Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

View Poll Results: What describes you?
No way would I build a hackintosh 346 23.04%
I'd consider it if Apple doesn't provide a new Mini or headless iMac in the next three months 185 12.32%
I'm considering it right now 574 38.22%
I already built one 397 26.43%
Voters: 1502. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 23, 2009, 06:06 AM   #2401
sneezymarble
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Well, hey, congrats on getting it to work. Last week I was spent some time trying to do a SL install without getting involved in the DSDT stuff, but I just kept running into problems so I bit the bullet. Kudos to you for sticking to your guns
__________________
Late 2011 17" MBP - 2.4GHz i7 | 128GB SSD | 1TB HDD | 16GB RAM
sneezymarble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 10:07 AM   #2402
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I cant help it, im a natural problem solver and i'm stubborn as hell. Consequently i end up spending a lot of time working on things like audio because im to stubborn to do it the dsdt way, lol.

I'll learn all about the dsdt eventually, but im going to put up a fair fight
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2009, 12:24 AM   #2403
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
so close

after reading this for weeks, I finally have my parts:

EVGA 512 DDR3 geforce 980GTX+
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814130339

intel quad core yorkfield 2.83 ghz
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16819115041

gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16813128358

mushkin 8 gigs of ram
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820146785

Antec case with 3 120mm fans and rosewill 630w PS

haha, then i forgot to get a drive. going to get that tomorrow.

will the onboard RAID work on a hackintosh?
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2009, 12:48 AM   #2404
GFLPraxis
macrumors 604
 
GFLPraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
I upgraded my Hackintosh to a 1.5 TB HD and got Snow Leopard running, fully functional.

It's
__________________
Impraxical - My New Blog
MacBook CD/2GHz/2GB/160GB/SD
Hackintosh Core 2 Quad/2.4 GHz/4GB/660GB/8800GT
16 GB iPhone
GFLPraxis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2009, 07:49 PM   #2405
xxxshooter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
My Hackintosh

Everything bought from Newegg.com
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
  • Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR
  • G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 PC-10666 (1333mhz)
  • Seagate 1TB 7200rpm HDD
  • evga GTX 280 1GB
  • NZXT Zero 2 Case
  • Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 CPU Cooler
  • 4xThermaltake Red 120mm Fans
  • 2x 80mm Case fans
  • 1x 120mm red led fan
  • OCZ StealthXStream 700w PSU
  • LG 22x DVD Burner

Everything below $1050 USD at time of purchase.

Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize. Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.
Custom Icon:
Thumb resize.
Standardized Benchmark:
Thumb resize.
Proper recognition of video card:
Thumb resize.

Currently have a 750 GB HDD (Mac Storage), 1 TB (Partitioned 100 GB for Win XP and 550GB for shared storage between both OS's), and a 74 GB 10000 RPM drive for Mac (iAtkos v7)
Dual booting Windows XP Pro SP3 and iAtkos v7 at the moment, planning on doing a tri-boot with Fedora 11
Computer is currently sitting below my desk, not on top as in the picture.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5ghz w/8gb of RAM and a 750GB and 250GB HDD, flashed nVidia 7800GS 256mb; 160GB external Drive; Debranded HP w2207

Last edited by SilentPanda; Sep 27, 2009 at 10:45 PM. Reason: timg
xxxshooter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2009, 08:54 PM   #2406
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I have 10.6.1 on that motherboard with a gtx260, if you need help getting SL running send me a pm!
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2009, 09:03 PM   #2407
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Nice.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 04:09 AM   #2408
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
Lenovo s12

It seems as though no one has had a kick at this one yet.
I am trying with the MSIWIND slip stream, but it's jamming at the "DO YOU ALREADY OWN A MAC SCREEN?"
it restarts over and over again at that point.
I cant get into the bios to shut down the network card which is what everything online says to do.

ideas?
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 07:36 AM   #2409
dandaley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chameleon

I haven't kept up on this thread... so am way behind. Just thought I would post my experiences with the subject.

I started out my quest for a hackintosh with the efi-x dongle. I bought the hardware from their HCL list. Once I had everything assembled, the installation was straight forward and worked great. But, then I found out that the version of the device I had most likely wouldn't support SL. So, I decided to rid myself of the dongle.

I used these instructions to convert my machine to a Chameleon based setup.

http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2009/09...art-to-finish/

I was able to upgrade my EFI-X machine to SL 10.6.1.

I have to say, I finally have what I want... an upgradable OSX desktop that didn't set me back $3k+. Now, if some component goes out after the warranty has expired, I can just replace it for a reasonable price. I don't have to toss it in the trash like my PowerMac.
dandaley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 09:44 AM   #2410
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Now that Chameleon supports two different folder for SL and Leo (which is awesome), i've decided to move my bootloader over to a usb drive and always boot from that. Anyone have experience with this? It shouldnt be too hard. I perused the internet and found a few sites giving away promo flash drives that are like 256mb or something, which is great because i dont need a ton of space and i like free stuff.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 10:07 AM   #2411
dandaley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
Now that Chameleon supports two different folder for SL and Leo (which is awesome), i've decided to move my bootloader over to a usb drive and always boot from that. Anyone have experience with this? It shouldnt be too hard. I perused the internet and found a few sites giving away promo flash drives that are like 256mb or something, which is great because i dont need a ton of space and i like free stuff.
I am currently booting from a USB thumb drive. If you look at the lifehacker article, it walks through setting that up. At the end of the article, it discusses moving the boot files to your hard drive, but I skipped that... for now.
dandaley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 04:53 PM   #2412
sneezymarble
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
Now that Chameleon supports two different folder for SL and Leo (which is awesome), i've decided to move my bootloader over to a usb drive and always boot from that. Anyone have experience with this? It shouldnt be too hard. I perused the internet and found a few sites giving away promo flash drives that are like 256mb or something, which is great because i dont need a ton of space and i like free stuff.
I suggest using a disk partition as a Chameleon boot drive as opposed to a USB drive. Obviously it frees up a USB port or two, but the bigger plus for me was that it side-steps potential USB/Sleep problems.

My 500GB HD is partitioned into a 10GB Chameleon partition and a 490GB OS partition. The reason my Chameleon partition is so big is because I also restored a Snow Leopard disc image to the Chameleon partition. So, the Chameleon serves two purposes: (1) I can boot Snow Leopard with it, and (2) I can install Snow Leopard with it. As to (2), if I ever need to perform a re-installation of Snow Leopard, I don't need to use any media (DVD or USB drive); rather, I can just boot into the installation from the Chameleon partition. Additionally, the installation goes quicker than it would from the DVD or a USB drive.
__________________
Late 2011 17" MBP - 2.4GHz i7 | 128GB SSD | 1TB HDD | 16GB RAM
sneezymarble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2009, 09:49 PM   #2413
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I had an efi partition setup with Leo, but every time i format the partition in SL it un-hides it and i dont know how to re-hide it. I used to use a modified version of the script from Munky (a kind fellow on IM) that would format, install chameleon, set up folder structure, and install kexts, but it stopped working with SL, so i tried to format the partition by hand the Terminal but i cant keep it hidden.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2009, 06:56 AM   #2414
sneezymarble
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
I had an efi partition setup with Leo, but every time i format the partition in SL it un-hides it and i dont know how to re-hide it. I used to use a modified version of the script from Munky (a kind fellow on IM) that would format, install chameleon, set up folder structure, and install kexts, but it stopped working with SL, so i tried to format the partition by hand the Terminal but i cant keep it hidden.
I suppose you could always run a script that unmounts the Chameleon partition when the OS starts up.
__________________
Late 2011 17" MBP - 2.4GHz i7 | 128GB SSD | 1TB HDD | 16GB RAM
sneezymarble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 10:55 AM   #2415
edgar.amaro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Hackintosh!!!

so what is the spects to actually build a hackintosh?

i have a desktop that i bough about a month ago.. it has an intel dual core chip 4 gigs of ram... sufficient for snow leopard, but what kind of motherboards are compatible with snow leaopard? just about any as long asit has an intel chip?
edgar.amaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 12:37 PM   #2416
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
A large amount of motherboards are supported, but if something like you audio or ethernet doesnt work you are SOL unless you know how to write a driver. What model mobo are you using?
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 01:08 PM   #2417
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Has anyone been able to get Snow Leopard installed on their netbooks? I tried to install it on my Mini 9 but it KP'd . Currently running 10.5.6, for some reason, the 10.5.8 update brakes the wifi.
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 03:09 PM   #2418
mypup
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullx86 View Post
Has anyone been able to get Snow Leopard installed on their netbooks? I tried to install it on my Mini 9 but it KP'd . Currently running 10.5.6, for some reason, the 10.5.8 update brakes the wifi.
I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.1 on my mini 9 works great except mic and headphone jack. Everything else is great I assume the devs will have these other two items fixed before long. They have come along way in just a month since the release. You can find alot of information (below Link) http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/

I had been happy running Leopard 10.5.5 (to 10.5.7) (10.5.8 seemed to have issues for me) until safari 4 came along I has really happy running Leopard. To tell you the truth I did not like Safari 4 much kept crashing alot. However, in Snow Leopard it works much better not one crash. I still am not a fan of topsites but thats another story.

Last edited by mypup; Oct 1, 2009 at 03:24 PM. Reason: further explanation
mypup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 04:17 PM   #2419
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mypup View Post
I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.1 on my mini 9 works great except mic and headphone jack. Everything else is great I assume the devs will have these other two items fixed before long. They have come along way in just a month since the release. You can find alot of information (below Link) http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/

I had been happy running Leopard 10.5.5 (to 10.5.7) (10.5.8 seemed to have issues for me) until safari 4 came along I has really happy running Leopard. To tell you the truth I did not like Safari 4 much kept crashing alot. However, in Snow Leopard it works much better not one crash. I still am not a fan of topsites but thats another story.
I'm registered there and i havent found much on the mini 9 and 10.6... 10.5.6 works out of the box, 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 seem to break my wifi, but I'm replacing the standard 802.11g card with an Apple Airport Extreme card later, so that shouldnt be a problem... Can you link me to anything that you used?
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 06:23 PM   #2420
mypup
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I am not sure the guide i used think it was
here> http://osx.mechdrew.com/guides/nbi1.shtml
I made a usb install stick used the "netbookmaker" tool found at the above link that put chameleon and kexts on the usb stick after using disk utility and restoring my Snow Leopard install disk to the usb stick (makes it easy for me not having to use a dvd external dvd drive they can be harder to boot from) Today they have a new version of netbookInstaller 8.3 rc2 which will also allow for dual booting (in my case xp pro that I had a ghost usb stick to restore with) To keep up with netbookinstaller and the netbookmaker go to the google code page here->http://code.google.com/p/netbook-installer/ Hope that helps some things are still new and being worked out so you will have to search around some for information till someone writes up the latest installation guides.
__________________
Dell Mini 9 Snow Leopard  Mac Pro 2008 2 X 2.8 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon processors 16GB 800 MHz DDR2 Ram ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB GDDR3  MacBook Pro 13" 2009 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
mypup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2009, 06:43 PM   #2421
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mypup View Post
I am not sure the guide i used think it was
here> http://osx.mechdrew.com/guides/nbi1.shtml
I made a usb install stick used the "netbookmaker" tool found at the above link that put chameleon and kexts on the usb stick after using disk utility and restoring my Snow Leopard install disk to the usb stick (makes it easy for me not having to use a dvd external dvd drive they can be harder to boot from) Today they have a new version of netbookInstaller 8.3 rc2 which will also allow for dual booting (in my case xp pro that I had a ghost usb stick to restore with) To keep up with netbookinstaller and the netbookmaker go to the google code page here->http://code.google.com/p/netbook-installer/ Hope that helps some things are still new and being worked out so you will have to search around some for information till someone writes up the latest installation guides.
Thanks, ill give it a try... Does your mini hang on boot every once in a while?
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 10:32 AM   #2422
merelli
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullx86 View Post
Thanks, ill give it a try... Does your mini hang on boot every once in a while?
mine does

Here is the official how to
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina
merelli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 04:13 PM   #2423
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by merelli View Post
mine does

Here is the official how to
Ok, so I followed the guide there to the letter and installed Snow Leopard, but when I start up, Chameleon gives me an error of "cant find mach_kernel10.5.6". I tried booting via "mach_kernel" and any other combination I could think of, but nothing works. So I have a successful Snow Leopard install, but nothing will get it to start up. Any thoughts.
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 04:45 PM   #2424
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
SL on a netbook?

Maybe because a lot of my software craps the bed when I tried SL (FC & a few others) I went to 10.5.8 using iDeneb and it has been great. What do you do on a netbook that needs 64 bit processing? I have a Lenovo S12 and it's single core, so there will be no benifit to going 64 bit... well, any that's worth the hassle. Not trying to be a douche, just curious.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2009, 02:20 PM   #2425
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
3.2ghz quad core, 8gigs ram, 512 vid card

So as shown before, here is what I used:
EVGA 512 DDR3 geforce 980GTX+
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814130339

intel quad core yorkfield 2.83 ghz
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16819115041

gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16813128358

mushkin 8 gigs of ram
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820146785

Antec case with 3 120mm fans and rosewill 630w PS

1TB calavier 7200 rpm hard drive

PROCESS:
USE iDENEB v1.6 lite!!!
It worked for both my netbook (lenovo s12) and my tower!
Loaded it onto a USB stick using the restore function off of a MAC. Applied chameleon.
Had to change to ACHI mode for my hard drives in the bios as well as temporarily turn off my FW and LAN onboard.
It came up really easy.

enabler_for_nvidia_and_multiple_ATI_cards.pkg
this made it so that my video card was recognized with quartz extreme and open CL.

Everything works. LAN, onboard sound (digital sound is toast)

A little bit of overclocking worked my up to 3.2ghz. Max temp under full load is 61 degree celcius with a stock fan.

Overall, it's sexy fast.
xbench score of 320 w/o my hard drive.
cost me $1200 canadian.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SafariScreenSnapz002.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	197507  
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression

Last edited by matteusclement; Oct 4, 2009 at 02:28 PM. Reason: scores
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple.com Preorder Status Thread (merged) Geckotek iPhone 8716 Sep 9, 2014 10:12 PM
iPad: iPad Pro thread (merged) Will0827 iPad 73 Jan 10, 2014 08:13 AM
iPad Mini: iPad Mini Retina Apple.com order thread [MERGED] Jazwire iPad 997 Dec 9, 2013 06:18 AM
New Mac Pro thread (merged) Supermacguy Mac Pro 595 Jun 19, 2013 12:47 PM
General: 6.1 battery thread (merged) Knockoutjosie iOS 6 228 Mar 4, 2013 03:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC