Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

View Poll Results: What describes you?
No way would I build a hackintosh 346 23.04%
I'd consider it if Apple doesn't provide a new Mini or headless iMac in the next three months 185 12.32%
I'm considering it right now 574 38.22%
I already built one 397 26.43%
Voters: 1502. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:16 AM   #2451
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhamish View Post
I'm about to order all the components for my first hackintosh build and I wanted to list them here first to get any comments, advise, reactions, etc. before I commit:

Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

I'd appreciate any comments/suggestions/corrections since they would probably save me a lot time in trial and error.
Wow...a 950W power supply? I know it'll power all your stuff with ease, but it's like running a microwave oven for hours on end...the power company will thank you.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 01:00 PM   #2452
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhamish View Post
I'm about to order all the components for my first hackintosh build and I wanted to list them here first to get any comments, advise, reactions, etc. before I commit:

Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W
Seems like overkill my main machine has a Q6600, 8gb of ram, 8800gt, 5x hard drive and my Kill-A-Watt meter says it uses ~300w at full load on all cores re/encoding to h.264 video. Plus I would go with a solid name brand like Corsair, Enermax, Seasonic, Thermaltake, OCZ ... something in the 650w to maybe 750w with Active PFC and high amps on a single 12v rail, it should be more than you will ever need.

Quote:
ZALMAN VF700-CU 2 Ball VGA COOLER
I have one of them on my 7900GS in my spare machine works well but are you sure it will work on a 4870? It is not listed here on this page I found during a quick search.

http://www.zalman.co.kr/product/cool...elist_eng.html

Quote:
TRENDnet TEG-PCITXR Ethernet Adapter
The nic on the motherboard should work fine.

Quote:
Samsung SH-S222L/BEBS Internal Half Height Supermulti PATA 22X Lightscribe DVD-Writable Drive
Nothing but trouble with PATA drives as you need to use the POS jmicron driver in OS X to access it which causes kernel panics with over ~3.3gb of ram in the machine, SATA is the way I like Pioneer drives FWIW.
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 03:35 PM   #2453
akhamish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
nice setup! i would be so happy to have that.
just a few small issues
1. are you planning to OC? if yes, of course get the cooler, if not then there is no need for it really.
2. are you a heavy gamer? the GPU is a tiny bit outdated now and a 5**0 series by ATi would be better/last that bit longer. personally i am a nvidia man, havent had any problems with my 8500 card.
3. will the WD green be your primary startup drive? its just a tiny bit slow but wont really be noticed unless your like a crazy video processing guy or something haha.
I'm planning to OC sometime in the future, probably once I get the whole thing up a running. I do game, but I'm more into RTS games rather than graphics intensive FPS so I was looking for a decent card that would be pretty cheap to Crossfire in the future but would give me pretty good performance on what I have right now. I'll be using the SSD to boot the OS from, not the WD green

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhall1 View Post
Wow...a 950W power supply? I know it'll power all your stuff with ease, but it's like running a microwave oven for hours on end...the power company will thank you.
hmmm i included that power supply on recommendations from a friend to go for a minimum of 850W, but I wanted room for changes in the future in case I want to add more to the build. I guess I need to do a little more research into power supplies

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser2525 View Post

I have one of them on my 7900GS in my spare machine works well but are you sure it will work on a 4870? It is not listed here on this page I found during a quick search.
http://www.zalman.co.kr/product/cool...elist_eng.html
Thanks, I thought I had found it was compatible but I'm obviously mistaken.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser2525 View Post

The nic on the motherboard should work fine.
I included this because I read that this particular mobo has had problems with its onboard Ethernet when used in a Hackintosh
http://lifehacker.com/5351485/how-to...tart-to-finish
Quote:
Nothing but trouble with PATA drives as you need to use the POS jmicron driver in OS X to access it which causes kernel panics with over ~3.3gb of ram in the machine, SATA is the way I like Pioneer drives FWIW.
thanks, I'll sub that out
akhamish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 04:49 PM   #2454
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhamish View Post
hmmm i included that power supply on recommendations from a friend to go for a minimum of 850W, but I wanted room for changes in the future in case I want to add more to the build. I guess I need to do a little more research into power supplies.
I just went to the Extreme PS calculator it gives me 464w recommendation for a 50% capacitor aging, 90% load, 85% TDP with your processor, high end desktop motherboard, 2 x DDR3, 1 7200rpm hd, 1 flash ssd, SATA DVD/RW and 4x 120mm LED fans. You may want to give it a few tries yourself with different configurations depending on what you think you may upgrade too in the future. And remember a quality efficient power supply is the key to stable long lasting build it is the most important part you will buy.

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

Quote:
Thanks, I thought I had found it was compatible but I'm obviously mistaken.
Your welcome.

Quote:
I included this because I read that this particular mobo has had problems with its onboard Ethernet when used in a Hackintosh
http://lifehacker.com/5351485/how-to...tart-to-finish
My board the EP45-DS3R has the same dual 8111C nic's both work fine out of the box if wanting Time Machine then you need a patched IONetworkingFamily or DSDT.aml to tell the system the they are built-in and for Bonjour you need either the R1000 driver from Pystar or Donald Becker's modified ifconfig to put the card into promiscuous mode. When I used to use the Apple 8169 driver not bothering with the TM and Bonjour I transferred TB's of data on my home Gigabit network (70-80mb/s) without problems now that I have switched it around to use them many more TB's have been transferred again without problem.

Quote:
thanks, I'll sub that out
SATA is the way to go so good now as I remember it from a year and a half ago the Intel SATA ports will not let me boot from it with the OS X install disk I needed to put it on the Jmicron connector to do the install as the board I had at that time had them on it. Just something for you to look for if you need to use them depending on how you plan to get OS X on the machine.
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:34 PM   #2455
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhamish View Post
I'm planning to OC sometime in the future, probably once I get the whole thing up a running. I do game, but I'm more into RTS games rather than graphics intensive FPS so I was looking for a decent card that would be pretty cheap to Crossfire in the future but would give me pretty good performance on what I have right now.
makes sense then, the GPU seems like a nice, solid, cost effective choice.

Quote:
I'll be using the SSD to boot the OS from, not the WD green
excellent

as a side note, the PSU is a tad on the high side, you would be using probably 500W max with that setup. but as you said, plenty of room for expansion, also a nice increase in the energy bill haha!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 07:11 PM   #2456
Mac7
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullx86 View Post
AFAIK, no there isnt. What are you using OSX86Tools for anyway?! I mean seriously, PCWiz is a moron for releasing that. You were trying to get a Leopard Disk image on usb right? You need the disk util in Utilities, not PC Wiz' crappy attempt of an app.
really? I only used it cause every single tutorial that i found said to use it. Can you show or direct me to a tutorial on how to do it?

Can I use this method? Or is this only for the dell mini 9

Last edited by Mac7; Oct 19, 2009 at 07:26 PM.
Mac7 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 12:52 AM   #2457
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac7 View Post
really? I only used it cause every single tutorial that i found said to use it. Can you show or direct me to a tutorial on how to do it?

Can I use this method? Or is this only for the dell mini 9
That will work fully, not just on a Mini 9. The part you want is the "On Mac" where it talks about using Disk Utility. PM me and I will give you a (literally) full rundown and offer IM support Gotta help out when you can
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 05:36 PM   #2458
Lava Lamp Freak
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Well, in light of today's news I've decided to use my new i5 build as a Hackintosh. I just hope that my Asus P7P55 will work.
Lava Lamp Freak is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 09:07 PM   #2459
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Let me know what the shopping list is like for your i5 build if you dont mind. Im going to hate myself for building a core2quad a month or so ago if our price lists are relatively close.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 11:18 PM   #2460
Mac7
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullx86 View Post
That will work fully, not just on a Mini 9. The part you want is the "On Mac" where it talks about using Disk Utility. PM me and I will give you a (literally) full rundown and offer IM support Gotta help out when you can
Ok, thanks. PM sent
Mac7 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 11:32 PM   #2461
louden
macrumors 65816
 
louden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Anyone planning on building a Clarkdale Hackintosh come January? I'm thinking Core i5 650 will be a sweet spot...
__________________

Dell Pentium 2 with 500 MB HD Windows 95
Compaq iPaq w/ 64MB of Ram
louden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2009, 02:45 AM   #2462
akhamish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I was wondering if there is a big difference in difficulty between building an i7 hackintosh versus an C2Q in terms of stability and ease of OSX installation?
akhamish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2009, 03:11 AM   #2463
nullx86
macrumors 6502a
 
nullx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by akhamish View Post
I was wondering if there is a big difference in difficulty between building an i7 hackintosh versus an C2Q in terms of stability and ease of OSX installation?
i7/i5 hasnt been out all that long, but either one would be easy to maintain, so long as you're doing retail. Do a distribution and you will eventually have problems, be it C2D/C2Q or i7/i5. As long as you have fully compatible hardware, get an i7 for the better speeds, etc.
__________________
12" iBook G4 1.07Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, 10.5.8
"He was probably just playing out some crazy anime fantasy. When life gives you lemons...horribly maim and murder someone" - Unspoken Demise
nullx86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2009, 02:48 PM   #2464
Lava Lamp Freak
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSmokingBandit View Post
Let me know what the shopping list is like for your i5 build if you dont mind. Im going to hate myself for building a core2quad a month or so ago if our price lists are relatively close.
DVD-RW $34
4GB G.SKILL DDR3 $86
Coolermaster RC-690 Case $70
Sapphire Radeon 4890 $190
WD 1TB HD $99
Intel i5 750 $200
Corsair 650w PSU $100
Asus P7P55 motherboard $156

Total build cost: $935

I think after tax and shipping it was around $1k.
Lava Lamp Freak is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2009, 03:46 PM   #2465
Bossone
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Is there any off the shelf system (gaming)you can buy that you can turn into a Hackintosh? I've been a PC guy sfor ever but the Mac seem fairly high given the fact their graphics are still behind the industry.

I know I could go to Quo or Psystar, but would rather do my own install yet not build another computer.

Thanks
Bossone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:36 PM   #2466
brendu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
hey wondering if anyone knows what the best motherboard and procesor are to build a home theater hackintosh.. nothing unnecessary, just what id need to run hulu, netflix, movies and browse the web from my couch.. id guess core2duo... doubt id need quad for thiss but would there actualy be a visible difference from quad/i5/i7?
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 01:49 PM   #2467
Donar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by bman0408 View Post
hey wondering if anyone knows what the best motherboard and procesor are to build a home theater hackintosh.. nothing unnecessary, just what id need to run hulu, netflix, movies and browse the web from my couch.. id guess core2duo... doubt id need quad for thiss but would there actualy be a visible difference from quad/i5/i7?
Cave Man has built one. A Core 2 Duo should fit a HTPC better, less cooling required and most apps won't use more cores anyway. Better go for max clock speed.
__________________
MacPro4,1 - 3.33 GHz HEX / Radeon HD 7950 3GB / 24GB RAM / Sonnet Tempo SSD / USB 3.0
Donar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 10:35 PM   #2468
NoSmokingBandit
macrumors 68000
 
NoSmokingBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lava Lamp Freak View Post
DVD-RW $34
4GB G.SKILL DDR3 $86
Coolermaster RC-690 Case $70
Sapphire Radeon 4890 $190
WD 1TB HD $99
Intel i5 750 $200
Corsair 650w PSU $100
Asus P7P55 motherboard $156

Total build cost: $935

I think after tax and shipping it was around $1k.
Cool beans. I just built a core2quad (Q8400) with 4gb ddr3, and a gtx260 for about $700, then it went down to about $625 after i got rebates and sold some of the extra stuff they sent for free.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossone View Post
Is there any off the shelf system (gaming)you can buy that you can turn into a Hackintosh? I've been a PC guy sfor ever but the Mac seem fairly high given the fact their graphics are still behind the industry.

I know I could go to Quo or Psystar, but would rather do my own install yet not build another computer.

Thanks
Its really hard to find on that works off the shelf. You may find some info at InsanelyMac, but most people just build there own because the main goal is to save $$.
NoSmokingBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 08:54 AM   #2469
thunderclap
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
I installed a new videocard in my system to take advantage of nVidia's PhysX technology. The original card I had was the nVidia 9800 GT and it worked fine in both Windows and OS X. The new card I installed is the nVidia GTX 260. Now in Windows the computer boots fine, but in OS X the system crashes on boot if both cards are installed. OS X boots fine though if only one card is installed.

Does anyone have a recommendation on how to boot OS X with both the nVidia GTX 260 and the 9800 GT installed?
thunderclap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:19 AM   #2470
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Can someone enlighten me about power supplies? I have an Antec 500 case with a power supply that connects to my p5k mobo. I would like to move up to an i7 system and would like to know if that ps/connecters will work with the Asus p6t SE mobo. If so, then all I'd need to buy is the mobo, cup and ram.

TIA.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:35 AM   #2471
brendu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
deleted
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:37 AM   #2472
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Can someone enlighten me about power supplies? I have an Antec 500 case with a power supply that connects to my p5k mobo. I would like to move up to an i7 system and would like to know if that ps/connecters will work with the Asus p6t SE mobo. If so, then all I'd need to buy is the mobo, cup and ram.

TIA.
Googling on "Antec 500 case with a power supply" leads to the Sonata III with Earth Watts 500 for the power supply and the Newegg page for that only shows a 24pin plus 4 pin 12v whereas a quick search on the motherboard comes up with the second link which shows you need 8pin 12v connector so you need new power supply as well. I have the EA650 in my spare machine which has the 8 pin connector you may want to consider this if wanting to stick to Antec it works well.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371007

http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/...ds/1887_3.html
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:38 AM   #2473
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
OK, that's what I thought. I will get a new case and PS for the new build. Gotta get rid of my q6600 system first.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:53 AM   #2474
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
OK, that's what I thought. I will get a new case and PS for the new build. Gotta get rid of my q6600 system first.
Kinda sucks but I usually go for new PS on a new build anyways especially if the old has been in use for any amount of time they do degrade over time and there is no sense in taking a chance on it failing.
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 12:22 PM   #2475
madwolf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
you don't need a psu with 8-pin cpu power connector, 4 pins will be fine. All motherboards I've seen can be powered by 4-pin connector, even when they have 8-pin connector, no problems there, it fits and works.
madwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple.com Preorder Status Thread (merged) Geckotek iPhone 8716 Sep 9, 2014 10:12 PM
iPad: iPad Pro thread (merged) Will0827 iPad 73 Jan 10, 2014 08:13 AM
iPad Mini: iPad Mini Retina Apple.com order thread [MERGED] Jazwire iPad 997 Dec 9, 2013 06:18 AM
New Mac Pro thread (merged) Supermacguy Mac Pro 595 Jun 19, 2013 12:47 PM
General: 6.1 battery thread (merged) Knockoutjosie iOS 6 228 Mar 4, 2013 03:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC