Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Old Jun 13, 2008, 02:09 AM   #1
Elphaba
macrumors regular

Questions from AppleTV Newbie

Please excuse my ignorance - I'm an TV newbie

1- Will my appleTV be able to stream movies from my Mac if they are stored in an external hard drive?

2- If I purchase TV episodes/Movies on the AppleTV, will they be stored on my Mac or on the AppleTV hard drive?
Elphaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 02:36 AM   #2
ab2650
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elphaba View Post
Please excuse my ignorance - I'm an TV newbie

1- Will my appleTV be able to stream movies from my Mac if they are stored in an external hard drive?

2- If I purchase TV episodes/Movies on the AppleTV, will they be stored on my Mac or on the AppleTV hard drive?
1. The AppleTV will stream content played from iTunes on any synced computer. In short, if you've defined your iTunes library to run from an external hard drive it will stream to the AppleTV.

2. They will be stored on the AppleTV drive primarily, but when you open iTunes it will sync purchases.

However, you may be interested in hacking your AppleTV to play media files you manually copy to the internal hard drive. With ATVFiles (a commonly installed add-on to hacked AppleTVs) you can even access media files via the USB on the AppleTV, thus bypassing the need to stream from an iTunes library or filling up the internal hard drive.
ab2650 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 03:11 AM   #3
Elphaba
macrumors regular

Great, thanks for your help

ATVFiles sounds interesting.. If I do install this add-on, will I be able to uninstall it in the future if any problems come up?
Old Jun 13, 2008, 05:06 AM   #4
MikieMikie
macrumors 6502a