5GHZ, iPodTouch 32GB
merl1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 03:40 PM   #7
joebhoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by merl1n View Post
Something smells fishy here.

Where did you get this Mac and why don't you have the password?

The instructions you refer to are for creating a new administrator account, not just resetting the password.

If you just want to reset the password, these are not the correct instructions.
What you on about something smells fishy?

I wanna update my Java so I can play online poker but I can't cause I need the password I can't downlaod any updates.

When I type in mount -uw / how do I move down to the next line to put in the next part cause I can't press enter?
joebhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2008, 08:35 AM   #8
merl1n
macrumors 65816
 
merl1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Quote:
When I type in mount -uw / how do I move down to the next line to put in the next part cause I can't press enter?
Use the "return" key.
__________________
Merl1n
MBP 15" 2.33GHZ, MacMini 2.0GHZ, PBG4 15" 1.67GHZ, PBG4 12" 1.5GHZ, iPodTouch 32GB
merl1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2008, 10:01 AM   #9
joebhoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Got it.

Thanks for the help!!!
joebhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 freezes during update? BaddestArvai PowerPC Macs 4 Apr 7, 2014 02:52 PM
forced update to IOS6 on second hand iPhone 4 geoffbell01 iOS 5 and earlier 2 Sep 25, 2012 12:57 AM
Update/Fix:PowerBook? Zekajo PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 3, 2012 01:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC